We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Lugano Paradiso

Save Saved
You added Novotel Lugano Paradiso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale San Salvatore 11 | Lugano Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #17 of 42 hotels in Lugano
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at Novotel Lugano for 5 nights and felt totally taken care of.

The location of the hotel is convenient and is about a 10 minutes walk from the lake and about 15-20 minutes walk to the city centre (shops and restaurants) and a 15 minute (bus/ taxi ride) to the central station.

The team at the reception is very good and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and would like to make special mention of Anna who was very helpful. The team at the restaurant was also courteous at all times.

The room is good with all the basic amenities. The only minus here is the lack of privacy in the bathroom, as the room and the bathroom are separated by a glass partition. Okay, we got used to it by the end of the stay - but was a shocker for us on day one.

We would definitely stay at Novotel on our next visit to Lugano.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Manager at Novotel Lugano Paradiso, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear TravMumba Guets,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your stay.
We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay with us. I shared your comments with the Team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfay your needs and your expectations. Concerning the glas from the bathroom to the room there is a buttom where you can obscure the glas to get perfect intimity. Positiv feedback from satisfaid guests is our greatest reward-thank you! we look to welcome you again at Novotel Lugano-Pradiso
Kindest regards
Christian Schreiner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    113
    36
    12
    8
See reviews for
91
75
5
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This Novotel is in a new building in the Paradiso area of Lugano. It is a short walk to the lake but has no view. We stayed over a busy weekend. There was not enough room at the pool and there were waits for breakfast tables. The rooms were clean and modern as you expect from the newer Novotels. Unfortunately, the experience was ruined by poor guest service. maybe they were stressed due to the crowds, but the experience was negative from the servers to the managers. We moved a few blocks to one of the hotels with lake views and were much more happy. There are too many options in Lugano to put up with poor service

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Manager at Novotel Lugano Paradiso, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Mr. Nobel, we thank you for taking the time to post this comment. We are sorry to read that your sojourn in our hotel was not as satisfying as you expect. We never relent in our quest to excellence and we shall review the issues you depicted so to better ourselves even more. We like to mansion that our hotel have well lake side view rooms. We hope nevertheless to have again,soon,the pleasure of welcoming you.
Kind regards
Christian Schreiner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Because I check Tripadvisor before booking I rarely have really bad travel experiences anymore. Check my other reviews and you'll find they are overwhelmingly positive. But I just had the most bizarre and disturbing incident ever, anywhere, at the Lugano Novotel.

We picked this hotel because it advertised a pool--something our kids love. We checked in and went swimming the day we arrived. We were never approached by any wait staff and offered beverages. The following day we brought our own beverages.

When we arrivied mid-morning all of the poolside lounges were occupied so we sat at a table next to the pool area so we could keep an eye on our two children who were swimming. We were approached by a waitress and told we were sitting in the restaurant and would have to move because we brought our own beverages. I thought this was absurd as it was not a meal time, the restaurant was practically empty, the table we sat was not even set with placemats or cutlery--but most of all, I wanted to be near the pool to keep an eye on my kids.

I asked to speak to a manager. It was an older woman with white hair. She was confusing. First she quizzed me about the beverages, then she said we could stay, then she quizzed me more about the beverages, then my husband questioned her and she departed. Then a man approached our table, also older, did not identify himself, told us to pack our bags and leave or he would call the police. I asked on what charge. He said no charge, but he could and would do it. He then told my husband that in Switzerland if a patron doesn't do what they are told a hotel could call the police and have them ejected. My husband tried to talk to him but I decided it was futile, and I was now so creeped out I didn't want to stay there. We decided to leave.

At check out the older man asked my husband to reconsider and said this was all a misunderstanding. I decided these people were crazy and their behavior frightening. Really, threatened with calling the police because I brought a Coke Zero to the pool and then questioned the rule about where I could drink it. There is a serious lack of common sense and customer service at this property.

I informed the older man that I would be contacting Novotel customer service as well as posting to TripAdvisor and he dismissively waved me off. I have no doubt his story will depart radically from mine, but I stand by mine. I really wanted to like this place because it is new and clean. The location is not so good--not in town and no lake view. The dinner our first night was better than expected but the breakfast buffet was not very good--some nice breads but the eggs and the pancakes were not just bad but inedible, seriously. I suppose if you had no run-ins with management you might have a nice stay. But this incident was so extraordinary that I felt compelled to report it--both to the Tripadvisor community and to the Novotel company.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Manager at Novotel Lugano Paradiso, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Ms Noble,
we thank you for taking the time to post after your husband Mr. Noble your point of view of the situation. Unfurtunatly we have been contrain to ask you to leave the Hotel after the rude verbal attack of Mr. Noble to two of our female Staff members. We regret the incident and remain with
best regards
Christian Schreiner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

It is a nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff, the room is spacious for us as a family of 4 (2 adults & with 2 young kids), very convenient location and the train station is within mins away except that if you do not have many big luggages and kids on tow.
Else everything is perfect.

When going to the hotel from train station is fine because carrying all the luggages down the flight of stairs is easier and it is going down slope to the hotel.

But going to the train station from hotel, it will be up slope and have to carry all the luggages to walk up so many flight of stairs to reach the train station is pretty tough. We are lucky that we didn't go through the ordeal on the day of our departure as it was raining so we took a cab to the main train station at LUGANO.

We definitely will still choose this hotel again as it is located at a very convenient location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Manager at Novotel Lugano Paradiso, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Ms Diana,
thank you for taking time to give us your feed-back about your stay with us.
We appreciate very much your positive comments and be assured that we will share it with our Team. As you know positive feedback from satisfied guests are our greatest reward for that thank you very much. My team as so as myself will enjoy to welcome you soon at Lugano-Paradiso.
Kind regards
Christian Schreiner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Within walking distance to the docks and lakefront, this is a lovely hotel in a lovely, but expensive, city. The rain shower is especially nice and the room was quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Manager at Novotel Lugano Paradiso, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Mr. Lawrence,
many thank for your feed-back and the time you have take to give your impressions of our hotel.
Positiv feeback from satisfy clients is our greatest reward thank you for that.
We look to welcoming you soon in Lugano Paradiso
Sunny regards
Christian Schreiner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The hotel is okay, for a 4 star a bit expensive.

Restaurant and Brunch Buffet is completely disappointing.
Service is bad, Croissants and bred were hard and tasted like from yesterday.
Apple-Pie was on buffet, but not cuted.
We ordered twice a Cappucino, Service-Boy brought us twice a milk-coffee.
My wife had a fork and knife on the table, me not. I had to stand up and get it by myself.

I've tried to give Feedback to the German Hotel-Manager on this.
The German-Guy was totally pissed off. I couldn't end my sentence, he Interrupts me and went away. Just horribel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Manager at Novotel Lugano Paradiso, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Herr Stefan R.,

wir danken Ihnen vielmals, dass Sie sich nach Ihrem Aufenthalt im Novotel Lugano Paradiso die Zeit genommen haben, uns zu schreiben, und bedauern zutiefst, dass die erbrachten Serviceleistungen Ihren Erwartungen nicht entsprochen haben. Für die entstandenen Unannehmlichkeiten bitten wir Sie vielmals um Entschuldigung.

Die Hotels der Marke Novotel setzen alles daran, um Ihnen bei jedem Ihrer Aufenthalte eine optimale Servicequalität anzubieten. Ihre Meinung ist für uns daher von größtem Interesse.
Darüber hinaus dürfen wir Ihnen versichern, dass die notwendigen Massnahmen ergriffen wurden, um die Qualität der benannten Serviceleistungen nachhaltig zu verbessern.

Haben Sie nochmals vielen Dank für Ihre Anmerkungen. Wir hoffen, Ihr Vertrauen bei einer Ihrer nächsten Übernachtungen wiederzugewinnen, und würden uns freuen, Sie schon bald wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.

Mit freundlichem Gruss
Christian Schreiner
Direktor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Lugano is one of the nicest location in southern Switzerland. I have been there many times for business and leisure. There are also a lot of nice bit old hotels sometimes not worth the value. The Novotel is a newer hotel in the paradiso location close to the lake and in a very quite area. It has a nice pool and also modern lobby. Very friendly staff and the garage just below the hotel. The greatest surprise was the good and cheap expresso at the bar! I will go there again and really can recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Manager at Novotel Lugano Paradiso, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Dr. Buhi,
Woaahh ! wir danken Ihnen vielmals für Ihre Anmerkungen zu Ihrem Aufenthalt im Novotel Lugano Paradiso.
Über Ihre lobenden Worte freuen wir uns sehr. Ihre positiven Würdigungen werden wir selbstverständlich gerne an die betreffenden Mitarbeiter weiterleiten. Ihre Zufriedenheit ist für unsere Mitarbeiter, die Tag für Tag daran arbeiten, Ihnen einen einwandfreien Service zu bieten, die schönste Belohnung.
Wir würden sehr freuen, Sie schon bald wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.
Mit Sonnigem Gruss aus Lugano und bis bald
Christian Schreiner
Direktor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Lugano Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lugano Paradiso

Address: Viale San Salvatore 11 | Lugano Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lugano Paradiso 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Novotel Lugano Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Lugano Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.