We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice price but not well trained staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Lugano Paradiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Lugano Paradiso to your Saves list
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale San Salvatore 11 | Lugano Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice price but not well trained staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a new hotel in Lugano, which means that facilities are modern and clean. The room is quite spacious for the european standards, clean and organized. The bed is comfortable and they did provide a crib to your baby and we requested online when reservation was made.

We spent the New Years' Eve in Novotel Lugano and we had the impression that the staff was enough trained. We were informed that the breakfast would finish at 11:00 at the time we arrived, but for 2 days we had to eat just remaining of what was supposed to be a breakfast at 10:30. In our last day, we went for our breakfast at 10:45 and there was nothing there!!!! Unfortunately, only in our last day we found out that breakfast closed at 10:30, and not at 11:00 - reason why we only had "left overs"....

Also, we were looking for something interesting to do in the city - like a bar, a nice restaurant with a view, etc, but they were unable to help us with reservations or recommendations (they even mentioned to us that there was a Christmas Market in the city center). Exception made for one night that the receptionist recommended us one restaurant and said it would be ok for us to go walking. OMG!! The restaurant was on the top of a hill and by that time I was 5 months pregnant and our 1 yo kid was with us in her stroller!!! When we finally reached the restaurant it looked like we had run a marathon!!! A little bit of sense was needed.

Despite of that, as already mentioned, the hotel is new, clean and modern. It is very well located - 2 minutes walk to the promenade and 20 minutes to the city center. We hired a car in Zurich and the parking, although expensive, was very spacious. There is a very nice swimming pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    138
    38
    13
    9
See reviews for
112
87
6
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I loved the hotel's design. The food was exceptional and the IIalian barman very attentive to all our needs, knowledgeable and entertaining. All staff was friendly and was smiling a lot which makes such a difference. I loved the 24-hour gym too as I often used it at 5.30am:)
I am familiar with Novotel's design from my recent experience of the Novotel at Auckland Airport in NZ so was very pleased to see the consistency of high standard and beautiful attention to detail.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

we are a family of 4 with 2 little boys, a lovely hotel staff with pleasant friendly staff,

the bedrooms were very comfortable, the best nights sleep I have had in a hotel for

a long time, the staff were very sweet to my children and the location its nice and quiet
a short walk from the main city, Rooms were clean and modern we were
really well looked after ,I would have no hesitation in recomending this hotel.

Thank you Novotel .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good location. Near the promendae . Very nice and clean room. Modern and staff was very freindly.
Hotel parking price is high but one can part at the street. Very nice swimming pool. Verty close to the cable trian to San Salvador mountain view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

A new Novotel in Paradiso, very good location, 15 mins walk to the canter of Lugano by the lake side, 5 mins to the Port Paradiso to get the boat, 2 mins to the bus station, take the Bus No. 2 to railway station or Bus No.1 to the center of lake Lugano & 2 mins to the Monte San Salvatore Funicular station. Really enjoy it. The breakfast cost Fr 27, even you can get cheaper in the center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We expected a sterile, colder type of hotel but were pleasantly surprised by the staff and thoughtful design. Everything was available that one would require. An easy walk along the promenade into Lugano made every day a pleasant one. Usually we prefer in town center but the 15 minute walk along the water was a great way to warm up for the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this new hotel. Room was spacious, new and well furnished. Not really in the city center but easily accesible by foot (10min) and located in a quiet area close to the Lake.
It follows the Novotel standard even if there were a few inconveniences that should have been avoided for this hotel:
- We had to change the room we got as the one firstly attributed was with 4 beds (no Space) instead of 2
- The safe was closed when we arrived. We had to call the reception to open it
- Wifi is included in the room, however to get it more than one hour, you need a password that is given at the reception. They do not propose it directly when you do the check in => need to go Back to ask
- There is a Nespresso machine in the room but the cleaning lady did not refill the Nespresso capsules, so no coffee the second day.
We would still recommand it as it offers a good value for money.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Lugano Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lugano Paradiso

Address: Viale San Salvatore 11 | Lugano Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lugano Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Lugano Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Lugano Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.