We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel safe and welcomed here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Via Montarina 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Feel safe and welcomed here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We arrived last Saturday without reservations but received a welcome referal for Hotel Montarina. What a wonderful surprise. The staff were friendly and were able to communicate in both German and English, booking us for our stay and guiding us around the spotlessly clean facility to get settled. This place over delivers! A super place for singles or families travelling. A place to make meals, fo your laundry as well. Check out their beautiful pool too. Even though they are very close to the train station, we enjoyed a wonderful quiet sleep both nights.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    55
    28
    4
    8
See reviews for
21
50
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed there for two nights while roadtrippin in Switzerland. This was the best hostel we stayed at with best value for money. The private 2 beds dorm was very small but comfy. We even had AC. The pool area is awesome, lots of chairs and a bar with drinks and snacks. Very clean showers and wc (all marble) and the grounds are beautiful (gardens/palm trees). The staff was super friendly and always answered my emails quickly. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Bathrooms and rooms are very clean. The dorms are very numerous (mine was 16 people) but the atmosphere is very pleasant because it is quiet and relaxed, a good way to meet travelers. Beautiful garden with access to the pool.
The location is excellent and well served by public transports, but if you're a light sleeper the noise of trains passing in the nearby train station could disturb. The optional breakfast is expensive but fortunatelly there is a supermarket and a coffee bar not far from the hostel. Very weak wifi signal in some places.
I have spent 3 nice nights here and if I were to return to Lugano would not hesitate to choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Montarina was the only place in Lugano that fit my friends and my college backpacking budget. The staff was friendly, the pool and lounge area was awesome, and it's all very clean. Don't plan on getting breakfast here unless you want to pay 15 francs. We never checked it out, but it's a hostel so it couldn't be that great, let alone 15 francs great. The location of this place is great, right across from the train station. Overall this a great place for college age and young people on a budget to stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed one night in this hostel and liked it for several reasons: very clean, really nice and genuine staff, lots of space (not crammed into a hole like most hostels) and lots of sitting areas, especially outside. Lockers are 2CHF deposit and returned when key is returned, didn't actually try them but I was impressed they didn't cost money. Drying racks supplied with space to set up. I was in the basement 16bed dorm and although it was bunk beds they were top quality (no creaking when you move,sturdy) & the widest I've seen yet. Soft memory foam type of mattress very nice. Only thing is they paired myself and my partner on the top bunks which were side by side touching, so he had someone else beneath him but it probably would have been weirder sleeping directly beside a stranger.. paired the bunk beds in the room so there were 4 groups. Individual lamps but no outlets. Just above train station, can hear them but I slept fine and I'm a light sleeper. Walked to the water in 15-20mins there is a funicular because the hill can get steep. Highly recommended hostel for backpackers or even a vacation.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife, our 2 children (4 and 7) and I stayed in one room. Stayed here March 19/20 in 2014. We would stay here again because:

Definately one of the nicest grounds one can find. Loads of space, Palmtreegarden, big 25m Pool with plenty of space to chill and for the children to play.

The room we had was pefect for a family because it had a bulkbed and a doublebed. The room is rather small and right under roof with a big window. There is a washing basin in the room.
This means you walk 2 flights up. No elevator. We travel light, so no problem.

Pots, Pans and Plates are available but the kitchen is tiny. Only one person may cook at a time. Beautiful dinning room with perfect Terrace which overlooks Lugano.

Showers were clean, Toilets had enough toiletpaper and were clean.

Enough parking space on the premises.

Room could be locked.

Very very nice breakfast area. We brought our own food, we even boiled our own water for tea and coffee.

I looked at some of the two bedroom rooms. *** star standard with a flat TV and the most stunning view from the rooms. Book No 32. it is at the corner and overlooks the lake and the city. Toilet and shower is in the room here.

Downside:
The walls seem thin. When we were here there were hardly any people here. Only one oldish couple next door and we could hear them very well. We came home very late, so we were dead tired and slept well.

If you have a room next to reception... No sleep. We talked to girls which slept there and complained a lot.

Tip:
We travel with a car so we could bring our food. Dombring as much food as you can for your stay in switzerland. Every country around is approx 30% cheaper.
That is why we did not try the breakfast. It seemed a bit on the expensive side from what we saw they offered.

The Hostel is right next to the trainstation. We could not hear a train once. We came with a car so we do not know how far it is to walk into the city.

Compare prices... IBIS is only 15 swiss francs more expensive than the room we had. It is a standard Hotel while this is a unique experience.

Good for couples, family, backpackers ( some of the rooms seem to be at the ground-floor which has more the touch of a basement)



Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have stayed here twice and would stay again, hopefully next year for the jazz festival. We stayed in a double room in the other building, we also had a little balcony. Ok the kitchen could be larger, and there is sometimes a queue at meal times, but there is a large dinning room, and a outside balcony with tables to sit and eat your meal, there is also a number of fridges and a freezer to store your own food. But the extra bonus is that anyone staying at this hostel is the swimming pool in the adjoining hotel which you can use. The reception ladies were very friendly and helpful. Overall would recommend , very near the train station and the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel

Address: Via Montarina 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Lugano
Hotel Montarina And Backpackers Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.