We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Delfino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Delfino to your Saves list
Hotel Delfino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Casserinetta 6, Lugano 6902, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Nyon, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location, good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Overall, we really enjoyed the Delfino. Very helpful staff. Good breakfast included, however, it is the same every day. The dining room was surprisingly good and reasonably priced by Swiss standards and was very quiet, only one other table served the night we were there. Rooms are small but comfortable and efficiently cleaned. We got a 3 nights for the price of 2 by staying over a Sunday night (i.e. 360 CHF for 3 nights). Great restaurants a very short drive away on the way up San Salvatore. Try the Grotto Morchino, or the Oesteria Calprino for Polenta (no English spoken, and like walking into an Italian Mama's kitchen) each about 200 CHF for 4.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    49
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
37
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The hotel is comfortable, but the decor - like so many places in this lovely country - looks like something from the 1970s. The room was small but comfortable. The hotel is located about fifteen minutes walk from the main part of town. At the moment, eating out in Switzerland is breathtakingly expensive. We had nice pizzas in the town, and they cost at least double what you'd pay in London.
The room was slightly stuffy during the night, but had a huge window out to a small balcony so we could fiddle around with that to get a breeze.
There is a small train line behind the hotel, but you can't hear it inside the building.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights back in May of 2012 and this hotel was absolutely perfect! The rooms were anything super fancy/flashy but that's not something I desired. The bed was comfortable, rooms were clean and well taken care of, and the bathrooms were quite spacious. The best part of the room though was the balcony. Wake up and seeing the view from the room every day was a great way to start off the day! The staff was very polite and willing to help at any time and the food was superb all 3 days of my stay. If you looking for a hotel with 5 star service but only a 3 star price, Hotel Delfino is the obvious choice when staying in Lugano!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We quite enjoyed staying here for one night & while the hotel is not particularly fancy, it was affordable by Swiss standards (many of the other hotels we looked at were much more expensive!) The hotel is not particularly large or new but has small, neat, clean rooms (nothing fancy) & I think some of the rooms must have a nice view, although ours didn't but that was fine.

We really enjoyed the pool & pool area and were pleased to be served by a waiter by the pool for drinks. I wished we had of eaten at the restaurant there for dinner, as although it wasn't cheap, I think it had to be better than the crappy, also expensive touristy restaurants in the centre which i was very disappointed with. The hotel is located about 10 mins walking distance from the centre in a quiet area.

The staff were fine, fairly quiet but the reception was open 24 hours I think, which was good when you came home late and they were also helpful with directions. The hotel is also walking distance to Monte San Salvatore (a cable car?) which goes up the nearby mountain & is well worth a visit. We also appreciated the underground parking at the hotel.

Room Tip: As for a room on a high floor facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We are just back from a long week end in Lugano and we enjoyed the Delfino very much. Not only the hotel is very clean, well located and has a fantastic swimming pool but the food is great and the staff extremely attentive and helpful.
Everything works as it should and the personnel just does the extra mile to please you.
It is 10mn by foot from the lake.
The only down side is the noise as the railway is just behind the hotel.
We will go back to Lugano and the Delfino as we really enjoyed our stay there

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The hotel is located in a quite area of Lugano, walking duistance from the centre. the staff is very friendly and helpful. Bedrooms are confortable and functional without being too fancy. Great opportunity to enjoy the swimmingpool if you do not wish to walk till the lake :-)

Room Tip: Ask for room on with view on the lake !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have just returned from a week long stay at the Delfino and would wholeheartedly recommend it. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times and our room was a good size with a pristine ensuite bathroom and a balcony overlooking one of Lugano's two big mountains, Monte San Salvatore. Breakfast was sumptiouswith a large selection of breads, croissants, cereals fresh fruit, meat and cheese. It was also served until 10am so no need to get up too early as is the case in some hotels! The swimming pool was beautifully located on a first floor terrace with a view over the mountains.
The only slight downside is the location - it is about a 15-20 minute walk from the town centre and the station. The walk to the town centre is so scenic that you don't really notice the distance. However, if you will be using the station a lot, it would probably be better to get the bus. The No2 bus travels from the town centre to the hotel via the railway station and only costs 1.60 CHFs for a single ticket.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Delfino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfino

Address: Via Casserinetta 6, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Delfino 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delfino is close to lakeshore and next to the center. The owner family is managing the hotel since almost 30 years with their individual style. All rooms dispose of balcony and all comforts, like AC, Flat Screen-TV and W-Lan. During the summer season, make the most of the heated outdoor swimming pool and its relaxing, fully furnished, surroundings.Our Restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine with fresh products an typical regional dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Delfino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfino Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Delfino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.