We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Sparse Lodging in Lugano” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Indipendenza 9, Lugano 6901, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Clean and Sparse Lodging in Lugano”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

We recently spent a weekend at the Hotel Pestalozzi. Though listed as a three-star hotel in various on-line forums, the sign on the door says it is only a two-star establishment. The sign looked as though it was recently updated, so it's possible this is a newer development

The pros:
- The room was fairly affordable, but Swiss standards
- The room was clean
- The breakfast was a nice amenity, though nothing fancy (cereal, coffee, cheese, and some cold cuts)
- The location is great. We had a view of the lake right from our room and we bordered Parco Civico. We were also a short walk from the city center.

The cons:
- The hotel may have been recently renovated, but I debate the definition of recent. The common areas were pleasant enough, but the room needed a coat of paint as there were numerous areas that had chipped or peeling paint.
- The walls in our room had a huge crack that ran from a corner about a foot down
- The furniture was dorm like and very basic linens (though they did provide ample blankets)
- The windows are thin and you can hear everything if you have a room that borders a main street
- The whole idea of leaving your keys when you leave the hotel just seems weird to me

Overall, the hotel served a purpose - a last minute, affordable room in a town in a country known for being expensive. Would I stay again? Possibly, but only if I couldn't find another room that was near enough (i.e. within 75 CHF) the same price.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    80
    36
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
57
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

This hotel is fine - but ask for a room that does not face the street!! Noise from the street and a nearby disco kept us up until after midnight. That said, our room was very clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful, but not very friendly in comparison to others on our trip throughout Switzerland. Breakfast OK, nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

I travelled here for a conference with another colleague and we decided to stay here as it was cheap, close to the convention centre and seemed better than other options.

Although it is the budget option, I would recommend this place as it is a no frills option. The rooms are small and basic but are clean and serviceable. We had a good balcony view towards the lake and the weather was lovely. They do provide a basic continental breakfast and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Our trip coincided with the annual jazz festival (estivaljazz) which was loads of fun.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

Great location in the centre of the town, good brekky, parking available by the Casino, just metres away. Quiet room, nothing fancy but had everything we needed. A little dear for what it offered (the Swiss way...). Recommended though.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

There is nothing wrong with the Hotel Pestalozzi--it is clean, relatively reasonably priced, and very well situated in the extremely attractive-bordering on opulent town of Lugano. But that's kind of where the disconnect is. My room ($120 per night for a double--reasonable, but certainly not cheap) was quite sparely furnished and equipped--two little packets of shower gel which weren't replaced for my second day, Thin bedding. An unremarkable if not meager breakfast... It's just all a bit austere--and I'm not sure austere is what Lugano-bound travelers are looking for. Add an alcohol-free restaurant and the picture fills in. I'm not saying to avoid the place--it's clean and professionally run--just be clear on what you are getting...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowell, ma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

We had a smallish room with a great balcony with view of lake. The bathroom was quite large and the hotel was spotlessly clean. We had an extremely confortable queen size bed.There is an excellent, modestly priced restaurant operated by the hotel. The restaurant has been alcohol free for decades and they do not permit diners to bring their own wine. The hotel staff is wonderful; they really know the town and the area and they made exellent suggestions for dining. We were there in November so that traffic at night outside our room was light. Lugano is an excellent central location for touring the western Italian lakes and the Pestalozzi is an excellent place to stay.

  • Liked — location and price and attentiveness of staff
  • Disliked — difficulty of parking
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

This is a pretty typical, Swiss hotel. The rooms are small, efficient, and exceptionally clean. I've stayed there three nights now in three different rooms. The worst was a room with only a sink. The shared bathrooms and showers were clean and I didn't have any problem with lines to use them, but I had a slight problem with the noise from the rooms on the floor above. I could hear their TV/radio until late at night. And without a TV of my own, I had nothing to drown out the noise on my own.

I will stay there again, but will be sure to reserve one of the rooms with a in-room bathroom. Not for the convenience, but for the seemingly better noise isolation.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — some noise in the rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano

Address: Piazza Indipendenza 9, Lugano 6901, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestalozzi Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.