We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views, Beautiful City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Splendide Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Splendide Royal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views, Beautiful City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had a lake facing room at Hotel Splendide Royal which provided nice lake views. The room was beautiful, the hotel was air conditioned. The bathroom had a wonderful shower, nice bath products. There was no coffee maker in the room, however, we did have a small refrigerator, safe, and complimentary water. There was only 1 English speaking TV channel - CNN. The town has a very nice tree covered walkway most of the way around the lake. We took the path from in front of the hotel all the way to a city park which was very nice, bench lined, an area where kids could sit at tables and color, read books, paint or draw at easels set up - very family friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.

We are glad you have liked the room’s decor and have enjoyed the comfortable shower.

It surprises us that there was only one English speaking channel on the TV, as normally there are several British, American and International TV channels in English.
We have asked our technicians to verify our entertainment system. Thank you for telling us.

We hope that you will soon give us the opportunity to welcome you back at the Hotel Splendide Royal and we send you our kindest regards.

Yours sincerely,
Giuseppe Rossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    78
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
50
124
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at the Splendide Royal a few years ago and I must say, the hotel was a bit run down and not the top notch you would expect in a hotel of that category, he definitively needed a revamp and new blood !
Well, congratulations to the Manager in charge because he turned the hotel into a classy and elegant palace deserving its overall 5* !! Spotless and impeccable rooms, wonderful amenities, great breakfast buffet, attentive and friendly and well groomed staff.
They added a very nice terrace which allows you to have your meals outdoors.
The view from my room is just unbelievable, for those who know Lugano... nothing to envy Lake Como !
I particularly loved the shining candles in the hallways at night reflecting on impeccably waxed marble floors.
Defenitively the place to stay in Lugano especially if you want to be in walking distances from the elegant shopping area!

Room Tip: I stayed in the old original wing, 4th floor lake view well insulated windows, no street noises at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We recently spent six nights at this hotel and had a room in the newer part of the hotel which had a balcony with lake view. The room was very comfortable and quiet. Its about a 15 minute walk to the main square,shopping area and restaurants. The Paradisio boat dock is only 5 minutes away where all the boat trips go from. The buffet breakfast was excellent and all the staff are very attentive. Unfortunately there is no pool at the hotel (not when we were there) so you have to go to their sister Hotel, The Eden, and they provide a shuttle bus. We had dinner in the restaurant on one occasion which was excellent and what you would expect at a hotel of this standard.

Room Tip: A higher room in the newer part of the hotel with lake view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khor, Qatar
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

It was really a nice and comfortable stay. First you will notice you are in the Italian section from the way the staff treat you; friendly and smiling at all times and ready to serve you with pleasure. I didn’t get a room with a lake view but I saw one and the view was beyond imagination, so book a room on the lake or do not at all. Bedrooms are nice, clean, and very comfortable. Living rooms could be better with more organization of the furniture. Bathrooms are of good space and great amenities. FOOD in this hotel is something you do not want to miss, I advise you to have all meals in the hotel, and specially the breakfast they sure know how to make you happy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Very friendly and courteous staff, breakfast variety and quality is excellent but the main downside of this hotel are the outdated rooms: you need to move bedside tables to plug an ipad, electricity plugs are outdated, no English channels nor cable offerings... if you want to get away from it all this may be a good destination but for a bit more 21st century buzz and services I suggest to not spend this amount of money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

we stayed here during our holidays in may 2014. has a good location but the pricing is on a higher side. also rooms are not renovated / refurbished. was happy with their services and particularly their breakfast was the best we have had ever !

Room Tip: try to go for a hotel in that location which is not so expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Royal service in hotel rightly named "Splendid Royal."

Lugano is a piece of heaven, and the hotel service quality is like no other.

We stayed in room 311 in the Victorian building of the hotel. The view was okay but the service quality and the care was overwhelming. The room was wonderful all around.

The concierge were so helpful and so friendly.

We'll surly stay in this splendid hotel whenever I visit Lugano.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Riva Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendide Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.