We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Lugano Paradiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Lugano Paradiso to your Saves list
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale San Salvatore 11, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 Swiss Franc offer
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    164
    38
    14
    10
See reviews for
121
100
8
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

As we were used to ageing Novotels in France, we had the great surprise to discover at last a modern and comfortable Novotel in Lugano. The access from the motorway, arriving from Zurich, is very easy and the hotel has a large undeground parking (helpful, as parking space in the streets is very limited).

The staff at the reception was very helpful, explaining in detail the specificities of our room, the hotel and the surroundings. Indeed, our room was well equiped with modern furniture and a nice looking bathroom.

The restaurant is of good quality for breakfast and dinner, and has a large terrace for warm evenings. Service is swift and friendly, even when the morning buffet was overcrowded.

Equipment is also great with a large swimming pool, great for cooling down after a walk in nearby Lugano. The only negative point, in my opinion, is the very tiny fitness center which is packed with equipment.

The location is also very convenient, as you can walk down to the lake and from there either take a ferry or walk to the city center.

We will definitely come back, taking more time to discover charming Ticino.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Manager at Novotel Lugano Paradiso, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Mr. Allemand, We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed your stay at the Novotel Lugano Paradiso. Your satisfaction is a real reward for us ! We would be more than pleased to welcome you and your Family soon back in Lugano ! Best regards,
Christian Schreiner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Super hotel one street back from lake, with pool and modern decor, very upmarket for Novotel. Staff friendly and very helpful, great bathrooms to and very near the cable car.

Breakfast buffet good and having a pool on site a great asset with children in tow.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRoland, Manager at Novotel Lugano Paradiso, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Guest bumbleroxy,

It’s a pleasure to read that our convenient location and the quality of our facilities (for example the outdoor pool, the new disigned bathrooms) as well as the congeniality of our staff made for a great stay. We thank you for having taken the time to share this post with us and hope to have soon again the pleasure of welcoming you and your family.

Christian ROLAND
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My family and I took a trip around Switzerland and fortunately this was the first place we checked in at. The hotel is excellent: spacious and modern rooms, friendly staff and other conveniences. In addition, it is really well located and you get around the city downtown quite easily. Its surroundings are beautiful and nice to walk around for some sightseeing. Totally recommend this place!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Manager at Novotel Lugano Paradiso, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest ,

How wonderful to read your kind review posted on TripAdvisor, and we are thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your first overnight stay of your summer Tour to Switzerland with us at Novotel Lugano Paradiso.

To have any of our guests say that we meet their expectations, and that they would not hesitate to come back again, is the best compliment one could hope for in this business.

Please be assured your beautiful comments were shared with our Team, as it is a great source of motivation and encouragement to all of us.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you soon in Lugano Paradiso.
Wishing you and your Family a nice Trip to Switzerland.

Kind regards
Christian Schreiner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Had the pleasure to spend our family trip in the Novotel in Lugano Paradiso.
The hotel is located in walking distance from the railway station (10min), in proximity of the Funicular (Monte San Salvatore) and close to the lake. This is definitely a plus travelling with two kids below 5 years.
The room was spacious, clean and modern/stylish in design. The welcome was warm and heartly! Anna L. (reception) is truly a committed host/angel. (Thanks!). The breakfast buffet had a stunning variety and the service was simply great.
In a nut shell the entire family enjoyed it! We are sad because of one thing…the stay was too short.
This hotel is definitely worth a shot and we will be back soon.
Thanks,
Fam. K (room 333/03Aug14)

Room Tip: e.g. 333 that's the side facing the lake/pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Manager at Novotel Lugano Paradiso, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Caro Jimmy K,
thank you very much for staying at the Novotel Lugano Paradiso and for taking the time to write this feedback.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as we have committed ourselves to make you feel at home while away.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will be happy to pass your feedback over to my team, espacially to Anna and to our Breakfast -Team of course .
Dear Jimmy K, once again, thank you very much for your comments and we would be pleased to welcoming you back to the Novotel Lugano Paradiso,
Tanti Saluti
Christian Schreiner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beringen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The infrastructure is very accommodating and modern. New building, beautiful bathroom, etc
When we booked we requested a child bed for our 5 month old daughter. When we arrived in the room a sofa bed was made up for her. So I requested the reception for baby bed as this is safer and customary. So far no problem....
When the gentlemen from the reception delivered the baby bed to the room, he was very unhelpful. Basically trying to dump the baby bed in the doorway and leave as quickly as possible.
Due to the fact that the sofa bed was opened there was no not enough space in the room to accommodate the baby bed. So I asked if it was possible to remove the bedding and fold close the sofa bed. The one minute task took more moaning and sighs than imaginable, as if I was on the set of Fawlty Towers... We felt very unwelcome after a long day of traveling and personally insulted. We very politely and humbly requested a very simple service....

We fully appreciate Lugano is an expensive city. Nevertheless when the total bill for a room and two breakfasts totals 250 euro, breakfast can not be disappointing! The breakfast room is designed for swift in and out service and not cosy enough for that extra cup of coffee in the morning. The quality of the food was below average. We could not undue ourselves of the impression that the products were of very low quality: cold cuts, warm sausages etc. Even the pancakes were tasteless and moreover were only baked on one side. How disappointing can it be?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Manager at Novotel Lugano Paradiso, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Lugano Paradiso. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We are glad that the infrastructures; the rooms and the building meet your expectation and be insure that our main goal is to provide the best service for all our guest day by day.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Looking forward to welcome you soon again we remain with
Kind regards
Christian Schreiner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 43 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#21 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lugano Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lugano Paradiso

Address: Viale San Salvatore 11, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lugano Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Lugano Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Lugano Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.