We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as advertised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Principe Leopoldo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Principe Leopoldo to your Saves list
Villa Principe Leopoldo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Montalbano 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fast & Luxury
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just as advertised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Did not stay there but had dinner in the dining room and it was a very positive experience!! The service was great the menu and food was five star. You get what you pay for but make sure you bring your credit card with you. If you have a choice make sure to sit outside, we couldn't, but the view of the region is gorgeous!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for visiting our Restaurant- especially if you have not been guest in our Hotel. We always appreciate if customer from outside are making the extra effort to give us a visit.
It was a great pleasure having you with us and we are proud that we have been able to fulfill your expectation.

Looking forward welcoming you again- maybe than as well for a luxury overnight stay at
VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    67
    43
    21
    6
See reviews for
59
158
13
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neuchâtel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Room :
Petite suite
Huge place / very clean / miss maybe a small welcome chocolate on the pillow ...
Front desk :
Not friendly
Restaurant:
Try the restaurant in the "residence", and was very nice food waiters are very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel & SPA.
We appreciate all feedback and comments but are especially Thankful for your recommendation of our Cafe Leopoldo.

Of course we have also noted that our Reception Team has not reached your expectations, which we apologies for.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you here again and that time we will certainly be able to fulfill our your needs and requirements.

Kind regards


VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights and it was fabulous.
The room was a junior suit. Big and with a nice terrace where we did enjoy some drinks at sunset.
The toilet were separated from the bathroom which is always appreciated.
The restaurant has an amazing view and serves top quality dishes. I am wondering why it hasnt got a star michelin yet... So tasty and beautiful. The service was perfect and friendly.
The breakfast was pretty poor for a relais and châteaux category.
The outdoor pool is nice and surrounded by a garden.
I didnt try the spa as I found it way too expensive.
Nice hotel, I would recomend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear guest, Gruezi Sam!

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review here on Tripadvisor and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your comments are highly appreciated and we have forwarded them internally also in order to share your recommendations, e.g. for the improvement of the breakfast buffet.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure to see you soon again and with that you might be able to see the first changes.

Best regards


VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for the 6th time at this luxury hotel and still enjoyed it enormously. Rooms are stylish and spacious. The main restaurant has one of the most beautiful views in the world overlooking the lake. The food is excellent and the wine list is very extensive but too pricey. This time a new crew in the restaurant was not (yet) of the high standard of the previous one. Breakfast was good except for poor quality, not fresh juices.
The pool and garden at the Residence (preferable to the main hotel) are fabulous and ideal to relax.
Upon our return home we were called about an incorrect invoice that we had not yet noticed. reimbursement was made immediate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay and review here on Tripadvisor. It is always a big pleasure to have you as our guest and as more we appologise for the invoice mistake at the end of your stay.

Our repeating customers and especially their feedback are most valuable for us and will forward this to all relevant departments for discussion.

Looking forward seeing you soon again.

Yours truly

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Villa Principe is a lovely, reasonably small hotel in a beautiful setting. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are modern and luxuriously comfortable and the facilities are excellent. We enjoyed eating on the terrace and in the bar (good food and an excellent choice of wines), relaxing by the pretty sheltered pool and being pampered in the spa. It's a great place for a break and (when we can next afford it!) we'll be very happy to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting your review here and we are pleased to read, that you enjoy your time in the Villa more than your accomodation at the Residence.

We have forwarded your comments as well to our employees who of course always highly appreciate some nice words.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is going to be a good review with, in our opinion, a very big 'but...'.
We spent some time at reception on arrival while the slightly stressed receptionist tried (without success) to sort out a muddle over our restaurant bookings in the hotel. We were then given our key but only shown to our room when we asked where it was. The Residence Park room was large (bedroom, bathoroom, hall and sitting room - more like a two room appartment without kitchen) and well appointed as one might expect from a five star hotel. Our only criticism of the interior would be that the sink was cracked and the bathroom overall would benefit from renovation. We were surprised that the access to the second floor room was via an external covered corridor with high walls and a heavy door leading into the very small courtyard in front of the room. We were disappointed by the views from the windows. From the bedroom it was impossible to see anything but the courtyard wall without craning one's neck for a glimpse of the sky while the sitting room overlooked the car park and entrance drive with some trees behind. The impression, for us, was therefore not of a five star hotel but more of a small (very-well appointed) appartment in an up-market housing project - it lacked soul.
The interior of the Residence's Café Leopoldo restaurant was uninspiring - the impression was of an overlit breakfast room which indeed it was in the morning. It did however have a nice terrace which would be lovely on a summer evening. We didn't eat there (because of the muddle) but were happy not to do so.
The main advantage of the Residence is that it is less expensive (not cheap) than the Villa while allowing access to all the facilities of the excellent Villa. Even so I wouldn't choose to stay in the Residence again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay with us at the Residence Leopoldo Hotel.

We understand that the Decor and Situation of the Residence is certainly very different to the Villa even more we are glad that you tried all facilities of our Hotel.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure welcoming you again in the summer season, where you could enjoy our outdoor facilities even more. Especially the Residence has a fantastic garden and outdoor Pool.

Kind regards

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

After spending 6 weeks in Europe in 5 stars hotels we came here. I had been at the Leopoldo 9 years before and had found it to be lovely, but now in 2012 it is a tired property in need of a major overhaul.

The location is fantastic, with great views over lake Lugano, but I wish the rooms were updated and refurbished with the quality of fabrics and details one expects from a 5 star hotel. It is not. Management should look at the decor with a critical eye, and do the needful. Our room could have been stunning, instead the sofas were dirty, the fabrics worn, the rug should be given to charity, and the furniture gone to the dump. What a shame to let this gorgeous place get to dated. The food in the restaurant was mediocre, apart from the appetizer and the service indifferent. Again, with the right management this property could be amazing.
My husband and I decided last night that relais and chateaux endorsement is no longer valid or worse acknowledging for us. In this trip, we stayed in 2 of their properties and both had much in common, tired and dated.
In contrast 4 seasons chain continues to deliver on its promise of lovely properties, with stunning decor and amazing service.
We travel 5 months a year and expect the best when we spend our money.

Overall truly disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Geschäftsführer at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review and we are honored that you have chosen our Hotel as part of your extended Holiday throughout Europe .

Even more we are sad to read here, that we have not been able to reach your expectations and even more that we did not had a chance to meet personally during your stay to understand your needs and wishes so we could have replied and reacted directly in order to make the most of your stay with us.

Of course we take all comments seriously and will forward this to the relevant departments. As the rooms at the VILLA have been renovated 2 years ago we would not expect this impression about the conditions.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any additional comments you would like to make, it would be my greatest pleasure to see this personally togehter.

Yours faithfully

Reto Stöckenius
VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Principe Leopoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Principe Leopoldo

Address: Via Montalbano 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#5 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Principe Leopoldo 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated high above the Bay of Lugano this exceptional boutique hotel offers first-class suites and rooms. The tastefully arranged spacious rooms, the terraces with breathtaking views, two heated outdoor pools, tennis courts and a wide range of facilities leave nothing to be desired. Neither does the exquisite Mediterranean cuisine of Dario Ranza, served in the light-flooded restaurants. Jewel of the hotel is Kiso: a heavenly, exclusive Spa offering unadulterated luxury, privacy and exclusive treatments. Nothing else to be desired - a truly royal feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Escapio, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Principe Leopoldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel And Spa
Hotel Principe Leopoldo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Principe Leopoldo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.