We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good value hotel in an expensive city!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Delfino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Delfino to your Saves list
Hotel Delfino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Casserinetta 6, Lugano 6902, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
CHF140 (CHF)
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pretty good value hotel in an expensive city!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Delfino is a little way out from the city centre, towards Paradiso, but still easily walkable. The hotel staff, from reception to bar staff and cleaners, were all friendly and helpful. I thought the furnishing overall was pretty good for the price, and there is a large bar area leading out to the pool and terrace, which is nice on a sunny day. The pool is well maintained and has shower/changing facilities. The rooms are quite small, reasonably furnished and a decent bathroom, although we did not like the sliding door arrangement. The walls seem to be quite thin as there was some noise from the adjoining room (not the occupants fault - just normal moving around). We would certainly go back to this hotel again for a 1-2 night break.

Room Tip: The hotel backs on to the main railway line so rooms ending "14", which are at the far end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    61
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
48
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langenthal, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel Delfino is quite close to the lake of Lugano (walking distance) but has as well an own quite big pool. Ideal for vacation as well as for meeting in larger groups. Free WiFi on the room. Parking garage (with an OK price). Sat afternoon to Sunday free parking in the blue zone next to it. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you love worn, 30 year old furniture so you will find in this hotel your bliss.
Beside the not very recent furniture my room was not only very, very small but it also strongly smelled of mould / dampness. According to the reception staff all rooms smell like this ...
The only bright spot was the recently renovated bathroom (with shower nozzles which need a decalcification).
Breakfast was basic but nice and the outside pool looked nice too. I didn't experience dinner in this hotel because when I came down at 7 PM there were only two tables occupied and on all the other tables had a "reserved" sign. When I asked the waiter for a nice table he told me that there was no more place available. In my humble opinion there is something wrong in the system if a waiter in an empty restaurant refuses customers. Maybe some management presence in the restaurant could help to avoid such unpleasant experiences and increase revenue.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoiry, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'm twice a month in Lugano for my job and always at Delfino. I must say that I never had a single reason to complain. Delfino provides a constant quality and I appreciate that very much. The room is clean and comfortable and the people there are just perfect. Ideally located, close to lake and train station.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seon, Aargau, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had three great days @ the Delfino's. Specially the meal in the evening with very attentive personnel we enjoyed much. The room was clean with enough spaces even for some working. The hotel is good situated, few steps to the lake and nearby the motorway into Lugano.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

1.great location hop on bus number 2 from Lugano Main train station,5 minutes get off at stop Santa Brigitta,5 steps onto the steps of Delfino.
2.Hotel reception ( staff Mariame)prepares all tourist info,offer of free local transport voucher
3.restaurant &bar& swimming pool with proud & kept gardens& good breakfast & fast wireless affordable access.
4.Easy travel Lugano centre, use bus number 2 or 4 back to Lugano train station in 5 mins, hop on the funicular , in 3 mins in city centre.
5.Designer Shoppers!!!! Great train travel 20 mins to Fox town Outlet at Menderiso, All brands Great prices .DONT have to go to MILAN, tax claim straight there as well, Magnifique, loved it.City centre lots of great dining& coffee.
6.cruise lake Lugano , great way to see off lake towns.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent 3 nights in total at the hotel but not in succession - our first stay was for 2 nights and then we enjoyed an overnight stay en route Toscano back to Zurich - what a welcoming and comfortable stay on both occasions . The rooms with a lake view were spacious and comfortable - we stayed on the first floor the first time around and were fortunate to get rooms on the floor above the second time - both equally well equipped and just what a weary traveler needed!

Fresh towels and adequate toiletries - comfortable beds and TV if required which we did given that we traveled with a 4 year old!

The staff were friendly and more than accommodating even going to great lengthd on our second stay to ensure that our meal requirements were met when we suggested that we would be going out for a meal as we weren't happy to order from the dinner menu which was too similar to that offered on our first visit.

The hotel is a short walk from the town square and we made the most of it especially after dinner -

A fabulous swimming pool with poolside service is also available - nothing better after a few hours in a car!!

All in all - a fabulous and well priced hotel that we will most definitely visit again...and would recommend to all!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.7 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 43 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#13 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Lugano Paradiso
ibis Lugano Paradiso
#20 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Colibri
Hotel Colibri
#27 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Delfino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfino

Address: Via Casserinetta 6, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Delfino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delfino is close to lakeshore and next to the center. The owner family is managing the hotel since almost 30 years with their individual style. All rooms dispose of balcony and all comforts, like AC, Flat Screen-TV and W-Lan. During the summer season, make the most of the heated outdoor swimming pool and its relaxing, fully furnished, surroundings.Our Restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine with fresh products an typical regional dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Delfino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfino Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Delfino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.