We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in good location if travel by train or bus.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Via Montarina 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Miri, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in good location if travel by train or bus.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have a night stay in this resort like hotel in an ensuite double room at 1st floor, there are 1 single bed and 1 double bed (2 single bed put together), our room have 5 windows, 2 facing the back, 2 facing the side which we can see the reception building, and one is facing part of the lake and snow-capped mountain which offer us good view. Toilet is attached in the shower room, but comfortable in size. Hair dryer is available upon request with CHF10 deposit at the reception, same with adapter. For the mattress, my was good but my hubby one is not so comfortable, which made him didn't slept well. There are TV in the room too. But no kettle to boil water.
The self catering kitchen is very tiny, which allow only one or two persons cooking inside. But the dinning room is big, with 2 tables outside at the balcony which offer good view.
Since many good reviews about the breakfast here, we paid CHF15 p.p for it, but discovered that it's just a very simple Swiss breakfast, we were having this type of breakfast or even better every morning in other hotels in Swiss but it's included in the room rate, no extra charges. The only credit is the restaurant is in a beautiful garden.
The location is near to the train station and the Bernina Express bus station (to Tirano for Bernina express train).
While in Lugano, don't miss to visit Mt San Salvatore, which offer spectacular view especially up to the roof top of the church at the top.
Don't waste your energy by foot to the town centre, you can take the funicular just in the centre of the train station to the town in 2 minutes. It's free with Swiss pass and about CHF1.10 or 1.20.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the front, so you can see mountains and part of the lake and Lugano night view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    48
    24
    3
    5
See reviews for
19
48
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hostel itself was beautiful and close to the train station and the staff was great but it could use some improvements; we had a private room on the 3rd floor (no elevator) which had no room in it at all since there was a platform bed with 7 mattress across the whole back wall which only left a 3 ft wide space for us to keep our stuff and get dressed (not the mention the sink which i think would have splashed onto the bed if we used it. There was a skylight in the room but no windows. The bath rooms were very clean, but the blankets provided were full of hair and the pillows were tiny. You also have to rent a sleep sack to sleep in. The other issue was the lighting; out room was so dark we could barely see and the hall light was on a timer and would would not come on sometimes. I did pass another room on the bottom floor and it did look much nicer, but the room we had was not the best.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Pros -- Liked the breakfast, the view from the restaurant...and most importantly, when I said that the mattress was uncomfortable, and the WiFi didn't work -- I returned in the evening to find a new mattress, and functioning WiFi. Good location five minutes from the train station, and not far from town center and lake. free parking!

Cons -- The dependance was a bit like a dormitory...thin walls,and the neighbor's snoring. No soaps or shampoos were really available (that was just odd, frankly). Trains passing by on occasion at night...a bit noisy.

Room Tip: Main building -- avoid the dependance if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Staying at Hotel Montarina was the perfect retreat from the hustle and bustle-- this charming hotel is incredibly clean and bright; the rooms have everything one could need for a relaxing, restful visit to Lugano. It's situated on a hill on the far side of the train station, and it is about a ten minute walk to trek downhill to the center square of the city. Alternately, you can take a funicular easily down to the touristy part of town. We stayed in one of the comfort rooms in Montarina, which was just perfect, with our own bathroom and private balcony. The breakfast was incredible, with friendly waitstaff, a wide variety of buffet choices, and fresh baked Italian delights. Nothing like a cappuccino to start the day!

Room Tip: I liked the comfort rooms because of the private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is located very close to the train station in Lugano. The grounds are well kept and there are little garden paths you can meander along to reach their small vineyard and pool. Our room was a nice size and it was very clean. It is a short walk into town from this location and the views at night are great looking over the Lake. The brunch in the morning is worth the expense in their beautiful brunch/sitting room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

When I read "hotel and hostel" I thought "this is going to be a great place". Just minutes away from the station you see it in a hill. "Great" you start thinking. Receptionist is really friendly and helpful. I started to feel uncomfortable when she asked three times is I was going to stay a night longer. "Why?" I asked. "It´s really low season right now" I added. I am glad that my gut feelings told me not to pay for the second night. I was located in a room with five mattresses literally together. Guys were friendly and joked about all sleeping together. None could really sleep well. The following day I was so tired that really downgraded my Lugano experience and decided to leave town earlier than expected. That kind of dorm setting might work when you are climbing Fujisama during the night, everyone is in the same page and super tired, but not in a city. Lockers were not working. Only two electric plugs for five people. Poor lights in the corridors, you may hit a step while trying to get to the restroom. Showers were very small and poorly designed. You have to pay extra for bed sheets and they look at least ten years old. Breakfast is promoted at CHF10 and then it is CHF15 in the neighboring hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very nice hotel with great front desk staff. They were always smiling and so willing to help out with any queries. A map was provided and we were encouraged to ask any questions we had. We had booked the hostel but were upgraded to the Continental Park Hotel. When you leave the train station, proceed down the platfrom and you will almost immediately see the sign to your right, Continental Park Hotel. Reception is right up that path.
Our room was really nice with a balcony that overlooked the front grounds, the railway station and some of the Lake. The trains did rattle by at night, but i love the sound of trains, and actually the balcony doors were so soundproof that you could hardly even hear the trains at night.
The room was nice, but the chair at the desk was awkwardly placed so another person could not get by you unless you got up out of your chair and moved - small hassle for a lovely upgrade.
The night of check in we wanted to eat in the dining room. We are not high class travellers dripping with rolexs and diamonds, therefore it seemed, we were very surely greeting by a nasty waiter who asked rudely if we had reservations. We said, no, not knowing or being informed that we needed any. He then very hurriedly placed us at the very end of the dining room, out of view of the rest of the partrons. My husband and both looked at each other and agreed that we would not allow ourselves to be waited on by this very inhospitable individual, we therefore left and had a nice cheap pizza and wine next to the train station, where we were not looked down upon.
The buffet at this establishment was worth every swiss franc that it cost. It had variety like i have never seen before. Everything was delicious and it was difficult to tear ourselves away from it even when we were busting at the seams.
The WC one level down was very impressive as well. Sink right in the WC.Nice touch.
We spent 3 nights here. The grounds are amazing and huge, and the history of the hotel is quite interesting. Herman Hesse stayed here and wrote some part of a book whilst in the hotel.
There is some sort of fenced off area to the side of the hotel where there are many deer that are kept. A lovely big swimming pool in the back, and nice gardens to just wander about in.
Getting to town was easy, either by foot, or by funicular that you catch directly at the train station - cheap ride too.
For both coming and going, it was fantastic having the train station so close by.
Would highly recommend, (except for Mr. Nasty). - but wear your silks and gucci and port your Louis Vuitton purse, you will be fine.
Oh yes, the wifi was great throughout the whole place. So nice when you don't have to hassle a connection. As we were leaving, we were curious as to the hostel part of the place. We wandered over, and one of the staff took us under her wing and gave us an entire tour. showing us several different rooms, and more of the grounds. So kind, and great PR - (the waiter should be taught some PR as well). Sorry to keep on about him, but it added a tone of dissapointment to that evening.

Room Tip: If you do not like the sound of trains, do mention that to the staff when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel

Address: Via Montarina 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Lugano
Hotel Montarina And Backpackers Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.