We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel; a 3* with a 5* service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Delfino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Delfino to your Saves list
Hotel Delfino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Casserinetta 6, Lugano 6902, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel; a 3* with a 5* service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We are just back from a long week end in Lugano and we enjoyed the Delfino very much. Not only the hotel is very clean, well located and has a fantastic swimming pool but the food is great and the staff extremely attentive and helpful.
Everything works as it should and the personnel just does the extra mile to please you.
It is 10mn by foot from the lake.
The only down side is the noise as the railway is just behind the hotel.
We will go back to Lugano and the Delfino as we really enjoyed our stay there

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    48
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
35
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vevey, Switzerland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The hotel is located in a quite area of Lugano, walking duistance from the centre. the staff is very friendly and helpful. Bedrooms are confortable and functional without being too fancy. Great opportunity to enjoy the swimmingpool if you do not wish to walk till the lake :-)

Room Tip: Ask for room on with view on the lake !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have just returned from a week long stay at the Delfino and would wholeheartedly recommend it. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times and our room was a good size with a pristine ensuite bathroom and a balcony overlooking one of Lugano's two big mountains, Monte San Salvatore. Breakfast was sumptiouswith a large selection of breads, croissants, cereals fresh fruit, meat and cheese. It was also served until 10am so no need to get up too early as is the case in some hotels! The swimming pool was beautifully located on a first floor terrace with a view over the mountains.
The only slight downside is the location - it is about a 15-20 minute walk from the town centre and the station. The walk to the town centre is so scenic that you don't really notice the distance. However, if you will be using the station a lot, it would probably be better to get the bus. The No2 bus travels from the town centre to the hotel via the railway station and only costs 1.60 CHFs for a single ticket.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend for a family celebration. Although the hotel is not in the centre it is a pleasant walk downhill and either along the lake or down a road. Taxis are very expensive but outside the hotel is a bus stop and for 2 swiss francs you can take a bus into Lugano. You need to have change and purchase the ticket before getting on the bus. On return you need to get off at St Birgitta and the area is paradiso. We found the hotel lovely and although the rooms are small, perfectly adequate and well equipped. Each room has a balcony with chairs. Spotlessly clean and lovely, helpful staff. The pool area is a delight to have a drink, enjoy a meal or sunbathe. Beach towels are provided in the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011 via mobile

Location quite ok, if you like walking. Takes 20 min to downtown.
Rooms quite small, facing west poor view.
Pool area ok, could be more attractive. No decoration whatsoever, just outdoor furniture. Area Not in use. Poor service. Even on pleasant mornings breakfast outdoor imposs (statement by hotel
mmgt: what do you expect, we
have ninety guests! If everybody
wants this!)
Very filthy carpet in staircase from
lobby to restaurant and pool area.
Price-value not adequate!
Good parking if you come by car.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

I had a fantastic stay at the Hotel Delfino. I stayed in two different rooms, a single facing San Sal and a double facing the lake. Both were excellent rooms. The beds were very comfortable, the bathrooms were we thoughtfully arranged, and the balconies were a treat. I didn't have luck setting up the internet in my room but I used the lobby computer.
The staff is exceptional. I needed many questions answered and they were happy to help me with everyone of them. The breakfast was very good. The fruit salad was my favorite.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

hello trip advisor readers!! im a mexican girl who was working into hotel´s of 5 starts and 5 dimonds at playa del carmen mexico, and now I´m staying at switzerland with my swiss bf!, we were looking for a good hotel for a good price, lugano its extremedely expensive! so we found this hotel, we thought it was far away from the village!(lake and touristic places) but it´s only 5 minutes by car and maybe 10 minutes walking. The only maybe bad thing for people who doesnt has car it´s that you have to climb one hill for getting there! but that´s not a big problem!!.also in the corner of the hotel there´s a stop for a buss, For people who has car you can pay a parking lot at the hotel for 15 chf, if not and if you are lucky, you can park outside the hotel(that´s what my bf and me did) it was safe!. When we arrived to the hotel, the tall blond receptionist was a little bit serious, maybe she need´s to smile a little bit more, she told us to go back at 3:00 pm that its the time for cheking in, so my bf and i decided to make a city tour at lugano(beautiful, romantic, with the best pizza!) and then we came back, the room was ready! it´s small but clean, i checked every spot! including inside the toilett, its really good for people who only want´s to rest and visit the city, it was a bath in the shower and minibar that you have to pay if you drink something, necesary amenities at the bathroom nothing fancy.In the night there are not any activity only a restaurant bar that it´s open, but always you can go outside the city! that´s what my bf and I did, we went to casino(Miryam the receptionist was really kind and she gave us 10 usd each cupon for playing the rulet at the casino) of course we lost but she was really kind for helping us in our questions, and then dancing to this nightclub calling privilage it was so nice! but expensive 20 usd entrance plus drinks.
In the morning with the fare that you pay they gave you breakfast(juice, bread, cheese, jambon, yogourh,fruit, butter, confiture, cereal, coffe, tea) it was nice really!
Im really happy with this hotel, and if one day i go back to lugano i will stay once again here, as was clean, confortable, and good price.
i hope my comment helped you to decide where to stay!
hasta luego!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Delfino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfino

Address: Via Casserinetta 6, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Delfino 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delfino is close to lakeshore and next to the center. The owner family is managing the hotel since almost 30 years with their individual style. All rooms dispose of balcony and all comforts, like AC, Flat Screen-TV and W-Lan. During the summer season, make the most of the heated outdoor swimming pool and its relaxing, fully furnished, surroundings.Our Restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine with fresh products an typical regional dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Delfino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfino Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Delfino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.