We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good rooms but restaurant not children friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Splendide Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Our Best Rates Commitment
Ranked #3 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Kuwait
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, good rooms but restaurant not children friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

The hotel has an excellent location Lugano, 10 mins from the city center. The rooms on the lake have an great view (it is very much worth upgrading to the lake view rooms). We stayed in the new (executive) wing, which is priced a little lower than the main building, but I find it to be more appealing. The lake view rooms are a little larger than the other rooms, and are a good size with a comfortable bathroom (but no separate stand alone shower), the bath tub and shower are in one. The rooms have a flat screen TV but no DVD player and a few English channels mainly news.

The hotel has a nice mid sized indoor pool with large glass windows opening to the lake and side view with a comfortable outdoor terrace. It is not really a lap pool, but great fun for kids.

The lobby is grand and has nice sitting areas overlooking the lake as is the main restaurant (la Verenda) which has a nice terrace dinning area. The style is very classical typical of many Swiss hotels. However, the restaurant was not children friendly. The senior staff in the restaurant did not make us feel welcome with children and especially at dinner where they made it obvious that they did not like having children around (which was also evident by a lack of children’s menu). At breakfast the service was a little more relaxed and the younger staff made me and my family feel welcome, in particular Fabrizio who provided us and many other guests with exceptional service. As much as possible I would direct my requests to him in order to avoid the other less friendly (senior) staff. Overall the breakfast offering was very average as I found typical in other 5 star Swiss hotels, including some of the highest rated ones in the country. Since breakfast is often included in the rate there is a lack of focus on it.

The room service was a major disappointment. The deliver cart did not have a hot tray. And when they brought the soup it was NOT covered. I was shocked how soup could be delivered this way not only will it get cold but also from a hygiene prospective it was unacceptable. When I pointed that out to the waiter he was indifferent about it. Also, when we ordered a Cesar salad (which was not on the menu) the room service insisted that we order it with chicken or shrimp and then grossly overcharged us for it; CHF 52.

The front desk staff is friendly and the concierge is very welcoming and eager to be of assistance. This was my second stay in this property. If I come back to Lugano I will most likely stay here again, but would not be as enthusiastic about brining my kids.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, October 2, 2009
Thank you very much for your observations that we will make good use of.

We apologize that some of our senior staff remarks’ may have come across as if our hotel is not children friendly. While our hotel welcomes families, it is our priority to ensure the quietness within the hotel for our guests.

With regards to the room service, we are somewhat surprised that the food was not covered as our hygiene requirements demand that we cover meals properly and this is a standard procedure for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    70
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
46
111
8
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Beautiful view but incredible amount of traffic on the street which runs along the front of the hotel. Although terrace is inviting, because of traffic and fumes one cannot enjoy it. Service was exceptional until a bus load of tourists arrived from Brazil.
We stayed four nights but as soon as the tourists arrived we were forgotten.
Pool area needs to be updated. Fitness room is very small.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, September 23, 2009
Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Splendide Royal.
We appreciate your positive remarks about our service.
Our hotel is indeed one of the few 5-star hotels in Lugano directly facing the lake. Our terrace offers great views and we understand the traffic was caused by some work nearby to be completed in the near future. Our hotel welcomes mostly individual guests that receive detailed attention. However, in some occasions we host small groups such as the one you mentioned that are attending a business conference in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

In August this hotel is extremely expensive. In August, when a heatwave is crushing europe, this hotel has air conditioning, a floating platform on Lake Lugano courtesty of its partner Hotel Eden, and a swimming pool protected from the blazing sun .
The floating platform has a bar, restaruant service and the most cozy deck chairs I have ever had the pleasure to read and sleep on....with a view of Monte Bre to boot!
The Spledide staff were amazing...we were often greeted by name, given helpful information and service. Our room, and the rest of the hotel, was very plushly decorated. We had fabric on the walls with batting behind it, which made for a soft an quiet room. This is probably standard in lux hotels, but we stay in lux hotels so infrequently that I thought it worth mentioning. We indulged further and got a room with balcony on the lake--- this was well worth it, we even enjoyed a dinner of bread, cheese and wine cozied up next to that romantic view. Not far from the hotel is the trailhead to San Salvatore...the hotel staff thought me a bit wacky to want to hike it instead of taking the rail...but it was great excercise (I took the rail down.)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, September 23, 2009
Thank you much for writing such a nice comment on our hotels in Lugano.
We appreciate that you noted that all our rooms offer air conditioning, and we are glad to read that you could enjoy our some of our home made bread during the dinner on the balcony of your hotel room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

While the room was nothing special, it had everything we needed plus a wonderful balcony overlooking the lake (new section).

Staff are phenominal and couldn't do enought, especially those in the Restaurant.

Expensive internet access.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

Probably the sixth time I have stayed at this hotel and each stay is as impressive as the last. Doorman, front desk, bar and restaurant staff are great in every area, generally speak at least 4 languages and can not fault them. Location superb on the lake and picture perfect 10 minutes walk into the town centre. Rooms in the new part of the hotel are the perfect size and the shutters make for a blissful Saturday morning sleep in.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Beautifully situated along the promenade across from the lake, you have a choice between the late 19th Cent original hotel or the new wing but both are decorated in a formal, 19th Century style and share a sumptuous lobby and elegant restaurants and breakfast room with outdoor terrace; within easy walking distance of "town"......about ten to fifteen minutes to the shops and restaurants in the center; about five seconds to the boat dock on the Lake for lake tours; hotel has free internet service in the lobby, free breakfast buffet (a very good one); staff is very thoughtful and helpful.....one of the first times a concierge has taken us up to our room to "approve" it on check in.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
431 helpful votes 431 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

Having hesitated between staying here and Villa Castagnola, I settled for the Splendide Royal (mainly because Villa Castagnola costs about twice the price).

Make sure you book a room in the old wing, as those in the new wing will lack much of the character. Low and shoulder season prices average around USD 300 per night, which is acceptable for Europe.

The rooms are massive and very tastefully decorated as a grand hotel should be. The bathroom was almost as big as the room itself. Service was faultless and we thought this was the perfect setting for a romantic getaway.

As mentioned by another reviewer, the pay parking arrangement is a rip-off, but there's a couple of cheaper parking options a short walk away. The hotel is also a short stroll to the restaurant and shopping area.

  • Liked — Opulent rooms.
  • Disliked — Parking.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Riva Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendide Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.