We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Splendide Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Our Best Rates Commitment
Ranked #3 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I was directed to Hotel Splendide Royal by a colleague. The hotel is a classic lakeside property with views and charm. The staff was very helpful; special requests were handled efficiently and warmly. Although I might not choose this type hotel for personal travel, I found it to be a comfortable spot for my Lugano business visit. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. A friend was lucky enough to get a room with terrace in the old part of the hotel and we enjoyed some beautiful evenings overlooking Lake Lugano!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    72
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
46
115
8
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Splendide Royal in Lugano was really a wonderful find. My husband and I, years ago, passing by Lugano, saw this hotel but did not stay in it at the time. Last february, visiting Lugano again, we decided to stay at the Splendide for a couple of days. It was a wise decision. The hotel has two wings side by side with the same front reception, an old and a new one. Obviously, the wise thing is to stay in the old wing, which seemed like an old european "palazzio". Everything was perfect, the doorman, the reception, the concierge, etc. Our room was perfectly appointed, very clean, with all furniture and linen like new. The service in general was perfect. They have a beautiful place where you can have drinks, tea, etc. all day. The breakfast buffet is superb. The restaurant, where we had dinner twice, was also quite nice, with a good menu and fantastic attention. We travel a lot nowadays and always stay at good hotels. But the Splendide Royal is something "different". We strongly reccomend it. Prices are very reasonable as Lugano even being a swiss city is not expensive as Zurich or Lucerne.

Room Tip: Stay in the old building and ask for a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were most impressed with the room itself beautiful high ceilings, traditional furniture, tons of marble and a gorgeous Venetian chandeliers. The front desk staff was very pleasant and knowledgeable, with the exception if one young lady who did not understand what we were asking her in English or Italian, which was very frustrating, as you would expect the staff at an international hotel to understand words like porter, car, where is the train station, etc. rest location right on the lake, the wait staff in the am were great. Special thanks to Titizano (?sp), and Claudio who gave great service. The hotel was very hot even though it was March and it was cold outside. The morning breakfast was AMAZING! Other meals we could not eat there as the cost literally took your breath away( that's pretty much all over Switzerland, but even more so at this hotel). You have to pay for parking , which, again is pretty typical all over Europe ($30 bucks a day). Our package was to include fresh fruit and chocolate on our arrival, which was not in our room upon arrival, and we had to ask twice to have that delivered.
Overall a beautiful hotel, but some small hiccups along the way.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for five nights. There was a lot about this hotel that was excellent. The hotel is situated in a good location in Lugarno and is close to everything. Our room was a reasonable size with excellent views and was reasonably well appointed and clean. The hotel staff on the main were very friendly and quick to service.

On one night we ate at the hotel restaurant. We had booked the day before. The restaurant is in a large room extending out to a glassed portico separated from the room by large columns. Seating is arranged through out the room and into the portico area. Some seating takes advantage of the views, some are more private and intimate. Only one or two are awkward and badly placed.

We didn't realise when we arrived that we were required to wait outside the room to be seated having missed the small sign requesting us to do so. The Maitre d seemed to instantly take a dislike to us and gruffly led us back outside the restaurant door and into the corridor to wait. When he finally seated us he chose the worst table in the room when other tables where clearly empty. His manner and attitude were gruff and unpleasant whenever he served us and he seemed condescending and rude. We did not complain at the time because we felt so angry and didn't want to be reactive. So instead we left our mains and asked that our desert and wine be sent to our room and had to call down forty minutes later when they had still not arrived.

It only takes one person to ruin someone's stay and although the Maitre d really only ruined one evening, he diminished our view of the hotel generally.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This classic style hotel, on the shores of Lake Lugano, has friendly staff, good service and a beautiful ground floor layout, with high ceilings and large windows overlooking the lake. I stayed for 3 nights in the "new" part of the hotel (on the left as you enter the reception) which is not a very nice looking concrete addition to the original building, but the room and balcony were good. The breakfast is good - the waiter (Fabricio?) is hilarious and his cheeky conversation a great way to start the day. The only drawback is the gym which has one elliptical and one treadmill, at the end of a corridor on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed here a couple of years ago, so this is a late review. However I must say it has fantastic concierge service, beautiful views from the lake and very close to great party places. The hotel has a nice feeling of ancient grandeur. Decoration is simple but elegant. Room service is fab. Definitely a must when in Lugano.

Room Tip: Make sure to choose a room with lake view. It is breathtaking to see the alps in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I spent only one night at the Splendide Royal for business and I really enjoyed my short stay there.
First, the hotel is very well located, with a superb view over the lake.
Staff is really helpful, knowledgeable and very welcoming.
Finally, I highly recommend the breakfast there which offers a lot of choices, fresh orange juices, excellent pastries, etc.
In fact, I would not look into booking another hotel next time I am going to Lugano !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Riva Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendide Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.