We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel in Lugano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Lugano Paradiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Lugano Paradiso to your Saves list
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale San Salvatore 11, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 Swiss Franc offer
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great hotel in Lugano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We enjoyed staying in this Novotel which has a great, quiet location in Lugano. The hotel throughout is very modern and tastefully decorated. We found the room to be very comfortable with everything that one requires, however we were there for pleasure rather than business. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel as it is expensive, there is a great cafe across the road which is much better value for money. My only complaint is that they charge 30 SF per night for a small dog which I found to be excessive. I

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    164
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
122
100
8
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Excellent hotel with a good service. Modern, comfortable, clean. Difficult to say anything negative except the price, which, even in these apparent high season times is much too high...I would even say prohibitive...for a hotel of this category.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a nice hotel. Nice modern design, but soulless in my opinion. Loved the bath though! I was staying on the 4th floor if I remember correctly. There were noises (I cannot figure out what they were; wind, nearby construction?), for about 15 minutes every hour between 12am and 6am. Extremely loud, and I could see my bed and walls shaking. So no sleep for me.

Easy to get to from the city centre, 15 minutes delightful walk by the lake. I found myself walking in circles around the area, looking for a nice restaurant for dinner to no avail. Maybe I didn't look hard enough, or maybe because it was February and freezing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Generaly was a good stay in the hotel with couple of tips which i would like to mention.
1.When we arrived arround midnight we were asked for a prepayment of 200 CF in case that we use the minibars .When we ask for paing cash they said that cannot accept this.
2.Before we go i send in the hotel an email to give us informations about parking ,prices...
They never reply.
3.Breakfast good but ............coffees inacceptable
4.When we check out room we had to pay an amount of 64 CF for the use of hotel's parking and some drinks.We ask for prices in Euros (51.2)
I gave them a 50 euro banknote and a coin of two.They said that cannot accept coins, only bank note.When i gave them another 50 they said that the ballance will be in CF.
All in all we had to use credit card again. This is not hotel's fault because is happen everywhere and also there is not a standard exchange rate between Euro and CF.
So... without a Credit card in SW your life is very difficult.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Booked for me by a customer. Conveniently placed for a pleasant lakeside walk and the Palazzo Mantegazza. Efficient at check-in.
I had a superior room on the top (7th) floor. No balcony but a pleasant view. I liked the room which had a firmish bed and a sophisticated Philips ambilight tv as well as a range of sockets next to the desk to allow connections to the audio/video system e.g. HDMI. But the internet signal wasn't good, even using the ethernet cable. I did better when I unplugged and went wifi elsewhere in the room. The "now you see me, now you don't" button on the shower/bath wall is a fun touch - or it would be if I hadn't been on my own.
Breakfast was standard. I approved of the nice large glasses for OJ. It was unclear from one day to the next (four night stay) how to get coffee at breakfast. Once requested it sometimes would appear in my cup, sometimes a flask would arrive and on one morning I feared I would go without until it arrived just before I'd finished.
The pool is still dry though it looked as if preparations are being made to fill it. I avoided the bar area and didn't use the outdoor seating area as it looked unwelcoming to me.
Overall the open, spacious marble lobby area says it all. It is new, clean and of a predictably comfortable but impersonal character.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a good hotel choice if you are looking for clean, basic, affordable accommodations in Lugano. The hotel is relatively new so it has all the modern amenities. The room was rather small, but they have the glass bathroom walls which try to give the impression the room is larger (you can hit a switch to fog the bathroom wall for privacy).

If you are traveling on business, this is a great option, but if you are on vacation, I would recommend one of the classic Lugano hotels instead...it would be worth the extra money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel was very easy to navigate to, but no parking in front for check-in. The hotel is in a nice
area with many other hotels around. Also, many places to eat as well. Your about 5 minutes from the lake and it's beautiful. If you have some time, you should take a stroll around the area. Great with kids, the pool wasn't open when we went but the patio area looked nice. We would stay again if we're ever in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 43 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#21 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lugano Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lugano Paradiso

Address: Viale San Salvatore 11, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lugano Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Novotel Lugano Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Lugano Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.