We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style wins over practicality and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Lugano Paradiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Novotel Lugano Paradiso to your Saves list
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale San Salvatore 11 | Lugano Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
GreenLeadersSilver level
Egham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Style wins over practicality and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

An ultra modern hotel in the Paradio area of Lugano. 5 mins walk to lake, 15 mins walk along lakeside into city centre. If travelling by train suggest taxi from Lugano station as Lugano Paradiso station, although barely 10 mins walk from hotel has no taxis and rather desolate with no directions. On check in receptionists cold and slow and insisted breakfast not included when e-mail confirmation stated it was. A different receptionist on duty at check out was far friendlier.Booked exceptionally good offer from UK, normal rates high. Room spacious, modern, comfortable and had every facility you could expect. Huge wall TV had many International channels, inc many UK ones. Excellent lightning and 2 free bottles of mineral water provided daily. However there is a danger of stye over substance - privacy screen button in bathroom amusing but pointless really, bathroom doors look great but heavy and noisy, bedside tables ridiculously small and have pointed edge at eye level when sleeping, room has not a single coat hook. Breakfast good and by far the biggest selection I have ever had in a Novotel but service lacking and further dispute over inclusion in rate. None of these are major complaints and overall I would certainly recommend this hotel but stye wins out over practicality and service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    133
    38
    13
    8
See reviews for
108
86
6
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel is very nice and modern. The hotel is located near the lake and at 10 minutes to the center of Lugano.
The restaurant and bar staff is cold and dismissive at dining... not adeguate for this category of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is located near the lake and has very modern contemporary rooms. There is no view as its located in a crowded neighbourhood. The staff was not helpful. Our rooms were not made till afternoon and that too after three reminders. There was a language problem too as most of the housekeeping staff did not understand English. We asked for some cups for tea and were told very curtly to get them ourselves from the dining area. Would definitely not go there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night and it was perfectly adequate for our needs. The rooms were a bit bigger than the usual European size and the bathroom had the expected towels and amenities. As others have mentioned the bathroom wall facing the bedroom is clear which can be "frosted for privacy" with the push of a button. This must be a new trend because we had this same situation in other hotels on our trip. The main part of the lake area is about a fifteen to twenty minute walk but at the bottom of the hill there are boats for the tour of the lake and cruises that include dinner at island restaurants. Be sure to bring a special Swiss adaptor because the adaptor we had, that worked in every other Swiss hotel, would not work because the modern plugs were so recessed. You can borrow an adaptor from reception but be sure reception has entered the return in the computer. Even after returning the adaptor they wanted to charge me 20 Swiss francs ($22) because at check out the girl I returned the adaptor to couldn't remember that I did that. Finally got it straightened out but they were really nasty about something I didn't do. The WiFi worked with a pass code from reception.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

this a hotel in the Paradiso area near the lake of lugano. this means that you can walk to the lugano city center in around 10-15 minutes. so as far as the location is concerned, this is a a bit more than a pass, since the walk is next to the lake.

the rooms are exactly as you can imagine a business room, clean and businessy... with the only difference of the bath tube whose wall is such that if you want you can see the bed, if not, you just press a button and you don't see it..

coming to price it is ridiculously expensive for what it offers since we paid for a double room something like 150 swiss francs per night without breakfast and without parking. the parking cost 20 swiss francs more.

for the breakfast i don't have an opinion since we didn't want to pay 60 swiss francs more per couple...

the swimming pool area, was decent, not something extraordinary and the lounges of the hotels modern

so, overall, this is an expensive hotel (but this is the case with almost everything in Lugano) for what it offers and the walk to the city center is 10-15 minutes but you walk next to the lake, so probably you don't mind!

a general tip if you want to visit the beautiful Lugano, might be to try a village in the surounding area, such as Cademario where prices are better but then you have to use the car

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Lady at the reception didn't smile at all. Bedroom was of regular size, but the bathroom was something- wall between it and the bed was glass, so you can see the bathroom from the bedroom. Anyway, I was with my husband, so not really a big problem. Not to worry, though as there's a button at the shower entrance to push, and the glass becomes opaque!
No problem with the bed, sleep was OK. Breakfast was adequate. Location was alright, very near the funicular. No lakeview, but not that far from the lake. It was almost summer's end when we were there, and we would have wanted the airconditioner to be a little more cool. I guess they have programmed it at a certain temperature especially at around midnight to early morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

...probably a typical description for a lot of things in Switzerland although modern is not a keyword in ageing Lugano.
For a stopover hotel it is nice to have a pool and a nice terrace at the end of a long day driving...it soothed the kids and so it soothed us;-)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Lugano Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lugano Paradiso

Address: Viale San Salvatore 11 | Lugano Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lugano Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Lugano Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Lugano Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.