We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Parkhotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Continental Parkhotel to your Saves list
Continental Parkhotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
PARKERVILLE
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We chose this hotel for location. It is a short walk to the train station, a few hire car agencies and elevated with views over Lake Lugano. Our room was spacious with balcony. Very clean and comfortable. Accommodation in this city is not cheap so we considered it good value. Reception were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have views to the lake and although the train line runs past the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    149
    29
    12
    8
See reviews for
55
188
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The hotel is very conveniently located close to the train station of Lugano. From our room we had a nice view to the lake. Breakfast was good and people at the reception very friendly and helpful. Slightly negative was the interior of the room we stayed in, very colorful bed sheets / carpets and courtains with very different patterns mixed..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

After checking in, I went up to my room and was disappointed to see it was a single bed in a small single room (something I'm not used to as an American). I went to the front desk to inquire if anything larger was available. The ladies at the front desk were extremely helpful and mentioned that a larger room with a queen bed was available just off the lobby (the only drawback, but beggars can't be choosers....). They upgraded me at no charge for all three nights I was there. Thank you so much! Additionally, they were very helpful with other inquiries I had and went above and beyond what was needed. The front desk staff always had a smile on their face and greeted me.

The walk into town took 5-10 minutes and was reasonably close, however, the walk back to the hotel is a little tougher because it is completely uphill and semi-steep at times. I didn't find the noise from the nearby train station to be a negative at all - barely heard the trains when they were passing by and my room faced the front of the hotel.

I will definitely stay here again if I ever visit Lugano in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Don't be put off by the close proximity to the station! If you arrive by train, exit the station via the ramp from Platform 4, turn back on yourself and keeping walking to the end of the platform and through the station car-park. Excellent double-glazing and the trees form a good sound barrier. Lugano is not Naples, or Milan, or King's Cross - it is clean, safe, and very beautiful.

Easy access to the centre via the Funiclare (inside the station). Fabulous grounds, comfortable beds, good food (except the overwhelming blue cheese dressing on the spinach, prawn and avocado salad, and a very carb-heavy, but plentiful and varied breakfast), very smiley staff - nothing too much trouble (although I didn't ask a lot!), excellent pool area with sun loungers.

Borrowed UK/Swiss adaptor for electrical appliances from reception, free Wi-Fi, computer and printer in reception where you can print out your boarding-pass. Laundry service efficient and fast.

Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and overlook the gardens, the pool and vineyard. Did not use the fitne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

this is a very nice hotel, however i did find the proximity to the railway line to be a real shame. lugano is such a nice place that it seemed a waste to be within earshot of the trains. my room was CHF 225, so not cheap at all and no tea/coffee making facilities in the room was a real disappointment at that price. room was nice, with large bath and shower, large tv too. wi-fi free was also very handy. breakfast area and bar all very nice, and staff very friendly and helpful.
Room on third floor, but a couple of buildings block the lake view slightly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I used to live in Lugano and have stayed in many of its hotels. Just a few weeks ago was in town for one night so booked something cheap and quick near the train station to shuttle out to Malpensa first thing in the morning.

Disaster struck someone in the Gotthard tunnel and instead of arriving in the early evening, we were delayed hours on the North side of the Alps, arriving at the hotel at nearly 1 am. They stayed open to greet us (we'd called from traffic jam) and were kind about it.

I've always thought Lugano's hotels were terrible - overpriced and in desperate need of updating. So I didn't have high expectations. For the location, though, wi-fi, b'fast and the fairly well updated room, this was a surprisingly good price. I'd definitely stay here again.

Be sure to request a room away from the train tracks. We were right on the tracks and it was loud. Fortunately, trains stop running for several hours in the middle of the night.

My travel companion loved breakfast. It was extensive.

Room Tip: Request away from train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Address: Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Parkhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.