We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steeped in History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Parkhotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Continental Parkhotel to your Saves list
Continental Parkhotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Steeped in History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel was booked as part of a travel agents itinerary so you never know quite what you are going to get.

We were more than pleased with our next stop. The picture given on our itinerary does not do it justice. This had fabulously large rooms and we overlooked Lake Lugano and the mountains. Great pool area as it is very hot! They had happy hour from 5-6pm with everything up for grabs. Most hotels only give beer and wine and if one doesn't drink these then you loose out. However the barman was great fun - he made wonderful cocktails for us.

The breakfast was something just out of this world. We had never seen such a variety of choices. Eggs, bacon, toast, muffins, croissants, cream cakes, cereal, yogurt, ham, cheese, donuts, apple fritters and more!!!

The only thing I wouldn't rate well was the restaurant food we had. It as very expensive for what amounted to a piece of chicken and some potatoes. I had spaghetti which had nothing more than a sliver of peppers and a spoon of olive oil. Very dry and tasteless. We went elsewhere the 2nd night.

The staff were great and even posted our mail for us so we didn't have to find a postbox. Great stay with incredible views in a hotel with many historic features.

Room Tip: Try get one overlooking the lake if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    142
    28
    12
    8
See reviews for
54
182
27
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed in the main building for 2 nights and we loved it. Firstly, the location is great! although we drove and parked the car in the hotel, it would be v convenient for those of you who are arriving via train as this hotel is 5 mins walk from the station. The train didn't produce that much noise and we were not once disturbed or woken up by it so don't worry. Also, it's only 15 mins walk from the town centre, where you can find all the shopping district, restaurants and the lake esplanade which is very convenient. The room is big with high ceiling, full blast A/c that kept us cool. Breakfast was abit average i must say, esp the coffee and soggy croissant but it didn't bother me too much. A special note is the staff... receptionist called Martina was super helpful and friendly, gave us a great room with balcony and helped suggest sightseeing attractions and the yearly music festival to us!!! We felt so welcomed! When our car had trouble with the cooling system the day we plan to leave, we had to ask them to help us call Europcar and get things sorted. Making a dozen phone calls really test ones patience and she was exceptionally professional. The fact that we are guests who already checked out that morning didn't stop her helping us! we were very grateful that she helped us talk in italian to negotiate with Europcar people. This hotel is great, the service certainly deserves 5 if not 6 stars!!! :))

Room Tip: main building is better, Higher floors with balcony! not the block near the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our tour group spent one night here.
I was unlucky enough to be in the annex.
Ity is old, just next to the train tracks, noisy.
The rooms are very small.
Only saving grace is it has A/C
The main building is very nice, historical like decor.
The rooms are updated.
There were two types of buffet breakfast.
The tour group went to the left, and the regular customers to the better buffet on the right.
Buffet breakfast for us was ok, enough.
My room in the old annex faced the main entrance, and it had double windows , so not so noisy.
But, don't get the room facing the train tracks!!!!
JUST STAY AWAY FROM THE ANNEX, AND ONLY GET A ROOM IN THE MAIN HOTEL AND YOU SHOULD BE FINE.
They have a nice bar area.

Room Tip: Only get a room in the main building. Stay away from the annex, Please!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suisse
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We were here to relax and enjoy the alps and lake. We had everything!!!!
Modern room, quite, well located, great service, breakfast, pool side nice. The view is so nice and every morning we had the direct sun that woke us up. Just as we wanted! well just super!!!! I only can recommand this really wonderfull place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riyadh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

nice 4* hotel with good location,but be sure to have the room at main building ,average breakfast ...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARKERVILLE
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We chose this hotel for location. It is a short walk to the train station, a few hire car agencies and elevated with views over Lake Lugano. Our room was spacious with balcony. Very clean and comfortable. Accommodation in this city is not cheap so we considered it good value. Reception were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have views to the lake and although the train line runs past the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Address: Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
#4 Family Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Parkhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.