We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can you say WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Splendide Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Splendide Royal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Hewitt, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can you say WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Had an amazing time here. VERY high quality hotel with decent customer service. Food was way beyond expectations. It was fresh and of high quality. My room was modest but well appointed as a suite. I felt right at home and had an amazing walk right outside of the hotel to city central Lugano. The people were extremely friendly and helpful. English was well spoken

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    78
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
50
125
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Splendide Royal was our home for 3 days during our stay in Lugano. Breakfast was amazing, staff was really professional commanding us where to go and what to visit. The room was really nice and the lake view breathtaking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
679 reviews 679 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
1,030 helpful votes 1,030 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Splendide Royal a Historical Palace
I stay 5 nights till 4 Th of august
the staff were very friendly
the Blu restaurant for breakfast were fantastic
rooms so nice the view is great
the room service and house also very good
the only thing which is not good the entrance of the hotel
either coming by walking through high ramp or the car drop and pick up

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. We booked about 30 mins before we arrived but everything was ready for our arrival. The staff were wonderful from the get go. We were addressed by our names by all the staff throughout our stay and the second morning the maitre'd even remembered our breakfast drinks order. We had our dinner in the hotel on our first night. The staff were amazing, very attentive and professional as you would expect from a 5* establishment, the food was wonderful ( and expensive!) and the crepe suzette which was cooked at our table was fantastic!
Our room was traditional 5* luxury with everything we could possibly need and we had wonderful views over the lake. Very glad we were in the older part of the building as the more modern side did not look at all attractive from the outside. Yes this is an "old" style hotel but that to us was all part if it's charm. We will definitely be returning to this hotel, as my husband says its like getting a hotel hug!

Room Tip: Get a room in the older part of the building with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Returned to magical Lugano after 30 years. Once again stayed at this lovely hotel. Excellent service, nice location, beautiful classic rooms that have all the modern amenities. Would have been nice if the hotel had a pool, a "real, modern" gym (the room set aside for that purpose is a feeble attempt, at best). The large breakfast buffet room (the food was excellent with many choices) is straight out of a 1950's Catskills resort - could use an overhaul.
Felt that there could have been more value for the price, but this hotel "feels" like the Italian Switzerland that is Lugano, and ultimately an overall good choice.

Room Tip: A room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in july with my wife.
We had booked a deluxe palace room.
On the positive side the room (206) was very large and included a very large terrace/balcony with great view to the lake and mountains – the terrace vas large enough to accommodate a table with 4 chairs and 2 sun-chairs.
On the negative side the room could do with an update of applainces, audio/video and furniture.
The bed however was very good.
The hotel In general is a beautiful old hotel, but in some areas a bit of updating to modern times would be an improvement.
The service levels are high and very friendly – especially I would mention the staff in the breakfast room which offer very good service.
Have stayed in a number of deluxe hotels both in Europe and the US an in comparison prices at Splendide Royal are too high compared to the product delivered. But then again this is Switzerland which is in general an expensive destination.
Be aware that “executive” rooms are in what looks like a 70’s concrete wing whereas the “palace” rooms are in the old building.
In one area the prices are simply much too high compared to what you receive: A room service delivery of two cappuccinos and two “cake of the day” added up to 65 swiss francs!!
Would we stay again? If we found an attractive rate maybe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Could we ask for more. Large clean rooms, spacious bathroom with tubs and shower. People who checked in are definitely would not care for the price. Better than that one we checked in at venice. Breakfast was served at the veranda. Would love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Riva Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendide Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.