We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair Deal in Lugano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Delfino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Delfino to your Saves list
Hotel Delfino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Casserinetta 6, Lugano 6902, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fair Deal in Lugano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here early weekday, early January. The hotel is located close to the center in a slightly elevated area with partial views. The hotel restaurant and cafe area also features an outside terrace with pool area. Hotel style is slightly outdated ("Swiss Senior Citizen Style" ... Excuse my cynicism), but the whole property is very well kept and 100% clean. The rooms in the beforementioned style are good quality and beds are of high quality. Bathroom nothing fancy but again well kept and 100% clean. In the summer the pool area, I know from regular visits to this hotel, and adjacent terrace is a highlight of the hotel. All in all this is a place with a more fair room rate and that makes ist a rather good deal in Lugano. For dinner I recommend, provided you have a car, go to the close by Italian town ... E.g. Right there at the border post is Hotel Socrate with the similar named restaurant in the basement. Pizza and stuff at Italian prices. If you bring a little more time and have a car, even better is a ride to Mennagio in about 45 minutes, or even Bellagio by ferry boat.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    51
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
39
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was a really nice hotel. The room was well-appointed. The pool area was very attractive. The staff was courteous and helpful. And the breakfast was the best we had in any of the hotels we stayed in while we were in Switzerland. It's quite a hike from the funicular, but the accomodations at the price make it more than worthwhile. We would gladly go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Pros: great room, nice to go for a swim, reasonable price, VERY helpful English speaking staff, great breakfast. only con is that it is a bit of a walk to the pedestrian area/lake. I'd stay here again!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

It's like having to pay extra for having an telephone or tv in my room. Another way to collect money from the guests.

Room is quite ok, but it smells in there. I guess it's because of the old carpeting on the floor which has seen it's better days.

Mr. Payne's Mattress-check is again ruthless and unforgiven: THE MATTRESSES are too hard!
After a week I spend in Delfino I had to visit my chiropractic to get my back in shape again. I can only recommend for someone very heavy, or to the one who sleeps on the stomach.

Another ridiculous thing: In the hotel-book is written that keeping own foodstuff in the hotel fridge/minibar is forbidden, and that the guests could be charged extra for that. Hey; what am I paying for? What is good in minibar is that one drink (costs 4 chf) is offered you free of charge.

Breakfast is ok, nothing extra but basic swiss brekfast. Mr. Payne was though missing his eggs and bacon. Also tea served was just "black tea" without possibility to choose from different varieties.

There's nothing in Delfino what would lift it above the other 3-stars in Lugano.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

..but lousy restaurant. Add-on charges. Poor Internet (extra 5,00) connection.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay. Lovely walk to the city center and lake. Our room had a gorgeous view of the lake and mountains, was quiet enough that even at night we could leave the door to our patio open for the wonderful air.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get a room on an upper floor with a view of the lake. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Overall, we really enjoyed the Delfino. Very helpful staff. Good breakfast included, however, it is the same every day. The dining room was surprisingly good and reasonably priced by Swiss standards and was very quiet, only one other table served the night we were there. Rooms are small but comfortable and efficiently cleaned. We got a 3 nights for the price of 2 by staying over a Sunday night (i.e. 360 CHF for 3 nights). Great restaurants a very short drive away on the way up San Salvatore. Try the Grotto Morchino, or the Oesteria Calprino for Polenta (no English spoken, and like walking into an Italian Mama's kitchen) each about 200 CHF for 4.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Delfino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfino

Address: Via Casserinetta 6, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Delfino 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delfino is close to lakeshore and next to the center. The owner family is managing the hotel since almost 30 years with their individual style. All rooms dispose of balcony and all comforts, like AC, Flat Screen-TV and W-Lan. During the summer season, make the most of the heated outdoor swimming pool and its relaxing, fully furnished, surroundings.Our Restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine with fresh products an typical regional dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Delfino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfino Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Delfino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.