We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super boutique/design hotel, will visit again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gabbani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gabbani to your Saves list
Hotel Gabbani
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Piazza Cioccaro 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Lugano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A super boutique/design hotel, will visit again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Hotel Gabbani is located in the center/pedestrian zone of Lugano. Perfect if you're arriving by train. From the train station you take the city funicular (cable car) down the plaza and walk 50m to the hotel entrance. Very charming ambiance, mix of old style with completely new and modern inside. Nice and quiet and a nice walk through town brings you to the lake. Air conditioning for hot summer days. Free WiFi in the rooms. Breakfast was included and what a great breakfast it was. The most delicious fruit salad and a couple of lovely frittatas accompanied the usual breakfast buffet. We enjoyed the hotel restaurant the first night and wished we had gone back again the second night. Great food and reasonable price. Were traveling with a small child and the deluxe double room was the perfect size. Not overly large, but certainly big enough. After all, we weren't in Lugano to spend all our time in the room. The staff and service was good. We only wished we had made some purchases in the gourmet food shop next to the restaurant. It was closed on Sunday, the day we left. Will definitely go again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    26
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
26
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed in Lugano for one night and really enjoyed our stay. Hotel is conveniently located in the center of Lugano with walking distance to everything. Hotel is new and modern with the latest technology. Staff is very knowledgeable and helpful. Breakfast is perfect, fresh pastry, coffee, yogurts, cheeses etc. We loved our stay and will definitely come back!

Room Tip: I recommend room with the window which overlooks the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We came to Lugano just for one night and it was a perfect stay.

Gabbani hotel is located in the very center of Lugano and you can easily get there from the train station either by walk or using funicular.

The lake is literally 3 minutes walk from the hotel.

Each room has an individual name and design. We used to stay in Mozarella room that is completely white. It is a Deluxe room type. They also offer Normale (cheaper), Suite and Suite Deluxe (more expensive) room types.

Windows in the room look out to the atrium.

The bed and linens are very comfortable.

The bathroom is really big and the shower has a "rain" option.

There is a safe and free (!) minibar with water and soda in the room.

Internet is free. I consider it is a must for all hotels in 21st century, but many still charge insane bills for this "extra service" for some strange reasons.

This hotel facility is integrated with other Gabbani businesses nearby, particularly the cafe and the bakery on the ground floor, where you get your breakfast. It is unusual setup, so initially we were a little bit lost. But eventually we got freshly baked croissants with a very good coffee and tea.

Note, that the hotel is closed in the night and there is no staff in, so you should use your room card to get in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This Hotel it seems is run by some brothers who decided to turn an old family property into a Hotel. The Hotel was recently refurbished and most of its installations are very nice and modern. The rooms are very pleasant and they have air conditioning which is really important especially for the rooms in the top floors where the heat accumulates. The price is reasonable for Swiss standards and is perfectly located near the center of Lugano and train station. The Hotel has no real nice views of the lake or anything else, but unless that is what you’re looking for, then it is very much recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stumbled across this small hotel by chance and we're glad we did. It is within a wonderful old red painted building just off Piazza Cioccaro, the small square where the funicular railway line from the station ends and so just next to the Dante Hotel. The steep railway line runs frequently and at the station it goes from just inside the main entrance of the building and is easily missed if no train is in the station. We caught the Bernina Express Bus the next day and from the main station entrance the bus stop is down at the far end of the car park, on the left. So an easy hop via the train from the Gabbani.

The hotel is actually the (very) newly renovated upper floors above the Gabbani store which is a delight in itself; a great mix of a deli, patisserie, cafe and wine cellar. The hotel entrance is a discreet door just past the store front. A set of stairs then leads to the small first floor reception area and bar. On the same floor is a small restaurant but we were there on a holiday and it was closed. Reception was actually closed too when we arrived during the holiday afternoon, but instead we asked in the open cafe/store and they were expecting us. We were then quickly shown upstairs to our room and don't worry there is a modern elevator from the back of the cafe.

All the rooms have both a number and a colour name, with the colour being the highlighted tone of the room. So while the room will be mainly white, primary colour flashes will bring it to life without being overbearing. The rooms differ in sizes and no, there are no views other than over the cobbled streets outside and for some the inner atrium too. But the rooms all seemed to be reasonable size and the bedding seemed great to us, with nice new crisp linen. The bathroom was a good size and really well fitted out for such a small property, we loved the shower. There is a minibar in each room which is complimentary. It was actually empty when we arrived but when we asked about it they quickly put some soft drinks in there.

There is free WiFi throughout the building which worked really well. Breakfast was downstairs in the busy public cafe (from 7-10) and while it was a little hard to get things going, mainly because of the language difference on that particular morning, once we quickly got on the same page wonderful coffee, fresh juices and breads from their own bakery came in abundance.

We stayed there just the one night and we'd happily go again. It is very new and they are still settling in when it comes to running the hotel side. But we would go again and would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: I think the more you pay the bigger the room, but really the whole hotel renovation is so new and fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gabbani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabbani

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gabbani 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gabbani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gabbani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.