We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style wins over practicality and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Lugano Paradiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Lugano Paradiso to your Saves list
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale San Salvatore 11, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Only On: 10% discount
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Style wins over practicality and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

An ultra modern hotel in the Paradio area of Lugano. 5 mins walk to lake, 15 mins walk along lakeside into city centre. If travelling by train suggest taxi from Lugano station as Lugano Paradiso station, although barely 10 mins walk from hotel has no taxis and rather desolate with no directions. On check in receptionists cold and slow and insisted breakfast not included when e-mail confirmation stated it was. A different receptionist on duty at check out was far friendlier.Booked exceptionally good offer from UK, normal rates high. Room spacious, modern, comfortable and had every facility you could expect. Huge wall TV had many International channels, inc many UK ones. Excellent lightning and 2 free bottles of mineral water provided daily. However there is a danger of stye over substance - privacy screen button in bathroom amusing but pointless really, bathroom doors look great but heavy and noisy, bedside tables ridiculously small and have pointed edge at eye level when sleeping, room has not a single coat hook. Breakfast good and by far the biggest selection I have ever had in a Novotel but service lacking and further dispute over inclusion in rate. None of these are major complaints and overall I would certainly recommend this hotel but stye wins out over practicality and service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surrey361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel is very nice and modern. The hotel is located near the lake and at 10 minutes to the center of Lugano.
The restaurant and bar staff is cold and dismissive at dining... not adeguate for this category of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh
Level Contributor
210 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is located near the lake and has very modern contemporary rooms. There is no view as its located in a crowded neighbourhood. The staff was not helpful. Our rooms were not made till afternoon and that too after three reminders. There was a language problem too as most of the housekeeping staff did not understand English. We asked for some cups for tea and were told very curtly to get them ourselves from the dining area. Would definitely not go there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NChopra55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night and it was perfectly adequate for our needs. The rooms were a bit bigger than the usual European size and the bathroom had the expected towels and amenities. As others have mentioned the bathroom wall facing the bedroom is clear which can be "frosted for privacy" with the push of a button. This must be a new trend because we had this same situation in other hotels on our trip. The main part of the lake area is about a fifteen to twenty minute walk but at the bottom of the hill there are boats for the tour of the lake and cruises that include dinner at island restaurants. Be sure to bring a special Swiss adaptor because the adaptor we had, that worked in every other Swiss hotel, would not work because the modern plugs were so recessed. You can borrow an adaptor from reception but be sure reception has entered the return in the computer. Even after returning the adaptor they wanted to charge me 20 Swiss francs ($22) because at check out the girl I returned the adaptor to couldn't remember that I did that. Finally got it straightened out but they were really nasty about something I didn't do. The WiFi worked with a pass code from reception.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationDays365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

this a hotel in the Paradiso area near the lake of lugano. this means that you can walk to the lugano city center in around 10-15 minutes. so as far as the location is concerned, this is a a bit more than a pass, since the walk is next to the lake.

the rooms are exactly as you can imagine a business room, clean and businessy... with the only difference of the bath tube whose wall is such that if you want you can see the bed, if not, you just press a button and you don't see it..

coming to price it is ridiculously expensive for what it offers since we paid for a double room something like 150 swiss francs per night without breakfast and without parking. the parking cost 20 swiss francs more.

for the breakfast i don't have an opinion since we didn't want to pay 60 swiss francs more per couple...

the swimming pool area, was decent, not something extraordinary and the lounges of the hotels modern

so, overall, this is an expensive hotel (but this is the case with almost everything in Lugano) for what it offers and the walk to the city center is 10-15 minutes but you walk next to the lake, so probably you don't mind!

a general tip if you want to visit the beautiful Lugano, might be to try a village in the surounding area, such as Cademario where prices are better but then you have to use the car

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Lady at the reception didn't smile at all. Bedroom was of regular size, but the bathroom was something- wall between it and the bed was glass, so you can see the bathroom from the bedroom. Anyway, I was with my husband, so not really a big problem. Not to worry, though as there's a button at the shower entrance to push, and the glass becomes opaque!
No problem with the bed, sleep was OK. Breakfast was adequate. Location was alright, very near the funicular. No lakeview, but not that far from the lake. It was almost summer's end when we were there, and we would have wanted the airconditioner to be a little more cool. I guess they have programmed it at a certain temperature especially at around midnight to early morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viviandlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

...probably a typical description for a lot of things in Switzerland although modern is not a keyword in ageing Lugano.
For a stopover hotel it is nice to have a pool and a nice terrace at the end of a long day driving...it soothed the kids and so it soothed us;-)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.0 mi away
ibis Lugano Paradiso
ibis Lugano Paradiso
#21 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#13 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.8 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#5 of 44 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#4 of 44 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lugano Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lugano Paradiso

Address: Viale San Salvatore 11, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lugano Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Lugano Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing