We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money but can be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Lugano Paradiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Lugano Paradiso to your Saves list
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale San Salvatore 11 | Lugano Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good value for money but can be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this new hotel. Room was spacious, new and well furnished. Not really in the city center but easily accesible by foot (10min) and located in a quiet area close to the Lake.
It follows the Novotel standard even if there were a few inconveniences that should have been avoided for this hotel:
- We had to change the room we got as the one firstly attributed was with 4 beds (no Space) instead of 2
- The safe was closed when we arrived. We had to call the reception to open it
- Wifi is included in the room, however to get it more than one hour, you need a password that is given at the reception. They do not propose it directly when you do the check in => need to go Back to ask
- There is a Nespresso machine in the room but the cleaning lady did not refill the Nespresso capsules, so no coffee the second day.
We would still recommand it as it offers a good value for money.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    137
    38
    13
    9
See reviews for
112
87
6
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

stayed there for 3 nights last week.. me and my partner...good size room, good location,, about 10 minutes walk to central lugano..staff were friendly and breakfast was tasty.. rooms were new and fresh and very clean..
Definitely going back to this hotel on our next trip to lugano

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

For sure it is one of the best Novotel I have ever been to. Stylish, comfortable, well located, these are the main characteristics of the hotel. If the Novotel brand wants to move upscale - as they seem to want to do - the Novotel Lugano is a very good testimony of the policy. The lobby, bar and restaurant are spacious and well designed, overlooking the swimming pool. Check-in was professional and friendly, providing detailed information on the hotel and the city. The hotel is located at a walking distance, 10 to 15 minutes away from the city center. I didn't have dinner at the hotel but breakfast was very good with a large selection of pastries, breads, cheeses and marmalades. Rooms are large and well equipped: flat TV with an impressive selection of TV channels and movies, Nespresso coffee machine, mini-bar. Decoration relies on soft colors: light gray, beige, light brown and white. Although not very large the bathroom is also well equipped with even a nice feature: a window separating the bathroom from the room that can be turned opaque thanks to an electrical system. Overall I was very satisfied with my stay and can only wish all Novotel be like the Novotel Lugano !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

A very good Novotel, which we booked into as a result of a 50% off deal. Just a short bus journey on the Number 2 bus that goes outside Lugano station. Just go to the end of the route at Paradiso Geretta and the Novotel is just a minute's walk further along the road. Check in was a bit slow because a large party of several families arrived just before we did, but reception were very helpful throughout our trip. We were given a voucher for a free drink in the bar, apparently because we are Accor Hotel card holders. The rooms were new and very clean; the bathrooms have been discussed at length already, but the kids liked the frosting/unfrosting of the window. The room, with the king sized bed and then two single beds for the kids was very cramped, with little room to walk alongside the bed. The hotel has a pool, which the girls enjoyed. A nice place overall, and we would go again if we could get the same deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tienen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel is decorated with lots of style. The bar, lobby and restaurant are really stylishly designed. The staff is friendly. I really liked the breakfast - everything was presented beautifully and the breakfast staff saw every detail. And very nice scrambled eggs!
The rooms are standard Novotel rooms, but I particularly liked the bathroom. It has a window between the room and the bathroom, that can be made opaque with one push on the button. Also the new bathroom amenities of Novotel are really nice with body scrub and everything.
Nice pool area (although the weather was not nice enough to use it).
Very good product!
At 200 m from the lake and 15 minutes from the center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed one night in the Novotel Lugano Paradiso, on our way to Italy. After several exhausting work weeks, a short night at home and a whole day driving we were very tired. Checking in was like coming home. We were welcomed in a very warm and genuin kind way.
Our Executive room on the 6th floor was a very comfortable, beautiful room, with a funny bathroom window that turns opaque when pushing a button. This subtle system gives a feeling of space and allows daylight in the bathroom.
Wifi was free. Parking was paying, but it was worth it. We also received a welcome drink.
The city center lies within a pleasant stroll along the lake from the hotel.
Breakfast is fresh and tasty.
All staff members are very kind, helpfull, multilingual and classy. A marvelous blend between the efficiency of the Swiss and the warmth of the Italian.
A perfect start to our much needed vacation.

Room Tip: Executive room was perfect. 630 was streetside, but quiet. We sleep with an open window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Lugano Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lugano Paradiso

Address: Viale San Salvatore 11 | Lugano Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lugano Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Lugano Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Lugano Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.