We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in Lugano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Castagnola 31, Lugano 6906, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A week in Lugano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Beautiful hotel & beautifully located. Highlights for my wife and I were breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the lake and relaxing right along the lake in the lakeside club. The staff was excellent. The hotel is easy to get to. It was an excellent point to explore the whole area, including Lake Como. We would love to go back. I would recommend it highly!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zorloni, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your positive comment. We are happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay at Villa Castagnola. As you said, during summer you can enjoy the terrace and the panorama on park and lake the best. We also thank you for the compliments to our staff, we do our best to make our guests feel at ease and are happy to read the results of our efforts are so positive.
We hope to welcome you back soon in Lugano!

Sunny regards,

Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy Manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    27
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
25
84
5
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is one of the most amazing hotels I have ever stayed at. It is as close to perfect as humanly possible. The hotel is big enough to have all of the services and amenities you'd want, but never feels too big. The building and grounds are lovely. The terrace where you can have breakfast and dinner is very nice. My only complaint about that is that smoking is allowed, and there were a lot of people smoking (cigarettes and cigars) when we were there. Nothing to be done about that - most outdoor eating spaces in Europe allow smoking. The staff are extremely nice, helpful, efficient, and really go out of their way to make your stay great. The breakfast is excellent - many choices of fresh juice, jams and preserves, honey, butter, tea, breads, cereals, eggs any way you like, waffles, pancakes, cheese, salmon, meats, etc. etc. etc. The pool is very nice. One of my favorite things is the sauna/Turkish bath area. You make an appointment to have this to yourself, and it is a quite large area with a beautiful sauna with little head rests and perfect music (so low it is almost subliminal), a fantastic tiled steam bath with cold hand sprays to cool you off and make more steam, I counted about 4 different showers in the various rooms, as well as a plunge bath for post-sauna, a foot bath, and wonderful bath gel and lotion in all of these locations, plus towels and bottled water never more than 10 feet away. It is worth going to the Villa Castagnola just to experience this area.

Room Tip: Facing the lake, on one of the higher floors (for best views and not as close to the terrace)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zorloni, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
we thank you for your beautiful comment. We are really pleased to read that you had an enjoyable and satisfying stay at Villa Castagnola and that our staff made you feel at your ease. We appreciate that you liked our charming property and the privileged location.
We also thank you for sharing your thoughts about guests smoking on the terrace. Unfortunately, we cannot ban smoking outside, but we could certainly find alternative solutions for the future.
We will surely forward your compliments to the respective staff and look forward to welcome you back soon for another relaxing stay in Lugano!

Kindest regards

Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy Manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow Oblast, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

A luxury hotel! Marvelous restaurants. The rooms are very cosy and spacy (especially I liked the mirrows everywhere).We found the design of the hotel very elegant (My respect to the Russian aristocrats who built this hotel in the 19th century).Best of all we liked the privacy of the lake lido

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zorloni, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very nice comment. We are truly happy to read that you appreciated the special atmosphere at the Villa Castagnola and its style. We love to take care of every detail!
Indeed, as you said, the private lido at the lake is a very relaxing spot and is much appreciated from all guests. We would love to welcome you back soon for another memorable stay in our hotel,
Best regards

Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy Manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Absolute luxury. Felt like royalty. Delicious breakfasts. Staff were very friendly and helpful. But all this comes at a price and a very hefty price. I would stay here again if someone paid for me but would not pay these prices again.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a lot of money on your credit card before staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zorloni, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your nice comment. With pleasure we read that you appreciated the style and atmosphere of the Villa Castagnola and the friendliness of our staff. To be able to welcoming you again at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola our reservation team will be delighted to propose you interesting holiday packages.

We look forward to welcome you back soon,

Best regards

Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy Manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We chose the hotel because of its quiet 10 minute walk to central Lugano. Separated from the lake by a road, Villa Castagnola is in a park like setting with incredible views. Breakfast was excellent.

However food served at lunch was just ok as we ordered Caesar salad with chicken and although the chicken was very tasty it was shockingly served with iceberg or similar tasteless lettuce rather than with traditional romaine lettuce. I mentioned this at checkout and the hotel receptionist surprisingly for a five star hotel seemed to simply ignore or shrug off my comments.

Room Tip: Higher floors with lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zorloni, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

we thank you very much for your comment. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the very special location of our hotel and the unique panorama which you can have from here. We are also very happy to read that our breakfast buffet was of your taste. We will forward your compliments for the breakfast but also your remark regarding the quality of the Caesar salad and the reaction of our front desk staff. At Villa Castagnola we want that our customers depart with satisfaction. Therefore guests' comments and remarks are very important for us.

