We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay - happy again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calipso Hotel

Save Saved
You added Calipso Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Calipso Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Scuole 3 | Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Wickenburg, Arizona
Top Contributor
485 reviews 485 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
427 helpful votes 427 helpful votes
“2nd stay - happy again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

It had been exactly a year since our last stay. We'd run the 30K Stralugano road run in 2011 and had stayed at this hotel. we had been happy and satisfied with what we got for the money, and so we decided to stay at this place again when we came back for the 2012 edition of the Stralugano. This time we were going to stay for two nights. The experience was more or less the same we had last time. The staff were all helpful, friendly, polite and accommodating. There's not a single thing I could say against any of the staff members I met at front desk, the bar or the dining area, all impeccable behavior.
The room, 516, to the backside this time, also with a balcony, was small again - guess they all are. However, it had been totally renovated recently. All was new: the large closet, the bed, the wall paint ... well, maybe not the really small TV set, but it worked perfectly well and provided many channels. The bathroom, too, was totally new. Everything was spotless clean and worked. There was also a small table (with the TV on it) and two chairs, but not much space in between the furniture - but we came here to be out and about, not to hike our hotel room.
The breakfast/dining room is large. It's very bright but not very cheerful, a bit canteen-like. The buffet was okay, different types of bread, toast, cake; different types of flakes/cereal, cold cuts, cheese, on Sunday also eggs. For CHF 120 per night (for two - with breakfast) in Switzerland and at such a tourist location, this was really good value - for Switzerland.
At night it was very quiet. Even though the lake shore road is only two blocks away, we heard no traffic. And this time it was also very quiet inside the hotel during the night (last time a bunch of vociferous Italians had had themselves a door slamming derby in the middle of the night).
If we go back to Lugano, we'll stay there again.
There's also an indoor swimming pool on the premises, but we didn't use it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the two small sides, the front and the back, have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    21
    14
    11
See reviews for
5
27
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We booked this hotel for a one night stay in Lugano and it was a nice experience. The hotel is close to the station, in a safe locality and very affordable. The rooms are neat and quite spacious. I would definitely stay here again if i visit Lugano.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I liked the hotel a lot. It has a good location: 2-3 min to Lugano lake, 1 min to funiculare San Salvatore, 5 min to station. The personnel is charming.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute for a 3-day weekend in Lugano, after realizing that Lugano hotels can be quite pricey for mediocre accomodations.

Its clear that the hotel could use some renovations, but for a basic stay, it was everything we needed, it was clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Check-in:
A bit hectic, as we arrived at the same time as a herd of rude Swedish tourists. Although the staff may not have been as quick and efficient as possible, they surprised us with their multi-lingual skills and ability to keep calm under the pressure.

Room:
See my pictures. Pretty standard, maybe a bit dated, but charming. We're not too picky, and weren't expecting anything luxurious. Two twin beds pushed together into a full, a couple chairs, a TV we didn't turn on, a closet with hangers. Heater, but no A/C.

Bathroom:
Big and clean, bathtub with shower, seemingly new shower-curtain. Some complimentary shower gel and a bar of soap, so bring your own toiletries if you're picky. Clean towels.

Breakfast:
A pretty standard assortment of bread, jam, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, orange juice, milk, sliced cheese, cold cuts (salami, jambon cru), yogurt, granola, corn flakes. Nothing fancy, but more than sufficient to start your day.

Pools:
Decent looking but unfortunately not heated. After realizing both pools were cold, we decided to proceed to the sauna, which was unfortunately only about 40 degrees C (we may have missed the peak hours).

Parking:
Additional 15 CHF per day, and they give you a key for the gate (which is another 10 CHF deposit).

To Lugano:
About a 20 minute walk along the tree lined lakeshore promenade towards the old town. Super easy, flat, and a lovely view of the lake and town.

Room Tip: There's only one elevator, and it went out of service after our first night. If you're incl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I was passing through Switzerland coming from Ancona, Italy by car and as it was late and I was already driving for many hours I was looking for a hotel in the Lugano area with secure parking to sleep and park my car.
Hotel Calipso is perfect in this aspect, as it is in a good location and easy to find and has both an open and a closed secure parking.
The rooms are badly decorated and have not been renovated in years, the cleanliness average and my room had a small old TV and overlooked the open car park.
I had no problems with hot water in the shower and the area is pretty quite so I had a peaceful sleep.
The price I paid included the room, secure closed parking and breakfast and I have to admit that what I paid was very reasonable for Switzerland.
Also, the breakfast was ok but not amazing.
Overall I highly recommend this hotel for people who are travelling by car through Switzerland and are only looking for a hotel for one night stay + secure parking, but not for those looking for a beautiful hotel for many nights of enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, Arizona
Top Contributor
485 reviews 485 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
427 helpful votes 427 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Well, okay, I’d only read the reviews after we’d booked the hotel room online – and I was also a bit worried like reviewers before me, there was so much negativity. My husband and I were going to stay just one night, Saturday to Sunday, as we were going to do the 30K Stralugano Run on the Sunday. My husband’s attitude with a shrug was, well, we just need a bed for the night … right …
This place was very, very reasonably priced compared to other city hotels in Lugano. I was happy as soon as we got to the place. Its location is also absolutely ideal. It’s right next to the Mount Salvatore cog wheel train; only a block from the lake shore, and less than a mile from the old town center where all the action is, so you can walk from there, but should you feel disinclined to do so, the bus stop is right round the corner, a minute’s walk, from the hotel entrance. There are also restaurants and snack bars within five minutes on foot, as are two supermarkets.
Our room was pretty small indeed, but in an average hotel in Europe you should never expect the sort of space you get even at a motel back home in the US anyway. The furniture was old – but so what – and the walls had recently been painted. The bathroom also looked fairly new. You can tell it’s an older building, but everything in the room was immaculately clean – and yes, check in was swift and efficient by a lady who spoke three or four languages as heard. We also had a small balcony with a table and two chairs from which you could see the lake, between buildings, as well as the hills all around.
Once we went to bed after 10, the streets outside were quiet – apart form the occasional voice or car, but hey, when you’re staying in a city … what was highly unpleasant, but hardly the hotel’s mistake, was a gang of late-night revelers – Italian speaking – coming back at the dead of night – ready to wake the dead, as it were, as they seemed engaged in the Door Slamming Olympics – with all the hot favorites on our floor – and simultaneously in the “Who Can Shout and Laugh the Loudest in the Hallways” World Championship.
Breakfast, starting at 7, was a nice buffet with cereal, fruit salad, cold cuts and cheese beside the different types of bread and toast, a choice of different sorts of tea – my husband did pronounce the coffee bad though.
When we left we were allowed to leave our bags in a room downstairs till after the race, and we were also able to rent – for CHF 1!!! – a safe deposit box for our valuables. All the staff we had encountered during our stay had been friendly, helpful and polite. We would definitely stay there again, maybe not for a one or two week vacation, but definitely for, say, up to three nights.

Room Tip: we had room 601 - out on the front and with a balcony, seems only the front side have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011 via mobile

most terrible hotel I have been in my life...
I will not suggest this to anyone..

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Calipso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calipso Hotel

Address: Via delle Scuole 3 | Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Calipso Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Calipso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calipso Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calipso Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.