We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Splendide Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Splendide Royal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed here a couple of years ago, so this is a late review. However I must say it has fantastic concierge service, beautiful views from the lake and very close to great party places. The hotel has a nice feeling of ancient grandeur. Decoration is simple but elegant. Room service is fab. Definitely a must when in Lugano.

Room Tip: Make sure to choose a room with lake view. It is breathtaking to see the alps in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    83
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
52
149
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I spent only one night at the Splendide Royal for business and I really enjoyed my short stay there.
First, the hotel is very well located, with a superb view over the lake.
Staff is really helpful, knowledgeable and very welcoming.
Finally, I highly recommend the breakfast there which offers a lot of choices, fresh orange juices, excellent pastries, etc.
In fact, I would not look into booking another hotel next time I am going to Lugano !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

the location was super.

the front desk staff was very warm and even upgraded us to a lake view room.

the concierge was very helpful and guided us to the best places.

had one of the better elaborated b'fast spread.

Room Tip: please ask for lake view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to make a spontaneous trip for my birhtday! So we drove to Lugano and saw the beautiful hotel Splendide and were in awe! We did not have a reservation and just entered and asked if there were any rooms, the receptionist was very friendly and even gave us a beautiful room with view on the lake with a balcony for a lower rate as usual!
The rooms are just beyond beautiful! Cleaniness seems to be an imparative! They have the best welcome chocolates and pralines I ever had from Läderach! And don't let me get started from the marble bathroom with amazing shower gels, shampoos and conditioners from Etro!
The restaurant serves amazing food! I had duck! Amd again I must say it was probably the best duck I have ever tasted! Even the breakfast was heavenly!
The hotel's location is also perfect, as I said with a beautiful view on the lake and there are boutiques and shops in near proximity aswell!!

I highly recommend this hotel for couples who want to have a special romantic experience!

Room Tip: I recommend to ask for a room with balcony and view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The hotel is wonderfully located, right on the lake side. I had a room in the 'old' building without a lake view, which was a shame, but the room was large, well-furnished and very comfortable. Staff were without exception friendly and helpful. Breakfast was an excellent buffet, but as in so many places, the staff appear not to know that boiling water is required to make a proper cup of tea - bringing a pot of no longer boiling water and then going off to get a tea bag just wastes good quality tea. Bar prices were also very high.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is one of the best I've ever been to, Perfect location and view for rooms overlooking the lake.
Excellent breakfast, staff are perfect and so nice.
Parking is great and the valet guys are really helpful.
Clean big rooms , bathroom so comfy.
Balcony is a must in such location and view.
except for the internet everything was perfect, in the room internet wasn't good at all.
Room service charges are really high, Tea is for SFC 8 .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel enjoys an enviable lakefront location with stunning views of the Como lake and area.
The website is a bit misleading as it only shows the original building and my expectations were to be staying in a restored turn of the twentieth century building and was booked into an annex build in 1977.
The room was comfortable and well appointed and the public areas - mostly in the old building were well maintained and preserved.
The service was prompt and efficient and everything worked including wifi. The breakfast buffet was extensive but it bugs me to pay top rates with breakfast included, when you have to pay 12 Euros for two boiled eggs.
All in all good quality......

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer section are probably more up to date - but the old section seems to be a cla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Riva Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendide Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.