We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet oasis overlooking Lugano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Parkhotel

Save Saved
You added Continental Parkhotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Continental Parkhotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quiet oasis overlooking Lugano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel was recommended by others, but i was a bit concerned about its closeness to the train station. Not a problem - it's has a lovely park-like setting, with shady quiet areas and a large sunny pool (with bar/menu service). My single room was quite small (not unusual for Europe), but had a mini-fridge and a comfortable reading chair, and it overlooked the gardens so it was really quiet.

The staff was particularly friendly and helpful. Very nice experience altogether, especially since it was a snap to walk to the train station and take the funicular down to the lakeside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    119
    24
    12
    7
See reviews for
46
159
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very nice hotel in Lugano! Very service minded and friendly staff. Very nice pool and garden! It`s close to the railwaystation and the city center. You can walk from the railwaystation with luggage. Nice breakfast. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Hotel Staff Friendly and collaborator,Varied breakfast and delicious,View from hotel and the hotel is clean and WiFi is avalible in the room and free and the parking is avalible.
,,,,,hard to walk to the downtown.

Room Tip: take higer floor with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

They have there very helpful staff that can help you in anything you want, location is very near from traim station which contains the funiclaire that takes you to the city center,
You can reach the city center on your feet but in your way back it is difficult as u have to go up through the streets which are amazing to walk in

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Location:

While an almost next to train station location generally sounds unappealing, this very attribute is a BIG plus for this hotel. One comes out of the trains, looks at the end of the station and one see's the hotel sign. There is NO intrusion of the trains noise in the hotel, the convenience of getting to the hotel is fabulous and once inside the tree covered hotel complex, its super!

Its an easy & very pleasant amble down to the lake area - a nice church and lake viewpoint comes along the way. A bit of a climb back (really not much) there is the funicular from the city center right back to the train station for CHF 1.1 (just about $1)

Service/Lobby: Friendly, friendly, friendly. Btw those who do not want to climb the 5-6 stairs up to the lobby with their luggage can take the direct entry to the hotel (left of the stairs) and take the elevator up one floor.

Rooms: We had a superb room #28 which has 2 balconies - one side with a great lake view and the other side with the equally super view of the gardens and the pool. Ask for rooms with a direct pool view for having a feeling of totally being away from a city; ask for the higher floor right corner rooms for a lake view or #28 and the direct rooms above (#38 etc) for a composite view. The deluxe rooms are very spacious, air-conditioned and with very nice bathrooms. Lots and lots of power sockets all around.

Pool/Gardens: Just an amazingly nice setup. Little steps through the back garden take you to the higher level pool. Its a big pool with lots of chairs around and small bar as well. Its a single depth level pool that makes swimming cool. Or just amble through the gardens and go behind the hotel complex and its nice to see the other mansions there.

Breakfast: Ample and tasty - its worth it!

For 200 CHF, this hotel was a bargain. We loved it, the kids loved it and if we go to Lugano again, this is where we will be staying!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, Usa
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This light and airy hotel, with a wonderful ,gracious staff, and air conditioned rooms over looking either the lake or the gardens,pool,and vineyard can not be beat. First, the views from the front or back of the main building are lovely,next the rooms,while small, are spotless and
and comfortable. At first I thought because we were on the front of the hotel,we would be bothered by the trains which do run at the bottom of the hill in front of the hotel, but the greenery, the the angle of the tracks, and the ability to close the windows and have the a/c made it possible to
enjoy our stay. It was not a problem. Since we had a balcony we could sit and enjoy the view of the lake and the town below. The staff could not have been more helpful.I needed to do some ironing and since the main building did not have an ironing room, I was directed to the more informal hotel and student hostel
on the property.I also needed some sewing thread,which was quickly produced with a smile. The large dinning room on the front of the hotel serves the best breakfast we had during our entire stay in Switzerland, and for the Swiss National holiday glasses of Prosecco were offered at breakfast! The staff in the dinning room were friendly and professional. The hotel has been in the same family for over 100 years, and it is obvious how much love and care has gone into making this a very special place to stay. Oh, an excellent Merlot, from the hotel vineyard ,is
served at the bar or in the dinning room.....all pretty civilized I`d say!

Room Tip: Front or back of the main building will be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Chose this hotel because of its location, very close to the rail station. We weren't disappointed. Walk out of the front exit of the station (you'll know you have when you see Lugano in the vallley in font of you). Turn right and walk along the footpath parallel to the car park. At the end of the car park there's a barrier controlled level crossing. The hotel is clearly visible from here.
Even though it's so close to the railway line, the noise from the trains wasn't excessive. If one of your party is a light sleeper, you could always ask for a room at the back of the hotel, overlooking the gardens.

The hotel itself was very comfortable. My wife and I opted for a superior double. The room was huge with beautiful views across the lake and mountains. We were treated to a massive electrical storm on the evening of our stay - wow!
We ate in the hotel and the food was varied and, what we ate, delicious. The buffet breakfast was varied and tasty, with a choice of hot and cold food.

The hotel is very convenient for the city. Simply walk back to the rail station and take the funicular to the city. It takes about 2 minutes and costs CHF 1.10. It's easily walkable down but as for walking back . . . !

We'll certainly stay here again if we ever return to this lovely city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Address: Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Parkhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.