We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay - I want to move in with the family and live there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gabbani

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gabbani to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gabbani
Piazza Cioccaro 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Lugano B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing stay - I want to move in with the family and live there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

From the moment we arrived, everything was perfect. The father motioned us from the tables outside to follow us into the cafe, passing by some biscuits he passed on each to our daughters. The son, showed us the hotel, with charm and wit - sharing stories of the paintings and making us feel welcome. The meal and wine that night in the restaurant were spectacular. The rooms were incredibly comfortable and clean and tastefully decorated. The girls LOVED bathing in the Rosa room bath - right by the bed and in sight of the TV :-). The location was so central that we could nip back when the girls (3 & 5) were tired, or if we bought something we didn't want to carry around. It made the perfect setting to explore Lugano by and made sure that we would come back again

Room Tip: Both ours and my mother in laws rooms were fantastic. For kids - we took the Rosa suite, complicate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
21
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Centrally located in a pedestrian area of Lugano, a very nice boutique hotel. Clean rooms and nothing to complain other than perhaps a night staff service would be an added value for customers. In any case, as far as I am concerned, if around in Lugano again I will return to this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Lima, MG
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Hotel Gabbani is in a quiet pedestrian street close to the funicular to the train station, just a few minutes away from the lake shore. Its room are comfortable, with a somewhat unusual design. The hotel reception is in the first floor, as well as the restaurant where breakfast is served, the ground floor is occupied by a delicatessen. The place sometimes becomes full of people, but the hotel rooms remain quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was totally remodeled in 2012. Each room is named and is of different decor. We stayed in Whisky, room 35, facing the square. The bathroom was incredible in all marble with a large walk in shower and separate free standing modern tub. The bathroom has a separate room with a bidet and the main room is windowed to the square. The bedroom has a large closet with a safe and refrigerator stocked with gratis water and coke products. The bed had duvets and was very comfortable. The hotel is serviced by an elevator entered through the ground floor restaurant and bakery but only when the restaurant is opened. Otherwise access to the street is by stairs. Parking is a 2 minute walk in a public facility, but the hotel can provide a pass and charge for parking. The hotel is a minute walk to the funicular to the train station and in the heart of the old town walking streets. The staff is helpful with luggage. The breakfast is included in the room rate and was ok, but not exceptional.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel Gabbani is in a grey location - very close to the train stations ( by funiculaire) and in the center of the city. The people at the hotel were excellent, however, we had a few complaints.

Our bed only had two skimpy pillows (for 2 people), and no extra pillows or blankets. The Swiss-style comforter was very short - at 5 foot 6 inches, my feet were fully exposed. The bathroom was excellent.

Breakfast is provided in the "deli" on street level. It was quit cool during our stay, and with the temperature in the 50s (f), the doors were open to the deli, and it was downright cold during breakfast. After complaining 2 days in a row, there was finally heat on the 3rd day.

All in all, it's a very nice place to stay. Lugano, and it's people, make it a wonderful place to visit. We had one of the smallest rooms (limone - #23) - maybe the larger rooms are better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We arrived by train and were relieved that we only had to drag our suitcases steps to the funicular at the station and then, a few more steps to the hotel.

This is a renovated hotel in the heart of the walking area. The staff was helpful, the breakfasts were wonderful. The only downside to this well designed and renovated hotel is the lack of natural light in the rooms. The operable windows off the bathroom area opened onto the alley.
For a few days, it was fine. For a longer stay I'd probably like something with more light.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stepping off the funicular from the train station, we found our hotel only steps away in the center of old Lugano. The hotel is on the second floor and entered through a door on the side of the Gabbani restaurant on the bottom floor (also used for the breakfast buffet) or by using the elevator at the back of the restaurant if you have luggage to take up. We had the lime green room. All are very modernistic with clean lines and little cute touches. Looking through the window on the side, we had a view of a skylight with a lime green art-sy apple on the wall. The room had A/C, wi-fi, a spacious marble bath with a walk-in shower, a sink with plenty of space to store your toiletries, free non-alcoholic drinks in a refrigerator, and friendly, helpful people at the reception desk. The breakfast buffet had the usual cereals, yogurt, juices, breads, meats and cheeses. Surrounding the breakfast area were counters of wines, pastas, wheels of cheeses and meats for sale. it was very atmospheric. Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. There is nothing negative to say about this hotel. It exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gabbani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabbani

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gabbani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gabbani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.