We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, close to the train” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Parkhotel

Save Saved
You added Continental Parkhotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Continental Parkhotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 hotels in Lugano
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location, close to the train”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Lugano is a beautiful city on the lake. If you want a hotel that is convenient to the train station, this is the place for you. The hotel is located on the hill above the station, it is all of a 5 minute walk. The train can be noisy if you sleep with your windows open, but not a problem otherwise. The views from the rooms are of the town and the lake. You can sit on the terrace outside of your room and enjoy the lake and the snow capped mountains.
It is a steep walk up and down the hill to the center of town and the lake, but it is only a 10 - 15 minute walk and there is funicular if you're not up for it which is really fun and only about a franc to ride.
We stayed here 3 different times over the course of 2 weeks and each time we stayed, our room was upgraded. We were in 3 totally different rooms, but all were clean, roomy and comfortable. the bathrooms appeared to be recently upgraded and were very nice. We found it interesting that each room was so different in layout and set up, but we appreciated the staff's thoughfulness in upgrading us and we liked each room we stayed in. The room on the 4th floor was the best - it was considered one of their premier rooms and was definitely a couple of notches above the other rooms we stayed in.
The breakfast was average as compared to the others we had on this trip, but it had everything you needed, eggs, yogurt, fruit, cheese, sausages, pastries, cereal. The hotel has a restaurant and bar, neither of which we tried. It was not swimming weather when we were there, but the pool out back was beautiful and inviting.
Would definitely recommend the Continental Park Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor overlooking the lake. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    122
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
49
164
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel has been by far the best overall experience in a long time. The fact that is family run I am sure has its influence, and we definitely appreciated the level of service as well as the free room upgrade upon arrival.
The staff are very friendly and most speak 3 or 4 languages.
The recently renovated rooms are clean, modern and extremely comfortable. The option of TV channels and excellent wifi service made a rainy afternoon pass away almost unnoticed.
The moderately priced restaurant (compared to all other restaurants in town!) turned out to be our refuge in the evenings, and had us coming back for more because of the excellent food served.
The location is great just on top of the hill and near the town centre but with easy acccess to the roads leading out of Lugano.
In fact, our stay was so good that we are planning to go back again. Next time we hope to go during the warmer months and enjoy the pool and gardens too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a great experience at this hotel while visiting family staying in Lugano. The hotel was charming with beautiful views of the Alps and a very helpful, friendly staff. Our room was clean and ready for us upon arrival. The location was also wonderful for walking down to the shops, the lake and was conveniently located near the train station for easy access. We would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

If anyone is planning to visit Lugano, Continental Parkhotel is an excellent location. The hotel has character and the room we stayed was very well situated with a stunning view of the lake. Very friendly and polite staff. We were lucky to be upgraded. I will stay again if I go back to Lugano.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel has a great location. Parking right in the front of the hotel and at the back too. Thanks to the reception for an upgrade to superior room, lake view was stunning. Despite the fact that the train station is very close noise was not an issue thanks to new (and efficient) windows. Room was clean. Mattress needs replacement. Breakfast was a disappointment. No fruit and no vegetables whatsoever. Both times we came there were just eggs' left overs. The reception staff was very kind to lend us a socket connector (the Italian sockets are narrow). The weather and the view made up for those small things.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Really like the hotel. Had an upgrade to superior room, lake view was stunning, spacious and clean, comfy bed! Breakfast is good. Friendly staff.
Noise from the train could be an issue if you're not a deep sleeper. But we were fine.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is perched on the slope of the hill above the city center, so there must be a lovely view from the top floor rooms. However, the proximity of the railway tracks and the station slightly undermines the location and the atmosphere. We preferred to stay in the room #49, overlooking the garden which is really wonderful and gives you an impression of staying at a villa, rather than in a city hotel.
There is a small parking at the main entrance and a bigger parking lot further on. Next to the stairs of the main entrance there is extra entrance with flat floor and direct access to the elevator, which is very convenient for travelers with heavy luggage. The reception area is spacious, bright and charming in old-fashioned style. Although the hotel has seen more than 100 years of history, the premises are in perfect condition. Obviously, the owners carried out extensive renovation quite recently. At least our room was spotlessly clean and completely refurbished. The only negative aspect was that it got quite chilly by the evening.
The staff at the reception was amazingly helpful and friendly. They were kind enough to lend us a portable heater and a kettle. Beside that they provided us information on the local sights.
Both nights we dined at the restaurant and were quite satisfied with service and food. It was not exceptional, but better and safer than in a random venue downtown.
The total bill amounted to 658 CHF (248 CHF per room per night plus food).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Address: Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Parkhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.