We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Via Montarina 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Zug, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The old villa areal is a very nice place. We booked a comfort room. The room is small but nice. If you look for a quite hotel the near train station and nightly trains might not be for you. But overall we slept better than expected.

It can be difficult to park your car. But you can be very creative and the hotel people are relaxed and very friendly.

Having breakfast outside is very nice (in our case one guy with a leaves blower was active during breakfast time). The breakfast is OK but nothing special.

There is a very nice pool, that seems to be shared with an other hotel. There is not much space but it's a good refresh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    47
    24
    2
    5
See reviews for
19
47
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a good hostel at a good price for Lugano. Being a hostel one doesn't expect hotel privacy or ammenities but you'll be okay. The rooms are large- upto 20 or so in a room in bunk beds. The showers and toilets are clean and suitable. The grounds are beautiful and include an incredible swimming pool. Security Lockers on sight for your stuff. You must bring or use a sleeping bag with means a sheet sewn into a bag. they rent these for a small fee if you need one. The breakfast buffet was great. Lots of meats, cheeses, breads, yogurt, juice, coffee. The location is right behind the train station. While that is certainly convenient to many shops and restaurants, it is noisy. We heard train whistles through the night.

Room Tip: Just remember this is a hostel and you'll share a large room with others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here (3 adults) in the hotel portion of the property. Great location, near train station & funicular but not a lot of noise. Gorgeous property, lush vegetation, nice pool and breakfast area, efficient if not overly friendly staff. Rooms are small, but clean and with sufficient closet space. Our TV/remote did not work, but we weren't there to watch TV so that was not a huge bother. Our balcony door/window did not latch completely. By US standards this is overpriced for what you get--around $200 a night plus another $18 or so apiece for continental breakfast. But for a European resort town, it's to be expected, and was the average "budget" hotel price everywhere we went in Switzerland.

Room Tip: If you are worried about train noise, ask for a room on the side opposite the station. (We faced th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valais, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

LOCATION: Hotel & Hostel Montarina is located up on a hill overlooking Lago Maggiore, at Via Montarina 1.

Lugano furnicular and train stations are a quick 5 minutes' stroll away. When you exit the station at the back (away from the Old Town), just head towards the left, then go up a steep slope leading up to a 19th century historic building with a pink-and-white exterior.

To reach the Old Town and boat pier (whence cruises on Lago Maggiore depart), you need to take the Lugano Città–Stazione furnicular downhill. The furnicular station is conveniently located within Lugano train station and the service runs from about 5:20am till 11:50pm daily; frequency seemed pretty good with a furnicular departing every 5~10 minutes.

ROOM: We stayed in a clean and spacious Antique Room decorated in an archaic 19th century style. As befitting its name, the room had really creaky floorboards and worn-out, vintage furnishings: 2 single beds; a pair of bedside tables with reading lamps (1 of which didn't work); small desk by the hearth; 2 chairs (clearly in need of new upholstery); a huge armoire with hangers and ample storage space (door was badly jammed, had to be pried open with great difficulty...)

BEDS: both were clean and comfortable. Pillows were much too soft for my liking. To conserve energy and water, bed linen was not changed during stay.

BATHROOM: no ensuite facilities but in a corner of the room, they have installed lighting, mirror and a shelf above a wash basin. Clean towels together with 2 tiny bars of soap and 2 packets of hair-and-body-wash were provided.

Communal bathrooms and toilets are located in the hallway. These shared facilities were not always found in a clean and tidy state... Unfortunately went into a toilet where the previous user failed to flush, thus I was faced with a huge 'unpleasant surprise' in the bowl ~ totally ruined my morning!

Shower stalls were quite small, so it could be a tight fit for some people. Water pressure in the shower was adequate but took a while to adjust the water to a comfortable temperature...

F&B: room rate did not include daily breakfast, which was available at an extra CHF15 per pax. There was a self-catering kitchen on the ground floor as well as vending machines for drinks and snacks.

