We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare for light sleeper” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Via Montarina 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nightmare for light sleeper”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

4 of us stayed there for 2 nights (Thu and Fri).
Quite easy to find: Turn to the right at the train station, walk straight for anout 30 metres and look to the right you will see 2 pink buildings. About 7-10 mins depends on how heavy your luggage is as you need to drag it upslope and some stairs. The rooms were clean and tidy. Staff at the reception was friendly. The first night was ok, could feel that there were not many people around. Nightmare started on the second night as there were many youngsters talking, laughing and running around, even until 3am. I couldn't sleep the whole night because of the noise. I thought it was a bad idea to stay near a big group of immature people who could not be considerate. I also did not notice that they were being told by the staff not to run in the midnight. There were no phone in the room to call to the reception to complain as well. It was also next to the railway so you will know the schedule of the cargo train because you can hear it quite clearly.
Other than the noise, it was quite alright if you are not a light sleeper.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    51
    26
    4
    6
See reviews for
20
50
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pune, india
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

we stayed one night on 12th september 2009 ..... we were in lugano just to catch bernina express next day.

it is a very good value for money place. showers / WCs were squeaky clean ..... no issue about that .... only problem is that quad room was on second floor and the staircase is rather too steep to go up with luggage ....... presume it may not be a very big problem with younger lot ......

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Michielsgestel, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Perfect location. Near the railway station (with a little funicular train/elevator bringing you downtown in 2 minutes) in the middle of a lovely palm garden. Although we slept at the station side of the building, we were not bothered by the noise of it.

We stayed at the Comfort rooms which were very nice. Sufficiently large, clean, bright, nice view (1:2 have a small balcony). Good beds.

Swimming pool in the neighbouring garden, with table tennis table. Meeting room to play a game, or have internet access, or read a book at the balcony. Small but efficient kitchen (and pans, dishes and knifes/forkes) which is nice after a week of restaurant meals.
The combination with the hostel, and associated youths, made it lively in the good sense (no loudness during night).

Only one item was dissappointing: breakfast. Bread so-so, coffee really bad, no fresh fruit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

This is one of the best hostels we have ever stayed in. The rooms (we stayed in an 'antique room') are great and the swimming pool was lovely. The hostel is about 15 mins down hill (get the inclined railway if you fancy) and has many restaurants and shops. Very 'designer' orientated. We went to a 'Grotto' restaurant called 'Turrene' behind Place de Republique which was really good. Other restaurants can be a bit 'touristy'. We went up one mountain called Bre, I think, which was a bit of a let down - nothing much there apart from the amazing view. Finally, have a swim in the lake - it's warmer than it looks!!!

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
166 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

This wonderful backpackers (+hotel) was once a private sprawling estate overlooking the village of Lugano and the lake below. Located up the hill from the main train station, the grounds of the Montarina are covered in palm trees and leafy shaded pathways. The main building, an architectural beauty itself, houses several large dorm rooms with 5-10 bunk beds per room, as well as hotel rooms upstairs. A large communal dining area is available, as well as a kitchen, for those who want to cook, have a drink or play board games and meet fellow travelers. A chess game between newly met friends was going on outside on the balcony overlooking Lugano (through the palm trees), when we arrived.
The city center is just a short stroll downhill and connections with the train couldn't be better.
The price/value is incredible! A fantastic way to stay in Lugano and experience this gorgeous and exciting slice of heaven!
I will certainly be back to the Montarina!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

I have been to Hotel & Hostel Montarina, Lugano in March 2009. I have booked a private backpacker room with a shared toilet. The room was small and looked like a dormatory but it was a nice experience. The toilets and bathrooms were very clean than that of hotel rooms. Above all the staff was very very friendly. I dont know the name of the manager but the lady manager was very helpful and has smile on her face everytime she talks. The area is very good and the location is just near the train station. Hotel is big enough and have a big lawn and a swimming pool. If I have been given a chance, I will stay again in this place.
If you are not concerned about the size of the room, the place is very budgeted to stay. Above all it is mostly suitable and safest for the Families and the teenager girls.

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

Unfortunately, we did not have a good experience at the Montarina. It is a lovely old inn on the exterior with a palm tree lined drive but nothing more than a hostel room - with a private bath - on the inside. The staff at the front desk and in the restaurant for breakfast (do not get brkfst at $12 swiss francs per person, it is not worth it) were unfriendly and unhelpful. Had they even remotely tried to be personable, we would have rated higher. The walk in to town is very far and all down hill which makes for a difficult return. Very thin walls - could hear the man in the room next to us snoring through the wall. Plus that it is so close to train station but also a minus that it is so close unless you are a very heavy sleeper and can sleep through the sound of a train rumbling by every 15 minutes about 30 yards away. Not worth it for the price.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel

Address: Via Montarina 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montarina And Backpackers Hostel
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.