We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Indipendenza 9, Lugano 6901, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Oslo
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited a conference in Lugano - right across the street in the conference center. So locationwise excellent.

Room was nice, elevator fast.

Breakfast is decent. Staff at the restaurant very friendly. (No alcohol served at lunchtime.)

In general staff very helpful and friendly.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    80
    36
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
57
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are a family of 3 and spent 2 nights in an air-conditioned, ensuite room with a balcony and view to the lake. The hotel is perfectly located, very close to the touristic places, congress centre, Parco Civico, etc.. and yet we had a very quiet stay. We were lucky enough to park in one of the few slots the hotel has right at the entrance. The staff was really warm and welcoming, and always helpful. The room was basically equipped, sufficient for our stay. WiFi worked OK. The highest point was, in our opinion, the possibility of taking our dinner (very well-priced compared to Lugano standards!) to our balcony and enjoying it during the sunset while looking at the lake views. We fully recommend this hotel for its location, staff and moderate price.

Room Tip: If traveling in summer, it's worth to upgrade to a room with air conditioned and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Jesus S,

thank you for you kind and detailed review. It was a pleasure to read, that you and your kids enjoyed your stay so much. We are happy, when we were able to fulfill your expectations and wishes. In particular it is nice to read, that we could create a special moment on the balcony for you.

Why not coming back in winter time? Natale in Piazza at Lugano is always worth visiting. We are waiting for you!

Manuela Fadani, Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed here 6 nights and felt very welcome.The location is awesome: just a few minutes from the lake and the city center. Service was great and it is very convenient that there is a restaurant at the hotel with very good value for the money. Even room service is available on request.

The hotel offers at least one wheelchair accessible room with a roll-in shower and grab handles at the toilet. For large wheelchair users or those with big bellies the room in front of the toilet and in the elevator might be a little limited, though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear fiedlerm,

your are always welcome! Thanks for this wonderful review. You can't imagine, how lovely it is to read, when we were able to satisfy our guests, like we obviously did with you! My staff and I would like to thank you for your description and your nice words. And also thank you for your hints. We are looking forward to welcome you here for your next holiday again! Please let us know if there is anything we could do or improve to feel you at the Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano at home!

Manuela Fadani, Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Hotel was clean, staff proficient. Location is great, otherwise adequate book if price is more important than atmosphere. Breakfast was good, with extras for purchase. Front desk provides hair dryer and converters for no charge.

Room Tip: Some rooms have their own bathrooms, others share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Anna D,

Thank you for your kind review and descriptions. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our services and offers. We do everything possible to satisfy our guests to give them an unforgettable stay in this wonderful surroundings. Please let us know, if we could do anything to make your stay more enjoyable.

We are looking forward to welcome you again. Please do not hesitate to contact us. During the year we are offering different specials.

Manuela Fadani
Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay in the hotel because of the wonderful opportunity to leave my food in the fridge, have awesome breakfast (quite rich too) and amazing staff that were so helpful in everything I have asked for (extra hanger for my clothes, ironing table, adapter etc.). Definitely recommend you to stay there. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Anna D,

Thank you for your kind review and descriptions. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our services and offers. We do everything possible to satisfy our guests to give them an unforgettable stay in this wonderful surroundings. Please let us know, if we could do anything to make your stay more enjoyable. We are looking forward to welcome you again. Please do not hesitate to contact us. During the year we are offering different specials.

Manuela Fadani, Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We spent two nights here recently, and can recommend it wholeheartedly. We had two adjoining rooms for us and our children, and everybody was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, and the staff was always very accommodating. Plus the location is amazing, right in the middle of Lugano, just off the lake.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Buongiorno sophoclesj,

what a review! Thank you so much for your kind words and descriptions.
It's nice to have guests like you and this praise is our daily motivation! My Team and I would like to thank you very much for this!

Please let us know, if we could do anything for you to make your next
stay with us as unique as the last one! We are looking forward to welcome you back in Ticino again!

Manuela Fadani,
Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this friendly hotel that's on a major Lugano street right beside the historic district and a short walk to the lake. Restaurants, bars, and shops surround the store on all sides. We spent 2 nights in an economy room and 2 nights in a comfort room. Do yourself a favour and go for the more expensive rooms--they're really modern and bright. Ours had been recently renovated and looked brand new. The budget room was OK and no one else seemed to be using the washrooms and showers across the hall, but the room was a bit basic though large. The restaurant is OK for breakfast, but the one dinner we had there was very mediocre and the place felt a bit depressing. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go for the more expensive rooms--they're worth it and have ceiling fans for warmer weather. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear kclaudia,

thank you for being our guests and also thank you for your kind words. I'm happy to read that you and your family had a good time with us. Especially for families we do have separate holiday offers.Have a look on our website and do not hesitate to contact us! For our very, very different types of guests, we offer different room categories. Nice, that we found the right one for you and your family to enjoy the hotel, Lugano and it's beautiful surroundings.

My staff and I would love to welcome you again. Just let us know what we could do for you!

Manuela Fadani, Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano

Address: Piazza Indipendenza 9, Lugano 6901, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestalozzi Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.