We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano to your Saves list
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Indipendenza 9 | 6901 Lugano, Lugano 6901, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Great central location, very easy to find, and parking was convenient. Desk staff was very helpful, breakfast quite good. We stayed one night on the way to Italy but would love to go back to Lugano and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, December 8, 2014
Google Translation
Buongiorno SGB63,
wow, danke für Ihren netten Worten! Schön zu lesen, da alles perfekt war und dass Ihnen das Hotel Pestalozzi so toll gefallen hat. Bis bald und schöne Vorweihnachtszeit!
Manuela Fadani, Direttrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    89
    39
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
63
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

The title tells everything.

Bus #2 brings you directly from Lugano station to the door of the hotel within 10 mins.

5 mins walk from lakeside, also 5 mins from main attractions in city center.

Friendly staff, good breakfast, good wifi. Good value as Lugano is a part of Suisse.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, December 8, 2014
Google Translation
Lieber SeanM
Danke für Ihre Bewertung! Genau wie Sie es beschrieben haben: Sie gelangen praktisch zu Fuss in wenigen Minuten zum See, zu den verschiedenen Ausflugsmöglichkeiten oder zu den öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel. Haben Sie Lust, Weihnachten in Lugano zu verbringen? Wenn ja, empfehlen wir Ihnen unser Pestalozzi-Weihnacht-Spezial-Angebot. Wir freuen uns, bald wieder von Ihnen zu hören.
Manuela Fadani, Direttrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Overall, it was clean, did the job as place to sleep and the staff were ok. However, there was a problem with the shutters banging like hell on earth stopping me sleep for 2 nights. On the first night I rang the desk and was told there was nothing that could be done. On the next day, I managed to sort it out myself, but I was not happy at all and very tired. I would think about staying there again though as it is so so convenient for the conference centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front to give the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, December 8, 2014
Dear NightWorld,
Thank you very much for your feedback. I apology for what happened during your stay: As I remember we had a few very windy nights in October and I’m sorry that our night porter couldn’t resolve immediately the problem with the banging shutters. Our location in the center of Lugano is great if you want to visit our beautiful city on the lake for tourism or business. On the other hand, as you can imagine Lugano is a dynamic location and it could be that there are some noises.
We would be very happy to welcome you again and wish you a good time.
Kind regards,
Manuela Fadani, Direttrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, VT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

The hotel is well located; a 5 minute walk to the lake front. Cenral to restaurants and shopping. Our room was small but definitly adequate. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. If you are travelling by rail, there is very easy access to the hotel from the rail station. Take the Funi-Bus from the station to its terminus in the city below. It is a 3 min. walk from there to the hotel. The bus departs every 10 min.. The ride is less than 5 min.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear steve G,

thank you so much for this wonderful review. I will pass on your praise to my staff. They will be happy to know, that they where able to feel you welcome with us and our traditional Hotel in the centre of lugano. We would love to welcome you again. I’m sure, there is a lot more to see and explore in the city, the lake and the surroundings…even from the waterside or on top of one oft he mountains here!

Let us know, if you need any assistance for your next trip.


HOTEL PESTALOZZI LUGANO
Manuela Fadani-Eidenberger, direttrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Staff at the restaurant and front desk are very friendly. Hotel is located near the lake. Wifi speed is surprisingly good. Room was not big but was renovated and looked better than in some of the tripadvisor photos.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Buongiorno DongYan,

thank your for your explanations and for a very important hint. We
just changed the pictures here on tripadvisor, cause as you already implied, we renvoated our room categorie COMFORT ROOM. Warm colours and all the comfort you may need during a City Trip. Even if it's for a business stay or a holiday. Our Hotel is located quiet central in Lugano. Shopping, Events, lake walks, hiking tours….we are the perfect spot to start in your special and individuel stay in Ticino.

We would love to welcome you back. PLease do not hesitate to contact my team or me to create you an offer for your next visit.


HOTEL PESTALOZZI LUGANO
Manuela Fadani-Eidenberger, direttrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We visited a conference in Lugano - right across the street in the conference center. So locationwise excellent.

Room was nice, elevator fast.

Breakfast is decent. Staff at the restaurant very friendly. (No alcohol served at lunchtime.)

In general staff very helpful and friendly.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Laurens S,

thank you for your kind review and this nice title! I’m glad to read, that we were able to offer you a pleasant business stay with us. We would love to welcome you back with us, during your next business trip or just for for a nice, cosy and relaxing stay with us in Lugano.


HOTEL PESTALOZZI LUGANO
Manuela Fadani-Eidenberger, direttrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We are a family of 3 and spent 2 nights in an air-conditioned, ensuite room with a balcony and view to the lake. The hotel is perfectly located, very close to the touristic places, congress centre, Parco Civico, etc.. and yet we had a very quiet stay. We were lucky enough to park in one of the few slots the hotel has right at the entrance. The staff was really warm and welcoming, and always helpful. The room was basically equipped, sufficient for our stay. WiFi worked OK. The highest point was, in our opinion, the possibility of taking our dinner (very well-priced compared to Lugano standards!) to our balcony and enjoying it during the sunset while looking at the lake views. We fully recommend this hotel for its location, staff and moderate price.

Room Tip: If traveling in summer, it's worth to upgrade to a room with air conditioned and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Jesus S,

thank you for you kind and detailed review. It was a pleasure to read, that you and your kids enjoyed your stay so much. We are happy, when we were able to fulfill your expectations and wishes. In particular it is nice to read, that we could create a special moment on the balcony for you.

Why not coming back in winter time? Natale in Piazza at Lugano is always worth visiting. We are waiting for you!

Manuela Fadani, Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano

Address: Piazza Indipendenza 9 | 6901 Lugano, Lugano 6901, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your vacation at the Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano and forget about everyday life! In the centre - close to the Lake of Lugano - a world full of architecture, hospitality and holiday fun awaits you! Attractive rates - newly renovated rooms Enjoy the Lake and the city of Lugano first hand. The Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano is situated directly in the city centre and is open for you all year round. Over the past years the hotel was completely renovated with love for detail and architectural highlights. Choose your ideal accommodation among the categories Flair or Economy- for your vacation in Ticino or for a business trip to Lugano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestalozzi Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.