We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute but noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano to your Saves list
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Indipendenza 9 | 6901 Lugano, Lugano 6901, Switzerland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cute but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel is run by a friendly family who greet you with smiles at any time of the day... It's small, cosy, clean and bang in the centre of town, close to shops, the lake front and the botanical gardens and casino. Due to all this though, the downside is that you may find some Swiss Italians arguing (or talking, same difference) rather loudly very close to your room.
The breakfast is meagre but the coffee is good. The room I was in was small, but well lit and very clean. Wifi costs extra in the rooms, but is free in certain shared areas of the property.
This hotel is great value for money in what is otherwise an extremely expensive town in an overall expensive country.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    97
    47
    8
    4
See reviews for
24
71
30
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our short stay at this hotel was a wonderful find from tripadisor referrals.Great location,great views from the four floor.Room was a good size.We even had a balcony to sit and soak up the lake views.
wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

As a single female I have no hesitation in recommending Pestalozzi. Staff are exceptionally courteous, cleanliness is unrivalled. For 40 years I regularly stayed in a nearby private residence; since that ceased to be possible, Pestalozzi makes me feel very safe and "at home"! This (alcohol-free) Swiss haven's location is a moment's walk to gardens, the spectacular mountain-fringed lake, shops, sights, businesses, and the bus stops right outside it.

Whilst not pretentious, neither are its prices. Luxury is available elsewhere at higher cost - for those seeking guaranteed parking, a swimming pool or private gardens. Modify such ambitions, and skip the alcohol, to sample Pestalozzi's quaintness: after all, it is just 2 minutes' walk to the city's gorgeous public park, less than 10 minutes' stroll to indoor and outdoor swimming pools including a public section of the lake; and Pestalozzi's handful of parking spaces are entirely free of charge, on a first-come basis. Guests may pay for wifi in their room/s - but in the library/TV lounge this is entirely free. The included breakfast is generous and very acceptable, other meals are reasonably priced and tasty, served by staff whose welcome and prices attract also local clientele, more than willing to forego the alcohol; many genteel Luganese eat here regularly, some on a daily basis!

Room Tip: Rooms vary and are priced according to size, view and facilities. Guests on a budget can choose a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

As a retired couple we found this to be a well situated Hotel. Just a short walk to the bus stop and only a couple of stops to the train station. Close to the Lake and shops. Staff very helpful and room good size and very clean. The bathroom was communial and just across the hall from our room, not perfect, but didn't worry us.Lovely big restaurant at the Hotel. Nice view of the Lake from our bedroom window.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We just spent ten days at the Pestalozzi and loved it. We asked for a quiet room and got one - looking over rooftops and hills away from the main road. We were on the 4th floor, in an en suite room. It was extremely spacious, very clean, and well maintained all the time we were there. The beds were very comfortable, pillows a bit thin but we got a couple more, and there were several boulsters, which helped. We had a couch, a table, two chairs, bedside stands, and a lot of shelf and closet space. There was lots of light and enough outlets (once we figured out that they were outlets) to accommodate all our needs (iPad, 2 iPods, netbook). Breakfast was fine - not luxurious, but this is not a luxury hotel. Cereals, yogurts, croissants, several breads, a raisin cake, cheeses, meats, juice, a bowl of apples, good coffee, eggs if you wanted to pay extra, and treats like fresh fruit salad. The staff were terrific - the front desk women all spoke English and the dining room staff were happy to help us get things across in our minimal Italian. One of them brought us little fruit salads several times when there was none on the buffet, since she knew we really liked the fruit salad. The neighbourhood was friendly and perfectly situated; not in the dead center, which would have been very noisy, but everything was in easy walking distance: a 15 minute walk (with luggage) on easy sidewalks from the funicular which comes down from the train, 3 or 4 attractive arcaded city blocks from the lake and the center of town. Fine value for the money considering this is Switzerland. Oh, and silent air-conditioning, which was handy as it got quite hot. Finally - Lugano was a wonderful place to spend ten days.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out the back are quiet (and get great sunsets).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I have stayed in the Pestalozzi hotel many times over the last year and have always found it a great place to stay. It is very well located with the lake and centre of town only a minutes walk away. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, making sure they do everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The hotel is very clean and the rooms appropriately priced.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The hotel itself is nicely situated close to most things you might need within walking distance.
The staff at the reception is very nice and also German or English speaking which is not all that common in Lugano and the Canton Ticino wher Italian is the going language.
The rates are acceptable but I was unfortunate to receive a room which was almost standing room only, a bed a small bathroom and that was just about it.
The restaurant connected to the Hotel does not serve alcohol apart from non-alcoholic beer. However if you do not care about that it would be of no concern.
The parking is a bit tricky as there are onle about three spaces outside the entrance and apart from that you have to park at the public parking across the street, connected to the Casino where you can loose as much money as you care for.
All in all the hotel is OK except for the parking problem.
The very nice staff at the reception made all the difference and they found me parking right outside. Parking in Lugano is otherwise a great problem if you do not know your way around.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#21 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 43 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Lugano Paradiso
0.5 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.3 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#9 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano

Address: Piazza Indipendenza 9 | 6901 Lugano, Lugano 6901, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your vacation at the Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano and forget about everyday life! In the centre - close to the Lake of Lugano - a world full of architecture, hospitality and holiday fun awaits you! Attractive rates - newly renovated rooms Enjoy the Lake and the city of Lugano first hand. The Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano is situated directly in the city centre and is open for you all year round. Over the past years the hotel was completely renovated with love for detail and architectural highlights. Choose your ideal accommodation among the categories Flair or Economy- for your vacation in Ticino or for a business trip to Lugano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestalozzi Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.