SERVICE: Room Reservation, Check-In & Out all proceeded smoothly. The multilingual staff are fluent in English; service was efficient enough but not exactly warm.

FACILITIES: there is no lift nor porter service so be prepared to lug your bags up the stairs. Hostel has coin-operated washer and dryer somewhere but we didn't utilize the laundry facility here. The property offers free WiFi and there's a swimming pool for guest use.

IN SHORT: For the rates charged, I wouldn't want to stay in an Antique Room again, not with its creaky floors and worn-out furnishings. The shared facilities also fell short in terms of comfort and hygiene levels...

Besides the Antique Room reviewed above, there are other room categories available at Hotel & Hostel Montarina. If you don't mind paying higher rates, you can probably enjoy a more pleasant stay in their Comfort Rooms which have ensuite facilities, air-conditioning and flatscreen TV.

A major down side to staying here is the tiresome daily trudge on that steep slope leading up to the property. On my next visit to Lugano, would probably choose a different hotel more conveniently located downhill in the Old Town.

Room Tip: Antique Rooms have shared facilities & old, worn-out furnishings. Comfort Rooms with ensuite fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have a night stay in this resort like hotel in an ensuite double room at 1st floor, there are 1 single bed and 1 double bed (2 single bed put together), our room have 5 windows, 2 facing the back, 2 facing the side which we can see the reception building, and one is facing part of the lake and snow-capped mountain which offer us good view. Toilet is attached in the shower room, but comfortable in size. Hair dryer is available upon request with CHF10 deposit at the reception, same with adapter. For the mattress, my was good but my hubby one is not so comfortable, which made him didn't slept well. There are TV in the room too. But no kettle to boil water.
The self catering kitchen is very tiny, which allow only one or two persons cooking inside. But the dinning room is big, with 2 tables outside at the balcony which offer good view.
Since many good reviews about the breakfast here, we paid CHF15 p.p for it, but discovered that it's just a very simple Swiss breakfast, we were having this type of breakfast or even better every morning in other hotels in Swiss but it's included in the room rate, no extra charges. The only credit is the restaurant is in a beautiful garden.
The location is near to the train station and the Bernina Express bus station (to Tirano for Bernina express train).
While in Lugano, don't miss to visit Mt San Salvatore, which offer spectacular view especially up to the roof top of the church at the top.
Don't waste your energy by foot to the town centre, you can take the funicular just in the centre of the train station to the town in 2 minutes. It's free with Swiss pass and about CHF1.10 or 1.20.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the front, so you can see mountains and part of the lake and Lugano night view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hostel itself was beautiful and close to the train station and the staff was great but it could use some improvements; we had a private room on the 3rd floor (no elevator) which had no room in it at all since there was a platform bed with 7 mattress across the whole back wall which only left a 3 ft wide space for us to keep our stuff and get dressed (not the mention the sink which i think would have splashed onto the bed if we used it. There was a skylight in the room but no windows. The bath rooms were very clean, but the blankets provided were full of hair and the pillows were tiny. You also have to rent a sleep sack to sleep in. The other issue was the lighting; out room was so dark we could barely see and the hall light was on a timer and would would not come on sometimes. I did pass another room on the bottom floor and it did look much nicer, but the room we had was not the best.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Pros -- Liked the breakfast, the view from the restaurant...and most importantly, when I said that the mattress was uncomfortable, and the WiFi didn't work -- I returned in the evening to find a new mattress, and functioning WiFi. Good location five minutes from the train station, and not far from town center and lake. free parking!

Cons -- The dependance was a bit like a dormitory...thin walls,and the neighbor's snoring. No soaps or shampoos were really available (that was just odd, frankly). Trains passing by on occasion at night...a bit noisy.

Room Tip: Main building -- avoid the dependance if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel

Address: Via Montarina 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montarina And Backpackers Hostel
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.