We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gabbani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Gabbani to your Saves list
Hotel Gabbani
Piazza Cioccaro 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Lugano B&B and Inns
Montreux, Switzerland
2 reviews
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We traveled to Lugano with motorcycles and thought that was great, but we realy hit the wow effect discovering this absolutely charming, inovating, inspyring and cute little hotel in the centre of the old town close to the lake. The rooms are all diferent and are color coordinated with not numbers but names on the doors, I had the CAFFE room and it was very cleverly decorated with an amasing bathroom. I'm a wine lover myself and the restaurant had a wine card that was more like Alibaba's Cavern, anyway depending on your budget you can choose from a very descent merlot to Masseto, Sassicaia, Solaia, Ornellaia, Tignanello, you name it they've got it.
The staff was very friendly and the brakefast buffet was huge.
Falling on such surprises makes travelling sweet.

Room Tip: The hotel was full, so I can only talk about the Caffe room and that defenitly had the wow effect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
23
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel met all our needs in Lugano. We use public transportation and we easily reached the property from the funicular. If you do not find the door or it is closed, you can ask the restaurant - but it is best to go thru the restaurant to catch the elevator. We read reviews that some people felt locked in - we did not feel any problems. Our room did have an outside window, but my sister in law's room did not, and it did not feel bad at all. It met all our requirements: very clean, awesome staff, excellent breakfast, and close to the train station. Only reasons for not giving an excellent were the fact that there was no way to make coffee in the room although when the people were in the office they made us coffee. Other issue is that on Wednesdays the restaurant downstairs provides free snacks with drinks - this resulted in a huge noisy crowd, so if you are traveling on business beware. The staff however was awesome, very helpful with all our activities and most accommodating with our many requests for coffee. Would stay there again without hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

From the moment we arrived, everything was perfect. The father motioned us from the tables outside to follow us into the cafe, passing by some biscuits he passed on each to our daughters. The son, showed us the hotel, with charm and wit - sharing stories of the paintings and making us feel welcome. The meal and wine that night in the restaurant were spectacular. The rooms were incredibly comfortable and clean and tastefully decorated. The girls LOVED bathing in the Rosa room bath - right by the bed and in sight of the TV :-). The location was so central that we could nip back when the girls (3 & 5) were tired, or if we bought something we didn't want to carry around. It made the perfect setting to explore Lugano by and made sure that we would come back again

Room Tip: Both ours and my mother in laws rooms were fantastic. For kids - we took the Rosa suite, complicate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Centrally located in a pedestrian area of Lugano, a very nice boutique hotel. Clean rooms and nothing to complain other than perhaps a night staff service would be an added value for customers. In any case, as far as I am concerned, if around in Lugano again I will return to this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Lima, MG
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Hotel Gabbani is in a quiet pedestrian street close to the funicular to the train station, just a few minutes away from the lake shore. Its room are comfortable, with a somewhat unusual design. The hotel reception is in the first floor, as well as the restaurant where breakfast is served, the ground floor is occupied by a delicatessen. The place sometimes becomes full of people, but the hotel rooms remain quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was totally remodeled in 2012. Each room is named and is of different decor. We stayed in Whisky, room 35, facing the square. The bathroom was incredible in all marble with a large walk in shower and separate free standing modern tub. The bathroom has a separate room with a bidet and the main room is windowed to the square. The bedroom has a large closet with a safe and refrigerator stocked with gratis water and coke products. The bed had duvets and was very comfortable. The hotel is serviced by an elevator entered through the ground floor restaurant and bakery but only when the restaurant is opened. Otherwise access to the street is by stairs. Parking is a 2 minute walk in a public facility, but the hotel can provide a pass and charge for parking. The hotel is a minute walk to the funicular to the train station and in the heart of the old town walking streets. The staff is helpful with luggage. The breakfast is included in the room rate and was ok, but not exceptional.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel Gabbani is in a grey location - very close to the train stations ( by funiculaire) and in the center of the city. The people at the hotel were excellent, however, we had a few complaints.

Our bed only had two skimpy pillows (for 2 people), and no extra pillows or blankets. The Swiss-style comforter was very short - at 5 foot 6 inches, my feet were fully exposed. The bathroom was excellent.

Breakfast is provided in the "deli" on street level. It was quit cool during our stay, and with the temperature in the 50s (f), the doors were open to the deli, and it was downright cold during breakfast. After complaining 2 days in a row, there was finally heat on the 3rd day.

All in all, it's a very nice place to stay. Lugano, and it's people, make it a wonderful place to visit. We had one of the smallest rooms (limone - #23) - maybe the larger rooms are better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gabbani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabbani

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gabbani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gabbani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.