We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful and lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Principe Leopoldo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Principe Leopoldo to your Saves list
Villa Principe Leopoldo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Montalbano 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fast & Luxury
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very beautiful and lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I have stayed at Villa Principe Leopold for only one night. It is a very beautiful hotel, with impeccable decor and taste. I was very pleased and felt wonderful.

The front desk attendee was very polite and quick with the checking in. Also, paid attention and gave us rooms one next to the other (not all hotels do this, except at request).

The room was very spacious with a huge and comfortable bed. Everything was very clean, from the bathroom - very big, with everything you need, all the toiletries.

The breakfast was splendid, delicious food and various.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice and appreciated feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to read that you spent such a wonderful time with us and that we exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards from Lugano,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    63
    41
    19
    6
See reviews for
55
152
12
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I had a similar experience to Therooster. When I reserved our room per phone and they suggested a choice of three different rooms: a junior suite with lake view, a room with garden view and a room at the residence.

They made it seem that there was no big difference between the villa and the residence. Therefore, we chose the room at the residence. But when we arrived at the villa to check in, they informed us that we needed to go to do the check in in the residence on the other side of road and no one to help with the luggage.

Once there, it turns out the residence is a totally different hotel (in style, quality, in service offered, etc.). For example, we were shocked that there was no room service in the residence or no restaurant, due to the low season. The decoration of the residence is straight weird: a bizarre ancient roman theme that gave us a bit the creeps. The fact that the hotel seemed empty didn't help. The room in the residence was rather good, large and clean, but a bit in an older style. May need a renovation in some years.

After couple minutes in the room, we decided to go change rooms and upgrade to the villa. It was rather costly but we didn't regret it for a second. We got a junior suite with lake view. The room as big, comfortable, clean and the view was PHENOMENAL. Two negative points: the breakfast (which was included) was very simple for a 5 star hotel and the overall price was really very high. Service is good, but you could even expect more for the price you pay.

The residence should not be at all associated with the villa: the difference of quality and services being so big. Or at least clearly announce it when the reservation is done. It is pretty scandalous.

Therefore, if I have to rate the hotel as a whole (villa and residence) is get only 3 out of 5. If I should rate the villa alone: 4 out of 5 (minus point for value).

Room Tip: Do not take a room in the residence: only the villa (and if you can afford it: with lake view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our services and product constantly.

We are happy to read that you spent a great time with us.

We hope you had a good trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you soon back at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Everything was just superb from the personalized attention, polite staff that went out of their way to accommodate, to the decor and warmth of the place. Food at both restaurants was fantastic, especially the desserts!! I had the set of 6 assorted desserts twice in 5 days.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Principe Leopoldo and it is a pleasure to read that you felt very well during your holiday. We appreciated your precious comment regarding our gourmet restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards from Lugano,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed here for five nights in January, with the family. The good points first:

- a good location overall especially if accessed by car
- nice views from the main hotel
- good comfortable sleep
- great piano bar in the evening with excellent music and food
- food overall was quite good
- services such as check-in and out were quick, professional and courteous.
- staff were generally patient and kind with young children.
- free wifi internet

Now the bad points:

- the place has a main building and a separate one across the road. I didn't know that when I booked and I was out in the inferior building across the road. No one offered to help me when I went to check in in the wrong place, and the walk between the main hotel and the inferior annex is about 300 or so metres with no shelter. I continuously had to go from one place to the other in the snow, rain, or whatever.
- there was no room service whatsoever in the building I was in. I couldn't even get a drink. I asked if food from the restaurant in the main building could be brought to me at a cost, and no, they couldn't even do that. How many stars does this place have? And no room service whatsoever? What a joke. So out we went in the rain to he main building to have a meal...
- the pool is outside, so closed during the winter season. How can this place claim they have spa services, when the pool, the most basic of such services, is unavailable?

Overall, this was a disappointment. Particularly the food situation. It's unacceptable for the kind of money they charge. Also, they should be a lot clearer a it differences in the standard of service between the two parts of the hotel. Actually, the annex shouldn't even share the same name as the main hotel. Not only is it deceptive, but it's also bad for their brand in my view.

I would recommend this place for a meal or a piano bar evening. But I wouldn't recommend it for its accommodation.

Room Tip: Avoid the inferior separate building across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel is in a gorgeous location and has perfefect views .

If you are able though I recomend that you ask to stay in the main hotel , there is n annex which is most disapointing .



Service and food is good but not stunning .


More of a short holiday retreat than a bussiness location .

Good hotel if you have time for a little of both .

Room Tip: Suggest you request rooms in the main bulding only
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our services and product constantly.
We are happy to read that you spent a great time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you soon back at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Excellent setting, friendly staff, great rooms and the restaurant was just perfect
Best club sandwich I ever had I'll be back soonI was in Lugano with my wife just to relax a little.
We stayed in the main building in the villa, the rooms are very nice and big. The staff is very friendly specially in the restaurant and the reception also in housekeeping they were very helpful. The hotel is overlooking the city and the lake. I imagine how nice it can be in spring or summertime. bye bye see you soon.....

Room Tip: If you want to make it perfect book a junior suite in the villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your fantastic feedback on Tripadvisor. It is a great satisfaction to read that you spent a great time with us.

We hope you had a good trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you soon back at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

So we booked the hotel through booking.com which had a great deal during the off season (November). We figured, “Lets stay one night on the weekend to see this normally expensively priced property”. Not surprisingly we booked a room in the annex (Dependance) a building across the road, with no view.
Anyways, the main disappointment came when they showed us a room that stank of cigarettes. We informed the staff member right away that we specifically indicated a non-smoking preference during the booking. So next, we were shown another room, which was less stinky, and were told that there are no "non-smoking" rooms in the building, because clients just don’t listen and smoke, and there is nothing that can be done!
So either we were blatantly lied to, or this is just a joke of a hotel that claims 5 stars only because they have fake marble busts of some Greek gods in the hallways (made of tin cans I presume).
That’s all I have to say about this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for having taken the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor; every feedback we receive is highly appreciated and helps us to constantly improve our services. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not having met your expectations.

All your comments have been taken seriously into consideration and will be discussed further with the Management to avoid any repetition.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure welcoming you again.

Best regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Principe Leopoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Principe Leopoldo

Address: Via Montalbano 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#3 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#5 Business Hotel in Lugano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Principe Leopoldo 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated high above the Bay of Lugano this exceptional boutique hotel offers first-class suites and rooms. The tastefully arranged spacious rooms, the terraces with breathtaking views, two heated outdoor pools, tennis courts and a wide range of facilities leave nothing to be desired. Neither does the exquisite Mediterranean cuisine of Dario Ranza, served in the light-flooded restaurants. Jewel of the hotel is Kiso: a heavenly, exclusive Spa offering unadulterated luxury, privacy and exclusive treatments. Nothing else to be desired - a truly royal feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Escapio, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Principe Leopoldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel And Spa
Hotel Principe Leopoldo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Principe Leopoldo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.