We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good and not so good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Principe Leopoldo

Save Saved
You added Villa Principe Leopoldo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Principe Leopoldo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Montalbano 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fast & Luxury
Ranked #6 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Some good and not so good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent staff and service, great breakfast and best dinner meal I have ever had. We had a big room that was clean, great bed, balcony, very comfortable. Very disappointed with the lake view from our lake view room, big trees were blocking, asked about it and they said the trees belonged to the neighbor. I don't understand how a five star hotel cannot take advantage of the lake view. The trees blocked 60% of the view.. 2 great pools, beautiful bar and outside dining with view.

Room Tip: Ask for room that is not blocked by trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup M, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for putting your review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate the fact, that you took the time to leave a comment. First of all we would like to thank you for the compliments given about our service and infrastructure. We will be pleased to forward your lines to our team members.

All reservations in the Villa are confirmed “facing the lake” and yes we have trees in front, which are not on our territory. Although when booking our beautiful and spacious “Lake Suite” the view over the lake is guaranteed.

We hope to welcome you back once again in the Villa Principe Leopoldo and in the meantime wish you a great summer!

Kind regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    56
    37
    19
    5
See reviews for
53
134
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Celerina, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We looked forward to finally coming here having heard many good things so we had high expectations. Upon arrival we were unceremoniously advised that we were at the wrong entrance and had to go to the residences in the back. Our room wasn't ready so we decided to have lunch at the garden restaurant which was very nice both food and service wise. The residence part of the hotel does not have any view to the lake which was a bit disappointing but we enjoyed the pool area and warm climate anyway.
The room was very spacious but there was a lack of comfort to it (no pillows on sofa, hard mattress) and what we found very surprising, the very tight shower/bathtub. The regulator comes out quite far which in a narrow bathtub made it quite hard to shower properly plus the lack of shower curtain resulted in this adventurous shower to flood half of the bathroom. Fun!
Some of the wall corners had damages which were clearly visible and the AC was so loud we never used it. The flatscreen TV resolution was quite bad as well but perhaps this could be the reception on the mountain?
At breakfast we were sent away due to lack of space as the outside area was closed as it rained before and everything was still wet. This was surprising as the weather was fine and there was no room inside to accommodate all guests. Other guests wanted to eat outside as well and we were all advised to wait in our room until availability was here. I felt sorry for the staff which were doing a great job and stayed friendly and accommodating as best they could in this situation however it occured to none of them that perhaps if they would wipe down the affected outside areas quickly the space issue would be solved.
The hotel itself has a lot of visible history which is nice but the hardware is in desperate need of renovation. I could see how it used to be one of THE hotels in its day but this I am sorry to say is simply not the case anymore.

Room Tip: Try and stay at the main hotel not the residence area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadia R, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time you took to write the review. It is of our utmost importance to know what our guests think of our product and service. Further we would like to thank you for the positive feedback given to our Restaurant Café Leopoldo at the Residence. We indeed appreciate the fact to hear that quality of food and service were up to your expectations and will share it with pleasure with the team!
We will not enter in each comment about the infrastructure of the Residence. Renovations are in discussion and projects are being developed and carefully analyzed.
If you plan to visit us again in future, we suggest to have a look at the rooms in the Villa building. The rooms have been recently renovated and our Lake Suites even have full lake view! Our beautiful and spacious Junior Suites are facing the lake (no full lake view!) and would be an option in a lower category.
Your remark about our breakfast service and its organization was topic in our weekly held management meeting. In future we will stress on the fact that as soon as the weather conditions permit we will serve breakfast outside.
Thank you again for having commented our property and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I guess some travellers and visitors to this hotel , when writing their reviews, were referring to the annex and not to the main villa which has a limited number of rooms. My review concerns the Villa which is indeed excellent and the lake views are superb. The service is excellent with a keen eye on the details ... The lounges and restaurant are excellent too and provide a real relaxing atmosphere....

Room Tip: Stay at the main Villa..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Villa Principe Leopoldo. It’s a pleasure to know that you felt comfortable during your holiday.
We appreciated your precious comments regarding our service, restaurant and bar lounge.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We booked this hotel through Booking.com and the photos that they provide in their advertisement are deliberately misleading. Many photos shown are from the Villa, which is a kind of a horseshoe shaped building in a separate area. The Villa is super nice, but obviously intended only for the ultra rich. By contrast, the Residence (where you would most likely be staying) is more run-of-the-mill and lacks the lake and mountain views. In fact, their notion of a "Garden View" really turns out to be "Sunlight Free Car Park View".

For my real gripe though, when we got into the room and the first thing I noticed was was that the balcony stated in the advertisement did not exist. Now, my partner and I always look for a hotel with a balcony, because it is kind of our tradition to sit out there in the evening and enjoy our dinner together with a good glass of wine. Well, the balcony was actually just a safety rail. So I complained and they moved us to another room - again no balcony. I repeated my complaint and immediately started to feel the agitation of the concierge. Turns out, they don't actually have balconies. There was no real compensation for the misleading advertisement, or troubles, and nothing I would consider as an apology. All I can say here, is be very weary of their advertising. For the record, the advertisement I read was as follows "This stylishly decorated and air-conditioned room comprises a balcony and offers a garden..."

