We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean spacious dorms & great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Via Montarina 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean spacious dorms & great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed one night in this hostel and liked it for several reasons: very clean, really nice and genuine staff, lots of space (not crammed into a hole like most hostels) and lots of sitting areas, especially outside. Lockers are 2CHF deposit and returned when key is returned, didn't actually try them but I was impressed they didn't cost money. Drying racks supplied with space to set up. I was in the basement 16bed dorm and although it was bunk beds they were top quality (no creaking when you move,sturdy) & the widest I've seen yet. Soft memory foam type of mattress very nice. Only thing is they paired myself and my partner on the top bunks which were side by side touching, so he had someone else beneath him but it probably would have been weirder sleeping directly beside a stranger.. paired the bunk beds in the room so there were 4 groups. Individual lamps but no outlets. Just above train station, can hear them but I slept fine and I'm a light sleeper. Walked to the water in 15-20mins there is a funicular because the hill can get steep. Highly recommended hostel for backpackers or even a vacation.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    48
    24
    2
    5
See reviews for
19
48
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife, our 2 children (4 and 7) and I stayed in one room. Stayed here March 19/20 in 2014. We would stay here again because:

Definately one of the nicest grounds one can find. Loads of space, Palmtreegarden, big 25m Pool with plenty of space to chill and for the children to play.

The room we had was pefect for a family because it had a bulkbed and a doublebed. The room is rather small and right under roof with a big window. There is a washing basin in the room.
This means you walk 2 flights up. No elevator. We travel light, so no problem.

Pots, Pans and Plates are available but the kitchen is tiny. Only one person may cook at a time. Beautiful dinning room with perfect Terrace which overlooks Lugano.

Showers were clean, Toilets had enough toiletpaper and were clean.

Enough parking space on the premises.

Room could be locked.

Very very nice breakfast area. We brought our own food, we even boiled our own water for tea and coffee.

I looked at some of the two bedroom rooms. *** star standard with a flat TV and the most stunning view from the rooms. Book No 32. it is at the corner and overlooks the lake and the city. Toilet and shower is in the room here.

Downside:
The walls seem thin. When we were here there were hardly any people here. Only one oldish couple next door and we could hear them very well. We came home very late, so we were dead tired and slept well.

If you have a room next to reception... No sleep. We talked to girls which slept there and complained a lot.

Tip:
We travel with a car so we could bring our food. Dombring as much food as you can for your stay in switzerland. Every country around is approx 30% cheaper.
That is why we did not try the breakfast. It seemed a bit on the expensive side from what we saw they offered.

The Hostel is right next to the trainstation. We could not hear a train once. We came with a car so we do not know how far it is to walk into the city.

Compare prices... IBIS is only 15 swiss francs more expensive than the room we had. It is a standard Hotel while this is a unique experience.

Good for couples, family, backpackers ( some of the rooms seem to be at the ground-floor which has more the touch of a basement)



Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have stayed here twice and would stay again, hopefully next year for the jazz festival. We stayed in a double room in the other building, we also had a little balcony. Ok the kitchen could be larger, and there is sometimes a queue at meal times, but there is a large dinning room, and a outside balcony with tables to sit and eat your meal, there is also a number of fridges and a freezer to store your own food. But the extra bonus is that anyone staying at this hostel is the swimming pool in the adjoining hotel which you can use. The reception ladies were very friendly and helpful. Overall would recommend , very near the train station and the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed just two nights in Lugano and were looking for somewhere to stay that was both inexpensive and in a convenient location. The Hotel Montarina isn’t particularly cheap but, this being Switzerland, it costs less than most other places we looked into in Lugano.

Rooms are provided in two buildings. We stayed in the building housing the comfort rooms which have en-suite facilities. Our room was pretty basic but was adequate. Some of the rooms have balconies although ours didn’t and, if we returned, we’d try to book one of these.

The hotel has a nice pool area and we found staff to be friendly apart from when they were trying to push us to book the breakfast. Tina was particularly helpful and answered our questions both via the internet and in person.

The railway station is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel and there’s a small supermarket and a few other shops there. A large proportion of the other guests were quite young but they were sensible and there was no more noise than in many other places we have stayed.

Hotel Montarina isn’t a bad choice if you’re on a budget and can’t afford the more expensive hotels Lugano has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very nice staff in the hostel, they were friendly and helpful. The hostel itself is nicely situated above the city, so nice views and first of all it's close to the main Lugano train station. There's plenty of trees and plants around the hostel building, so you feel like in a jungle actually ;) The bathrooms were very clean. Very positive experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANGLEY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is steps from the train station but is quiet and secluded. The grounds and the pool are beautiful. Our room had a stunning view. Well priced but don't get the breakfast included. It's way overpriced. There are plenty of places to eat in Lugano. Our room was comfortable but there is no elevator and there are three floors.
We saw lots of young people in the hostel. There were lots of bunk beds in each room but the rooms were large and clean.
Good hotel for the money and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Good location - but walking up to the property with lot of luggage will be a sweaty hike. Beautiful property. Since there are lot of plants, trees etc you run the risk of mosquitoes entering your room if you leave the windows open. Only comfort rooms are with attached bath, albeit small. Fully equipped common kitchen. A nice swimming pool. A nice breakfast area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel

Address: Via Montarina 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Lugano
Hotel Montarina And Backpackers Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.