We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay in Lucerne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Principe Leopoldo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Principe Leopoldo to your Saves list
Villa Principe Leopoldo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Montalbano 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Check our special offers
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay in Lucerne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

A lovely hotel in a great spot. They kindly upgraded us without us requesting it from a basic room in the Residence to one in the main hotel with a lovely view over the lake, which made our stay all the more enjoyable. Their restaurant is pricey but well worth the money.

Room Tip: Any of the suites in the main hotel overlooking the lake are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    67
    44
    22
    6
See reviews for
59
163
13
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We greatly enjoyed this hotel. It's up on a hill, with lovely views overlooking the lake and bay, which one can enjoy from the restaurant and bar -- where guests gather each evening. The rooms were nicely appointed, nice size, very nice amenities and touches. The service was very friendly. The concierges were very helpful. The only downside is that the hotel is far from the town. The hotel shuttles guests to the town during the day -- but not during the evening. A taxi ride was 20 CHF, not to mention a hassle... the hotel should really continue the service into the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup M, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciated very much your compliments to our staff. It is a pleasure to read that you felt well and comfortable during your holiday.

It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our services and product constantly. Your remarks will be taken into consideration.

We hope you had a good trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you soon back at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards from Lugano,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levallois-Perret, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The reception is excellent, the hospitality is out of this world, the dinner is worth three stars on the Michelin guide scale the site is beautiful, the rooms are extremely well designed and equipped with all the modern necessities.

We had a perfect four nights stay, the car safely parked in the shade and the service really very, very good.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup M, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your appreciated feedback.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Principe Leopoldo and it is a pleasure to read that you felt comfortable during your holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards from Lugano,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I was in Lugano for work, the Residence was in fact a delightful 1 bedroom apartment. Views of hills and trees, very lush and quiet. Bathroom has been renovated and nicely appointed. Large sitting area and desk to work on. We took the short walk to the main hotel for drinks and dinner, oh the view is spectacular. The food and service superb.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup M, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice and appreciated feedback.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Principe Leopoldo and it is a pleasure to read that you felt comfortable during your holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards from Lugano,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one week and it was wonderful experience.
Staff and service at reception and restaurant were very great, very friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner were good also.
In main building you can find better lake view, however secondary residence has cheaper rooms.The room was very spacious and clean with big window, living and bedroom with comfortable bed. However, furniture has older style and I was not impressed with bathroom, it was really simple but had all the toiletries. Spas was closed for renovation too.
There is 2 great pools, beautiful bar and outside dining with amazing view.
Location of this hotel is also good, as you can go easely in the center with shuttle bus or taxi.
I will recomend this hotel for couples or business trips.

Room Tip: would recommend to choose the room in main building with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup M, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our service and product constantly.

It is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope you had a good trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you soon back at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed here on the way to Interlaken. I had read trip advisor and realised many people had been disapointed to find they were booked into the "Residence" which is described as nearby. We were also, however I decided to reserve judgment till we were there.The residence is nearby, about 300meteres and is actually a separate hotel in my opinion. The hotel room we were shown to was actually ok, modern and fresh with plenty space and comfy bed, however the hotel itself feels like a concrete block with rooms. The breakfast was nice and the pool area seemd ok.

If you are expecting to stay at the Villa, beware and check it is the Villa you have booked, if you are expecting the Villa and end up in the Residencia you will be disapointed. The Villa's views are magnificent and it is the hotel with the great setting.

I must say we agree with other reviewers, the Residencia is not what you expect at the price you pay, disapointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup M, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your comment is very much appreciated! Thank you! And thank you also for the positive feedback about our rooms, pool and breakfast area.

As very well explained in your comment, the Residence building is a separate building. The rooms at the Villa have recently been renovated and the structure “Villa” makes further part of Relais & Châteaux. The Residence building, where we offer our Residence Park Rooms, at an average of CHF 200.00 lower priced than the Villa, the makes still part of the whole product Villa Principe Leopoldo.

In the hope you will give us another chance, maybe with a booking at the Villa, we’re all looking forward welcoming you.

Kind regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Excellent staff and service, great breakfast and best dinner meal I have ever had. We had a big room that was clean, great bed, balcony, very comfortable. Very disappointed with the lake view from our lake view room, big trees were blocking, asked about it and they said the trees belonged to the neighbor. I don't understand how a five star hotel cannot take advantage of the lake view. The trees blocked 60% of the view.. 2 great pools, beautiful bar and outside dining with view.

Room Tip: Ask for room that is not blocked by trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup M, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for putting your review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate the fact, that you took the time to leave a comment. First of all we would like to thank you for the compliments given about our service and infrastructure. We will be pleased to forward your lines to our team members.

All reservations in the Villa are confirmed “facing the lake” and yes we have trees in front, which are not on our territory. Although when booking our beautiful and spacious “Lake Suite” the view over the lake is guaranteed.

We hope to welcome you back once again in the Villa Principe Leopoldo and in the meantime wish you a great summer!

Kind regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Principe Leopoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Principe Leopoldo

Address: Via Montalbano 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#5 Business Hotel in Lugano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Principe Leopoldo 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated high above the Bay of Lugano this exceptional boutique hotel offers first-class suites and rooms. The tastefully arranged spacious rooms, the terraces with breathtaking views, two heated outdoor pools, tennis courts and a wide range of facilities leave nothing to be desired. Neither does the exquisite Mediterranean cuisine of Dario Ranza, served in the light-flooded restaurants. Jewel of the hotel is Kiso: a heavenly, exclusive Spa offering unadulterated luxury, privacy and exclusive treatments. Nothing else to be desired - a truly royal feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Escapio, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Principe Leopoldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel And Spa
Hotel Principe Leopoldo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Principe Leopoldo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.