We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Indipendenza 9, Lugano 6901, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 41 hotels in Lugano
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We just spent ten days at the Pestalozzi and loved it. We asked for a quiet room and got one - looking over rooftops and hills away from the main road. We were on the 4th floor, in an en suite room. It was extremely spacious, very clean, and well maintained all the time we were there. The beds were very comfortable, pillows a bit thin but we got a couple more, and there were several boulsters, which helped. We had a couch, a table, two chairs, bedside stands, and a lot of shelf and closet space. There was lots of light and enough outlets (once we figured out that they were outlets) to accommodate all our needs (iPad, 2 iPods, netbook). Breakfast was fine - not luxurious, but this is not a luxury hotel. Cereals, yogurts, croissants, several breads, a raisin cake, cheeses, meats, juice, a bowl of apples, good coffee, eggs if you wanted to pay extra, and treats like fresh fruit salad. The staff were terrific - the front desk women all spoke English and the dining room staff were happy to help us get things across in our minimal Italian. One of them brought us little fruit salads several times when there was none on the buffet, since she knew we really liked the fruit salad. The neighbourhood was friendly and perfectly situated; not in the dead center, which would have been very noisy, but everything was in easy walking distance: a 15 minute walk (with luggage) on easy sidewalks from the funicular which comes down from the train, 3 or 4 attractive arcaded city blocks from the lake and the center of town. Fine value for the money considering this is Switzerland. Oh, and silent air-conditioning, which was handy as it got quite hot. Finally - Lugano was a wonderful place to spend ten days.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out the back are quiet (and get great sunsets).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    76
    36
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
55
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I have stayed in the Pestalozzi hotel many times over the last year and have always found it a great place to stay. It is very well located with the lake and centre of town only a minutes walk away. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, making sure they do everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The hotel is very clean and the rooms appropriately priced.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The hotel itself is nicely situated close to most things you might need within walking distance.
The staff at the reception is very nice and also German or English speaking which is not all that common in Lugano and the Canton Ticino wher Italian is the going language.
The rates are acceptable but I was unfortunate to receive a room which was almost standing room only, a bed a small bathroom and that was just about it.
The restaurant connected to the Hotel does not serve alcohol apart from non-alcoholic beer. However if you do not care about that it would be of no concern.
The parking is a bit tricky as there are onle about three spaces outside the entrance and apart from that you have to park at the public parking across the street, connected to the Casino where you can loose as much money as you care for.
All in all the hotel is OK except for the parking problem.
The very nice staff at the reception made all the difference and they found me parking right outside. Parking in Lugano is otherwise a great problem if you do not know your way around.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genève
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We were in Lugano for a short week-end. We were really surprised of the quality of the hotel for the price we paid. The location of the hotel is just the best you can have in Lugano, right in the middle of the city, 100m away from the lake. We could see the lake from our room.

We had a room with WC and shower on the floor because it was the last one available but it wasn't an issue since everything was very clean.

The hotel was also pretty quiet during the night. The staff was very friendly and helpful and spoke at least 4 languages (FR/ENG/GER/IT).

Last but not least, the price included the breakfast which was a big buffet, just great !


Final word : Don't expect a luxury hotel, but for a 2 stars hotel it's a great one !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Me and my family stayed one night at the hotel during December vacations. We had two rooms, one double and another triple. The location is really excellent, near the shopping area and 100 meters from the lake. The people in the hotel are very nice and professional. Breakfast was included but with a limited choice of food. Two "negative notes" go to the parking space (not guaranteed by the hotel) and to the bed (!): not very comfortable, especially for the pillows (they were all the same) ... very hard to sleep on.

Room Tip: "Flair" rooms are better. They have a nice view on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth West Aus
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Delightful staff, great service, everything done with a little panache but all in a very good budget price for Lugano. I had a single room with a balcony, air con, good shower, crisp sheets. I stayed 12 days. Front desk staff had answers to every question and were very helpful and most, like the delightful Manuella, had excellent English. It can get noisy in the street on Friday and Saturday nights, but just close the double glazed window and it all goes away. If you want eggs for breakfast, just ask and they add a couple of $ to your room tab.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony, avoid the noisy street side if you stay on Friday or Saturday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Most of this hotel is a hostel, with common bathrooms, but the top floor has rooms with balconies and en suite bathrooms that are super at the price.

The room is not huge, but it is very clean. The balcony can fit up to 8 people - we tried it! A bit of a squish, but worth the view.

This is not a luxury hotel, but for the view, location and cleanliness - and service - it is wonderful value for the money.

If you ask well in advance, the hotel has one or two of their own parking spots in their street that you can pre-book.

Leaving your key in reception is a part of the fire safety routines of the hotel. Also, given the size of the keys, it is very practical! The reception is manned 24/7

Due to the hotel being the meeting place for the local AA, they do not serve alchohol in their restaurant, but they do have some wine that you can order and take to your room.

The location is overly excellent with only a 5-10 minute walk to the old center and to the ferry dock.

Some complain that the hotel is noisy. What do you expect being so close to EVERYTHING? If you stay in the top floor rooms, the noise is a bit lessened by the distance. There are also special blinds you can pull down to reduce the noise even more.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room with a balcony. Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano

Address: Piazza Indipendenza 9, Lugano 6901, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestalozzi Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.