We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Delfino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Delfino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Delfino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Casserinetta 6, Lugano 6902, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Oirschot, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Delfino Hotel in Lugano is a very friendly hotel. Every employee is aware that real customer-value is service, attention, hospitality and affinity.
Quality of food, whether it is breakfast, lunch or dinner is tasteful and excellent. (buono) The rooms are very nice and very clean.
The area of the hotel is quiet but 10 minutes walking you are downtown.
For young to old the place to be.

Ben Jamry

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    43
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
32
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night, and had booked 2 triple rooms. Rooms were neat and clean, as well as spacious. Swimming pool was excellent. They also provide breakfast , which is ok types.
Very near from Lugano Train Station , 3rd stop from the station. Lugano Lake is at 10 minutes walking distance from the hotel, and its beautiful. Monte Solaro is 2 minutes away from the hotel.

Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Delfino is a little way out from the city centre, towards Paradiso, but still easily walkable. The hotel staff, from reception to bar staff and cleaners, were all friendly and helpful. I thought the furnishing overall was pretty good for the price, and there is a large bar area leading out to the pool and terrace, which is nice on a sunny day. The pool is well maintained and has shower/changing facilities. The rooms are quite small, reasonably furnished and a decent bathroom, although we did not like the sliding door arrangement. The walls seem to be quite thin as there was some noise from the adjoining room (not the occupants fault - just normal moving around). We would certainly go back to this hotel again for a 1-2 night break.

Room Tip: The hotel backs on to the main railway line so rooms ending "14", which are at the far end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langenthal, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel Delfino is quite close to the lake of Lugano (walking distance) but has as well an own quite big pool. Ideal for vacation as well as for meeting in larger groups. Free WiFi on the room. Parking garage (with an OK price). Sat afternoon to Sunday free parking in the blue zone next to it. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you love worn, 30 year old furniture so you will find in this hotel your bliss.
Beside the not very recent furniture my room was not only very, very small but it also strongly smelled of mould / dampness. According to the reception staff all rooms smell like this ...
The only bright spot was the recently renovated bathroom (with shower nozzles which need a decalcification).
Breakfast was basic but nice and the outside pool looked nice too. I didn't experience dinner in this hotel because when I came down at 7 PM there were only two tables occupied and on all the other tables had a "reserved" sign. When I asked the waiter for a nice table he told me that there was no more place available. In my humble opinion there is something wrong in the system if a waiter in an empty restaurant refuses customers. Maybe some management presence in the restaurant could help to avoid such unpleasant experiences and increase revenue.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoiry, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'm twice a month in Lugano for my job and always at Delfino. I must say that I never had a single reason to complain. Delfino provides a constant quality and I appreciate that very much. The room is clean and comfortable and the people there are just perfect. Ideally located, close to lake and train station.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seon, Aargau, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had three great days @ the Delfino's. Specially the meal in the evening with very attentive personnel we enjoyed much. The room was clean with enough spaces even for some working. The hotel is good situated, few steps to the lake and nearby the motorway into Lugano.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Delfino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfino

Address: Via Casserinetta 6, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Delfino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delfino is close to lakeshore and next to the center. The owner family is managing the hotel since almost 30 years with their individual style. All rooms dispose of balcony and all comforts, like AC, Flat Screen-TV and W-Lan. During the summer season, make the most of the heated outdoor swimming pool and its relaxing, fully furnished, surroundings.Our Restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine with fresh products an typical regional dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Delfino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfino Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Delfino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.