We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice reception” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Indipendenza 9, Lugano 6901, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
milan
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“nice reception”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I had a room with shared bathroom.

reception was really nice, both on check in and check out.

Room was pretty decent sized, light colours, OK double bed. Smallish LCD screen high up above a wardrobe, with a wide array of channels.
two showers outside, clean and no waiting time (but I am really early).

breakfast not brilliant, so/so OJ, limited selection. I'd hoped for better.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear srm_56347,

we are happy, that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to offer you the appropriate room category for your needs during your business stay. Thank you for your review afterwards. I'm sure, that our restaurant staff was able to meet your wishes for additional offers.

As different as our guests are, so different are their breakfast habits and expectations for the first meal of the day. Our house and the hole Hotel Pestalozzi crew is always striving to meet the needs of our guests to allow them an unforgettable stay in this unique environment. Just let us know what we can do for you next time. We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Manuela Fadani, Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    80
    36
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
57
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The desk people are very nice. Every thing was for the requested price good. On a personal view, I would like at breakfast tomatoes, fresh cucumber and plain organic bread! One egg cost CHF 1.50 (!). Internet works very well

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Buongiorno dabe0612,

thank you for your kind review and your ideas for our breakfast.

Sounds like you had a good time in the hotel Pestalozzi Lugano. I'm sure, that the kitchen staff helped you immediately, when you asked for the vegetables. We are looking forward to welcome you again with us at lake Lugano. Let us know what we could do for you. We endeavor to meet your needs to ensure a memorable holiday in Ticino.


Manuela Fadani, Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

...is what comes to mind with Hotel Pestalozzi. I felt very safe and comfortable as a woman travelling alone on business. The room was very clean and compact, with a desk and chair to work from and free WiFi. Breakfast was included, and lunch and dinner is also available. The dinners I had were generous serves with a homemade touch. Staff and management were all very friendly and helpful - one waitress even knew the nearest Church and times for Holy Mass, which was a blessing to me. Best of all, it is a few minutes walk from the beautiful lake!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Buongiorno Rosamaria1820,

What a wonderful review! Thank you for your kind words and your praise for our traditional hotel, the restaurant, the service and our highly motivated staff. We are very pleased that you felt comfortable with us and hope that the Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano will also be your "first choice" at your next business trip in Ticino.

We are looking forward to welcome you again!

Manuela Fadani
Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Very clean and good hotel. Friendly treatment and a very good service. The Personnel is very kind and professional. Responsive service and good restaurant choice. Location excellent, direct access to the center of the city. Surely I will repeat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Valentin G,

thank you for this kind revue. We are very pleased, that you had a nice and comfortable business stay with us. We would be more than happy to welcome you back. Even for your next business trip to Lugano and its surroundings or for a holiday. Maybe you'ld like to stay a prolonged weekend just to welcome the spring in the city and at the lake. The first warming rays of sunshine and a lot of flowers are already here. Please let us know if we could suggest you some special dates.

Kind regards,

Manuela Fadani-Eidenberger, direttrice
Telefono: +41 (0)91 921 46 46
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Clean hotel, nice but simple room and very nice centre place. A bit expensive in relation to the ordinary comfort. Good break fast. The restaurant is no-alcohol, but they have at least beer. That's good. The food correct and also the service ! I can honestly say there were no complaints with my stay. We stayed just one night.
The staff were very helpful and kind. Our overall experience is positive and we would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Coquelicot P,

thank you for this very kind review. We are more than pleased about your nice words and praise. Also many thanks for your appraisal for our restaurant and service. We would love to welcome you back at the lake Lugano. And if you recommend us to your friends, we will give them a warm welcome to feel them at home in this wonderful city. Promise!

Please just let us know, what we can do for you or have look on our website. We do offer some specials there, too!

Manuela Fadani-Eidenberger, direttrice
Telefono: +41 (0)91 921 46 46
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here whilst in Lugano for work. It is a short walk from the train station (you just need to know the right direction to walk. Hint: walk down steps and then cross, then cut down through an alley way, then turn right and walk. You will see it on the left hand side around 50 metres past the bus station). The hotel has a range of rooms - I took the cheapest one which has a shared toilet and shower. But I think I was in the minority, which meant I had it all to myself. Their website doesn't do them justice - it's modern, clean and very practical. Breakfast is buffet and is included - cereals, meats, cheeses, juice, coffee/tea. My room had just the single bed, small sink, big wardrobe, desk and TV. There are lifts to all floors - always a bonus in Europe - and if you are into it, the casino is just over the road and is 24 hours. Iron facilities available on ground floor.

Front door gets locked from around 10pm but just buzz and night reception will let you in. I can honestly say there were no complaints with my stay. I stayed three nights - the room doesn't get serviced in between but that wasn't an issue for me.

Would definitely stay here again. Not huge amounts to do in Lugano other than walk, and window shop. Night time is great to visit the castles, but save the day time to go to the ancient town nearby (name escapes me, sorry).

Only tip: don't underestimate the power of hills on walking times and endurance. Google maps etc gives you straight forward directions, but with steep inclines, a five-minute walk might actually be 25 minutes with stops along the way for oxygen /defibrilation... ; )

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the main street are inevitably quieter. But Lugano doesn't get particularl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Cheemar,

thank you for being our guest and for this lovely revue. We are more than happy that you obviously enjoyed your stay with us - in our hotel and the surrounding! The town near by you've mentioned should be Bellinzona, right? If you need a tourguide or tips for a hiking tour for your next stay with us, let us know.

We'll get you in contact with some fabulous people from the Lugano tourismo office. We are looking forward to welcome you again!

Manuela Fadani-Eidenberger, direttrice
Telefono: +41 (0)91 921 46 46
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is in a convenient location, close to pretty much everything except from the train station, which you can easily access by bus though (bus stop just outside the hotel). Our room was clean and had a nice view of a small park, not very quiet though as there was some noise both from the street and from other residents of the hotel. Breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful and kind. Our overall experience is positive and we would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano

Address: Piazza Indipendenza 9, Lugano 6901, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestalozzi Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.