We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend for young people without a large budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Calipso Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Calipso Hotel to your Saves list
Calipso Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Scuole 3 | Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Neuchatel, Switzerland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Recommend for young people without a large budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The hotel is just several blocks away from the lakeside. The price is quite low comparing to the neighbor hotels and the room is, however, surprisingly clean and tidy. The stuff is very friendly and helpful as well.

The drawbacks are that there is not internet connection and the wifi in the lobby is not so easy to be connected at least for me and my friend from the ipads. I have no idea if this problem is rare or common. The furniture is old and somehow a bit shabby, but it is not a serious problem.

After all, if order properly ahead, the hotel benefits you with a good location to the lake side at a quite good price. Personally suggest to those young people without a large budget but searching for a cosy place near the lake side.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    24
    15
    12
See reviews for
5
28
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

A tired hotel that had its days in the 70's. No air conditioning. At the reception, they did not accept credit cards when it was time to pay for my drink. The bathroom had some broken details and was out of fashion just like the rest of the decor in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

There are several "Via delle scuole 3" in the Lugano area ! Be sure to enter City = "Paradiso" when programming your GPS !

Simple but clean room. Comfortable beds. Quiet location. Ideal for an overnight stop or base for hickes in the area. Room did have airconditioning, but just an old 17" video tube TV. Breakfast was OK, but only sliced, white bread and canned fruit ... forget the coffee. The hotel is well located, right next to the San Salvatore funicular and 5 min. walk to the lake front. Staff was very friendly. It also has outdoor pool and gym facilities. Overall, ideal if you're on a low budget.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was in the city for three days to attend a seminar and I booked this accommodation because of its location close to the station. It is a great hotel in every respect and I cannot find any fault in any department. Whatever I needed for my stay was there. Cool rooms, friendly staff, amazing food, huge bed, comfy pillows and great bathroom. I will definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you are looking for a good budget hotel in Lugano, the Calipso might suit you. Friendly, helpful staff - nice clean rooms and a good buffet-style breakfast for 10 CHF. The hotel's decor is straight out of the 60s/70s, but is strangely comforting and makes a nice change from that of the homogenized budget hotels you find in every other city these days. We stayed 5 days and can't fault them on anything. We even had an upgrade with a balcony too - bonus!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here with my family for four days in February 2013. We had a great weekend there and were very much delighted to be a guest of this property. Right from the staff at the reception to the guys at the restaurant and the transport desk, the attention to the guests needs was perfect. They valued their customers. All of them were very friendly and co-operative. Rooms were good and had a TV and balcony. Buffet breakfast was good and had cereal, cheese fruit salad, cold cuts and a variety of types of bread and toast. I loved it. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We only stayed one night as we were driving through to Germany and this was the cheapest option we could find in Lugano, we were very pleased. Great clean rooms and lovely bathroom with shower and bath. Tv in your room and a little balcony oustide. Wifi seemed as though it was only usable in the lobby area but they have lots of tables and chairs so that wasn't a problem. There are 2 pools! One indoor and one out, they were a fantastic bonus. Parking wasn't free but they do offer a safe carpark for a fee of around 16 francs. We had a great stay here and would definitely choose this hotel again! Great location also

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calipso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calipso Hotel

Address: Via delle Scuole 3 | Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Calipso Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Calipso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calipso Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calipso Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.