We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very exclusive holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Splendide Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Our Best Rates Commitment
Ranked #3 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“very exclusive holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Hotel at a very high level.
Interiors very classic but at the same chic.
In support are the major advantages of their own men.
During the day at the musician playing the piano ..
We're going on a very high level, mainly dominated by European cuisine with a large predominance of Italian cuisine ...
Fairytale rooms, victorian style
Near the center and the main promenade
Hotel rooms offer includes the mountains and the lake
beautiful view of the lake, Mount San Salvatore, and Mount Brè.
The Hotel Splendide Royal features adjoining rooms that can accommodate families with children.
The hotel allows for small animals in the room at an extra cost.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for sharing this useful information about your stay at the Splendide Royal.
Our hotel has indeed preserved the grand hotel style, while providing all the comforts required by our International guests in a beautiful and convenient location on the lake front of Lugano.
As you pointed out the cuisine of the Restaurant La Veranda is a contemporary Italian one, but at times we organize food festivals with guest chefs from renowned International restaurants that prepare fine dishes from their local cuisine, which I hope you might have the opportunity to taste during one of our future stays.
Yours sincerely,
Giuseppe Rossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    72
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
46
115
8
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strassen, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

I vacationed in Lugano with my adult daughter and mom on the 7th to 10th of April. During this time we stayed in Room 452 (Executive Deluxe) which offers an absolute beautiful and sweeping view of Lake Lugano from a rather large balcony.

The hotel was easy to locate and upon arrival after a 6 hour drive, I was greeted by the valet who took care of our luggage and parking my car. We were quickly and smoothly checked in, were provided a brief tour to identify where we could locate the business lounge, bar and restaurant, then were brought to our room. In the room they were easily able to accommodate an additional bed for my daughter which can sometimes be a challenge in European hotels. We received a complementary bottle of wine the day of arrival and received a good selection of fresh fruit daily.

We did not eat at the hotel restaurant but did order room service our first night there and had an absolutely delicious meal out on our balcony.

The room itself was very clean, traditionally decorated and was welcoming. The mattress was comfortable but I have to admit, we all felt the pillows were much too hard. Softer pillows may have been available, but we didn't inquire. The only other item to note is the sliding door out to the balcony will give your arm a workout as it was a little stiff/difficult to open and close.

Overall, we enjoyed our three nights at the Splendid will return next time in Lugano.

Room Tip: Room 452 has a great view of Lake Lugano
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Splendide Royal. I am pleased that our hotel and our service met your expectations and that you could enjoy the spectacular view from your room.
With regards to the pillows, we have different pillow options and if we had known we would have changed them for you. In fact thanks to your input we will create a “pillow menu” with six options that the guest can choose before the arrival or at check-in time.
We are sorry that we were not informed about the problem with the sliding door so as to make your stay most comfortable.
I look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Splendide Royal next time and we will ensure that all your requirements will be met.

Your sincerely,
Giuseppe Rossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Beautiful old hotel, well appointed rooms. Our only issue was that we were unable to connect the provided internet wires to our American computers.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your positive comments with other travellers. The Hotel Splendide Royal has indeed preserved the charm of a grand hotel from the Belle Epoque, yet offering the modern amenities such as complimentary high-speed Internet access (via cable) or wireless Internet access (for a fee).
We are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with the Internet access, as usually our International guests can successfully connect to the Internet with the wires that we provide in the guest rooms.
Thank you again for choosing the Splendide Royal for your recent stay.
Yours sincerely,
Giuseppe Rossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Fantastic location right on the lake. Rooms excellent. Head waiter in the breakfast dining room, (Englishman from Hull) was extremely attentive & helpful. Will return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Dear Guest,
We are very honored about your positive comments regarding your stay at the Splendide Royal. It is indeed a hotel that has preserved the elegance of a grand hotel from the Belle Epoque. We are pleased that you could enjoy the convenience of our hotel location, experience our friendly service, as well as the comfort in your room.
We look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Giuseppe Rossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Stayed 2 nights in Sept 2010. If you can afford it, stay here. Large rooms, great service, excellent breakfast. Location next to the lake, 20 minutes walk to town centre; not close, but it's a pleasant and scenic walk. No free internet in rooms, but free internet available in the business centre. Rooms well-decorated, but I would have preferred brighter lighting. Bathrooms spacius, clean. No tea/coffee in rooms. Beds a bit too soft for my liking, but still very comfy. Service excellent. Lobby large, plenty of room to lounge and read by oneself.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your observations about your stay at the Splendide Royal. We are pleased to read that you could enjoy the service and the décor of our hotel. We have also have taken note of your recommendations and will make good use of them to ensure as always our guests’ the most comfortable stay.
With regards to the Internet usage, guests can utilize the Internet in our business corner as well as in the rooms. All our rooms offer free Internet access via cable LAN, but if they wish to use the wireless connection in the room an extra charge will apply.
Sincerely,
Giuseppe Rossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We have visited the Hotel Splendide for many years and have found the hotel welcoming and comfortable until last year. As usual we had a fantastic welcome and attention from the the staff was excellent. The problem was the restaurant at dinner, where the standard of the food had deteriorated greatly from previous years. The restaurant seemed full of children who were allowed to run around and make as much noise as they wished totally unsupervised. The culmination of all this was when a lady was breast feeding her baby at the table. All we wanted to do was to get out as quickly as possible. We were staying for two weeks so this was not an isolated incident. No doubt we will stay here again but not for dinner. I would have thought that guests with children should be put in a separate room. The hotel is certainly large enough.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Thank you very much for your positive remarks about our attentive staff and for being a loyal guest.
We are sorry to read that your experience at the restaurant was not as you expected. While our hotel is child-friendly, we are not a kids’ hotel and therefore don’t offer a separate dining room or area for families. However, it is our priority to ensure the quietness in the dining area.
With regards to the food, since your stay in September 2009 our food standards have greatly changed and our restaurant has been included in some of the most known food guides such as GaultMillau.
We look forward to meeting you again at the Splendide Royal.
Sincerely,
Giuseppe Rossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We loved this hotel! Great location. Easy access to boat taxi and city centre. Amazing service. Above and beyond every step of the way. Great with young kids. The room was spectacular with all of the attention to detail you would expect in a five star hotel.

The concierge desk was extremely helpful in making our stay memorable. Strongly recommend this hotel if you are in Lugano for a vacation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Dear guest,
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Splendide Royal Hotel. Our hotel is indeed located in a convenient location within walking distance from the city centre and also close to the boat embarcadero. As you noted the concierge desk is available for recommendations on the excursions in the area of Lugano and beyond.
We hope to see you again at our hotel.
Sincerely,
Giuseppe Rossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Riva Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendide Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.