Breakfast was good quality and the service was excellent from these staff. The only downside is that they didn't have any eggs on offer. Room service staff were also very nice and do their jobs with a high level of competency. Honestly, they put the service of the concierge desk to shame. Which brings me to the concierge desk - they took 15 minutes to do my check out!

I guess if you're rich, don't really care about your money at those prices, and can easily overlook things, this hotel is fine. If you're not this type of person, then I recommend any number of other hotels in the region as better alternatives. In all cases though, beware, they do mislead in their ads.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Mrs. Kate M,

To begin with, we feel very sorry that you were disappointed with the room and that we were unable to accommodate you in a room with a balcony. We really appreciate your comment and the fact that you took the time to write it. In order to serve our high demanding clientele, it gives us the possibility to improve continuously our services. Further we would like to thank you for the compliments given to our room service and breakfast team. You mentioned there were no eggs on the buffet, though we have freshly made scrambled, boiled eggs and bacon on our daily breakfast buffet. Other items like fried eggs or omelets can be ordered at a cost.
You were absolutely right, that in the description of the Residence Park Rooms in the annex building, which you booked over booking.com, the balcony was mentioned. Thanks to your comment we immediately took it off and amended the description on booking.com. Fact is that, we only have a few rooms with balcony, but unfortunately these rooms were not available that night. The receptionist did his best to accommodate you in another room, which you eventually did not accept.
Have you tried to book a room at the Villa, which makes part of Relais & Châteaux? In this building all Junior Suites have a large balcony. From some of them you can even see the lake of Lugano! At the moment these rooms run at very high rates but in pre and post season the Junior Suites can be booked as low as CHF 540.00 per night including breakfast! A further 10% discount can be made when booking the restricted rate (nonrefundable).
In the hope that you will give us another chance, we would like to thank you again for your remarks and are looking forward welcoming you back to the Villa Principe Leopoldo Lugano.

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Callao, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed in this hotel just for one day, but it was incredibly wonderful, the suite was just perfect with a beautiful lake view. The breakfast area is lovely and highly enjoyable. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive feedback and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards from Lugano,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I have stayed at Villa Principe Leopold for only one night. It is a very beautiful hotel, with impeccable decor and taste. I was very pleased and felt wonderful.

The front desk attendee was very polite and quick with the checking in. Also, paid attention and gave us rooms one next to the other (not all hotels do this, except at request).

The room was very spacious with a huge and comfortable bed. Everything was very clean, from the bathroom - very big, with everything you need, all the toiletries.

The breakfast was splendid, delicious food and various.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice and appreciated feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to read that you spent such a wonderful time with us and that we exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards from Lugano,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I had a similar experience to Therooster. When I reserved our room per phone and they suggested a choice of three different rooms: a junior suite with lake view, a room with garden view and a room at the residence.

They made it seem that there was no big difference between the villa and the residence. Therefore, we chose the room at the residence. But when we arrived at the villa to check in, they informed us that we needed to go to do the check in in the residence on the other side of road and no one to help with the luggage.

Once there, it turns out the residence is a totally different hotel (in style, quality, in service offered, etc.). For example, we were shocked that there was no room service in the residence or no restaurant, due to the low season. The decoration of the residence is straight weird: a bizarre ancient roman theme that gave us a bit the creeps. The fact that the hotel seemed empty didn't help. The room in the residence was rather good, large and clean, but a bit in an older style. May need a renovation in some years.

After couple minutes in the room, we decided to go change rooms and upgrade to the villa. It was rather costly but we didn't regret it for a second. We got a junior suite with lake view. The room as big, comfortable, clean and the view was PHENOMENAL. Two negative points: the breakfast (which was included) was very simple for a 5 star hotel and the overall price was really very high. Service is good, but you could even expect more for the price you pay.

The residence should not be at all associated with the villa: the difference of quality and services being so big. Or at least clearly announce it when the reservation is done. It is pretty scandalous.

Therefore, if I have to rate the hotel as a whole (villa and residence) is get only 3 out of 5. If I should rate the villa alone: 4 out of 5 (minus point for value).

Room Tip: Do not take a room in the residence: only the villa (and if you can afford it: with lake view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our services and product constantly.

We are happy to read that you spent a great time with us.

We hope you had a good trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you soon back at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Principe Leopoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Principe Leopoldo

Address: Via Montalbano 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#3 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#5 Business Hotel in Lugano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Principe Leopoldo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated high above the Bay of Lugano this exceptional boutique hotel offers first-class suites and rooms. The tastefully arranged spacious rooms, the terraces with breathtaking views, two heated outdoor pools, tennis courts and a wide range of facilities leave nothing to be desired. Neither does the exquisite Mediterranean cuisine of Dario Ranza, served in the light-flooded restaurants. Jewel of the hotel is Kiso: a heavenly, exclusive Spa offering unadulterated luxury, privacy and exclusive treatments. Nothing else to be desired - a truly royal feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Escapio, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Villa Principe Leopoldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel And Spa
Hotel Principe Leopoldo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Principe Leopoldo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.