We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected following previous reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Parkhotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Continental Parkhotel to your Saves list
Continental Parkhotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Grantham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not what I expected following previous reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and after reading other revies, was were rather disappointed.
Check in was friendly, I
I was given a room in the front annexe building, which, if I stayed here again, I would not accept.
Small basic, no frills rooms with a bath/shower room that was very small, the bath would not be suitable for anyone that did not have good movement, as it was difficult to get in and out of. The curtains are too thin, but the windows had external shutters that needed closing to eliminate the spotlights on the front of the hotel. This was achieved by hanging out of the windows to reach the catches.,
My room had a fault with the heating the first night, and as a result it was very cold, so much so that it was uncomfortable taking a shower in the morning. The rooms had typical marble floor tiles and did not help the situation.
This was reported, and fiixed, but no offer of a discount for the first night was offered.

The bed was reasonably comfortable but only had 1 thin pillow each side.
The bath towels are quite small and thin and need replacing, just a couple small hand towels.
The hotel offers free wifi.

Breakfast was very nice with the usual cold cuts, bread and pastries.

Parking was free.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main hotel building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    141
    28
    12
    8
See reviews for
54
182
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gahanna, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We absolutely loved the service at this hotel. The food and wait staff were absolutely the best we had on our 2 week trip. The staff was helpful and friendly to Americans. Everything was clean and comfortable. A great value,and super convenient to town.

Room Tip: I would stay in the main hotel next time..I am sure it has a better view and nicer rooms. the block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

One of the nicest hotels we have ever visited in Switzerland. Not too expensive. Dinner is delicious. Beautiful garden, nice swimming pool. Rooms are nice & clean. Not far away from the city centre, can be done by foot. The only disadvantage is the parking lot - during summer it is very difficult to park your car there, as there is not always enough space.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

It's probably the best value for money hotel I stayed in Switzerland. It doesn't imply, however, that it is the best one. The prices are quite reasonable on the local scale. The staff is very friendly (not the most efficient in the country, but they do try hard). Breakfast is good for Italian part - in German-speaking one it would be deemed poor. Location is good, parking is included. Rooms are clean. Staff is mostly multilingual.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Excellent hotel to stay, very close to train station, staff were very helpful and pleasant, waiter staff in dining room very friendly and courteous. Room we stayed in was lovely, nice size bathroom, had room overlooking Lake Lugano which was very spectacular.

Room Tip: room overlooking lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Nice hotel with old charm located close to train station and trolley station to down town. Very clean rooms, although quite small. Sumptuous breakfast and free parking are part of the room rate and therefore a good deal by Swiss standards. We got a room with a fantastic view of the lake and the mountains, although the immediate view is that of the train station and some modern buildings. Overall an excellent choice in Lugano.

Room Tip: Room with a view in the main building of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Continental Park Hotel in Sept. Our room on the fourth floor was spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was very large with a great shower. We had a view of the garden and pool. The room was very clean and the the cleaning service was exceptional. This older building has been beautify restored. You feel like you are in an old mansion. The breakfast selection was outstanding in a well lighted room. We did stay for dinner one evening and the special was grilled tuna. I was a little bit skeptical about ordering this dish since we live near the sea and are used to fresh fish. I questioned the wait staff and they consulted with the chef regarding the freshness of the fish. They assured me it was fresh, so my wife and I both ordered the tuna. When our meal came it was a very large portion and it was wonderfully prepared. It was one of the the best tuna dishes I have had the pleasure of eating. We went to the bar for an after dinner drink and met Giovanni (Not sure I remember the name correctly) However, he was very personable and we really enjoyed not only the drink, but the company. The hotel is near the railroad and you can hear the freight trains at night. If you are coming from the rail station or walking into town I would recommend walking though the parking lot nest to the hotel and cutting through the rail station. This way you don;t have to negotiate the railroad track and the traffic. Overall, you can't go wrong at this hotel. It is not cheap, but the quality is well worth the expense.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Address: Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Parkhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.