We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing hostel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Via Montarina 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Most amazing hostel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Me and my friends all agreed that this was the best hostel we had every stayed in! The rooms were comfortable, staff were incredibly friendly, there was a gorgeous pool to lay by, and the location was great. We could not believe what we were paying for this place or that it was a hostel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    55
    28
    4
    8
See reviews for
21
50
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

This was probably the best value for money place that we stayed during out entire trip to Switzerland. We stayed at Montarina for 2 nights.

The place is very conveniently located - less than 5 minutes walk from the train station (take the rear exit and not the main exit - walk left and an uphill road will lead you to to Montarina). The negative on the location is that one has to walk down to the station and take the fulcorne to the main market. Though it takes just 15 minutes to reach the centre of the town, it can be a slight pain at times. However, the place is worth this much of trouble.

We had taken the one of the newer rooms which was very clean and airy. The pool is also quite clean and a treat. The hostel allows pets, which makes it convenient in case one is travelling with pets. The staff was very helpful and co-operative. It never felt for a moment that we were in a hostel. The break-fast too is quite sumptuous considering that its just a hostel.

Overall, we had a trouble free, comfortable and a very good time staying here and would definitely stay at Montarina if we have to visit Lugano again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I liked the room, it was very clean with all you need.
Reception was very helpful and spoke german, english and french.
Location was ok, there are some buildings.
If i go to Lugano, i will stay in this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Hubby and I stayed here for 2 nights in May '11. We got a large dorm room with 16 beds.
Location - very close to the railway station which is a huge plus!
Cleanliness - the hostel was very clean but a couple of co-residents were not - and that could happen at any hostel.
Comfort - the beds were very comfy
Amenities - Wifi was available in the common area. There was a also kitchen (which we didn't use). There were lockers big enough to put your backpacks in, which was very convenient.
Overall, a very good stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed in one of the rooms next to the common room/kitchen without an ensuite. At first we were a bit unsure because we thought it would be noisy at night but the common room is locked from 10pm onwards. The room was large and spacious with a comfy bed, sink, wardrobe and a desk. The bathroom and shower were located on the first floor which is completely fine unless you need to go to the bathroom during the night, there's a lot of stairs to climb!

We really enjoyed staying here and despite being really close to the train station we had no trouble sleeping at all!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here in October, 2011. We got one of the older rooms next to the common room without an en suite bathroom. The price was definitely right and it really helped us that we could make our own meals. There is a common eating are and common kitchen area and they are very clean and the people are generally quite nice. We slept next to the common room which might have been tough except that they close it down by 10:00 pm which is nice. The location isn't great since it's right next to the train station. I would say if you're at all a light sleeping you will NEED EARPLUGS. I slept like a baby with them but without them woke up a lot. The beds are quite comfortable and the rooms are clean. The staff is great and they really helped us out with our questions and requests for information about what to do in the city. There's a swimming pool but the water was freezing since it wasn't heated and it was October. But what do you expect, I guess. I would recommend this place to almost anyone, even families ( we saw many there). Staff speak English, Italian, French and German.

Room Tip: The view from the East side is great with the mountains but the trains are quite loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in an ensuite double with a balcony and lake view. Fantastic bedding which was so comfortable we slept like at home. Room was clean and there was no noise from other rooms nor the trains despite it's proximity - was initially worried as I am a light sleeper. for 130chf a night it was a bargain! There was no wifi in our room but the hotel provided us a cable for a refundable deposit of 20chf.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel

Address: Via Montarina 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Lugano
Hotel Montarina And Backpackers Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.