We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great few days in Lugano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Via Montarina 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another great few days in Lugano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have stayed here twice and would stay again, hopefully next year for the jazz festival. We stayed in a double room in the other building, we also had a little balcony. Ok the kitchen could be larger, and there is sometimes a queue at meal times, but there is a large dinning room, and a outside balcony with tables to sit and eat your meal, there is also a number of fridges and a freezer to store your own food. But the extra bonus is that anyone staying at this hostel is the swimming pool in the adjoining hotel which you can use. The reception ladies were very friendly and helpful. Overall would recommend , very near the train station and the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    48
    24
    3
    5
See reviews for
19
48
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed just two nights in Lugano and were looking for somewhere to stay that was both inexpensive and in a convenient location. The Hotel Montarina isn’t particularly cheap but, this being Switzerland, it costs less than most other places we looked into in Lugano.

Rooms are provided in two buildings. We stayed in the building housing the comfort rooms which have en-suite facilities. Our room was pretty basic but was adequate. Some of the rooms have balconies although ours didn’t and, if we returned, we’d try to book one of these.

The hotel has a nice pool area and we found staff to be friendly apart from when they were trying to push us to book the breakfast. Tina was particularly helpful and answered our questions both via the internet and in person.

The railway station is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel and there’s a small supermarket and a few other shops there. A large proportion of the other guests were quite young but they were sensible and there was no more noise than in many other places we have stayed.

Hotel Montarina isn’t a bad choice if you’re on a budget and can’t afford the more expensive hotels Lugano has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very nice staff in the hostel, they were friendly and helpful. The hostel itself is nicely situated above the city, so nice views and first of all it's close to the main Lugano train station. There's plenty of trees and plants around the hostel building, so you feel like in a jungle actually ;) The bathrooms were very clean. Very positive experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANGLEY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is steps from the train station but is quiet and secluded. The grounds and the pool are beautiful. Our room had a stunning view. Well priced but don't get the breakfast included. It's way overpriced. There are plenty of places to eat in Lugano. Our room was comfortable but there is no elevator and there are three floors.
We saw lots of young people in the hostel. There were lots of bunk beds in each room but the rooms were large and clean.
Good hotel for the money and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Good location - but walking up to the property with lot of luggage will be a sweaty hike. Beautiful property. Since there are lot of plants, trees etc you run the risk of mosquitoes entering your room if you leave the windows open. Only comfort rooms are with attached bath, albeit small. Fully equipped common kitchen. A nice swimming pool. A nice breakfast area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed in Montarina Hostel for many times over the years and this place has the best value for money for young backpackers.
You can use the kitchen to save money since the restaurants in Lugano are quite expensive. There's a wonderful terrasse where you can sit and relax. There's a table tennis table, a big swimming pool you can use and nice sunbeds. It's situated next to the train station which is not quite in the town but you can reach it within 10min. For the cheap accomondation, there's a dorm but they also provide nicer rooms for a bit more. Switzerland's hotel prices are enormous, especially in Lugano, therefore this place has by far the best value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The old villa areal is a very nice place. We booked a comfort room. The room is small but nice. If you look for a quite hotel the near train station and nightly trains might not be for you. But overall we slept better than expected.

It can be difficult to park your car. But you can be very creative and the hotel people are relaxed and very friendly.

Having breakfast outside is very nice (in our case one guy with a leaves blower was active during breakfast time). The breakfast is OK but nothing special.

There is a very nice pool, that seems to be shared with an other hotel. There is not much space but it's a good refresh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel

Address: Via Montarina 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Lugano
Hotel Montarina And Backpackers Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.