We certainly look forward to welcome you back soon for another regenerating stay at Villa Castagnola.

Sunny regards from Lugano

Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy Manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We spent a long weekend at the hotel in June this year and enjoyed our stay immensely. The room we had was exactly as we expected, it was roomy, clean and the view was great.

The check-in was smooth and friendly. We found all the staff very accommodating, whether it be at the reception desk or at the restaurant.

I read many reviews prior to booking this hotel. For those who had a bad experience there, you must have picked one of "those days" because we had a great stay there.

The location is a little way from the main centre of Lugano, but in my opinion, that only helps to preserve the beauty of the place.

In all honestly, it is really not that far if you don't mind a nice walk along the lake, through a park to get to the busier centre. We did it several time and found the stroll very enjoyable.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a very nice hotel in Lugano.

We won't stay anywhere else when we next visit beautiful Lugano

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

we thank you very much for your beautiful comment! We are very happy to read that you had pleasant stay at Villa Castagnola and enjoyed the service and friendliness of our staff. We will forward your compliments to all employees. Indeed our hotel is in a very special location, being a few minutes away from the city center but at the same time surrounded by a peaceful and romantic subtropical park. We certainly look forward to welcome you back soon for another memorable experience with us.

Sunny regards from Lugano

Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy Manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have returned to this stunning hotel time and time again. Whether relaxing on comfortable sun beds, set within the beautiful gardens, or dinning on the terrace overlooking the lake, the view across the lake is stunning. The hotel, once owned by a Russian aristocrat, is lavishly styled with chic furnishings and beautiful flower arrangements to compliment many of the reception areas.
The decor is extended to the sumptuous bedrooms, which all overlook lake Lugano. If you think Switzerland is just for skiing, think again. Lugano , situated on the border of Italy, bakes in an almost Mediterranean sun from June onwards. Staff welcome you with typical Italian warmness, and the hotel is run with Swiss efficiency. This is a jewel of a hotel.

Room Tip: All standards good. Recommend the junior suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Jacquelin,
Thank you very much for your very positive comment. With pleasure we read that you had the chance to fully enjoy the style of our hotel and the surrounding region. As you said, Lugano is a Swiss city but with Italian flair, the region and the hotel offer a special atmosphere and we like to spoil our guest and make them live a unique stay.
We would love to welcome you back soon,

Best regards

Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy Manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola

Address: Viale Castagnola 31, Lugano 6906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#3 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, member of the “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”, is the only five star superior Hotel in Lugano and enjoys a privileged position inside a large sub-tropical park and with a beautiful view towards the lake. The elegant villa, built in 1860, combines the charm of a former era with the comfort and the care of a modern luxury hotel. The hotel offers 78 rooms, of exceptional charm, individually styled, provided with every modern comfort and with stunning park and/or lake views, balcony, terrace or loggia. All rooms, of which 28 are Junior Suites and Suites, have individual air-conditioning, and provide the most modern comforts. Restaurant Le Relais – 14 points GaultMillau-: In an elegant setting, our Executive Chef Bertogna, suggests a light and innovative Mediterranean cuisine, a balance between colours and delicate flavours that you won’t forget. In season lunch and dinner are served on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the garden and the lake. Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago -1 Michelin Star, 16 points GaulMillau - :A theme restaurant inside an art gallery. Restaurant renewed and embellished through artworks and sculptures of contemporary artists of international stature who alternate every six months. Right on the shore of the lake, the Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago offers a magnificent and unique view over the gulf of Lugano. Signature dishes are entirely new and original from our Executive Chef Frank Oerthle. Top notch are the facilities offered for meeting and events: any event assumes a special distinction - a grand banquet or less formal luncheon, business meeting or conference, private party, dinner or wedding up to 120 people. A large and impressive venue is the Sala delle Palme, set to recall an oriental atmosphere with its Indian Rajastan panoplies and Afganistan doors dated XIX century. All our venues are appreciated for the day light and the unique ornamentation and for the unclenching rooms, private sitting-rooms, conference halls of different sizes such as Le Pavillon connected to the park trough the outdoor veranda, La Sala Delle Colonne, Sala Letizia, Sala Carlotta and Sala Ottavia, the Biblioteca and Sala Kwium.Villa Castagnola has a spectacular indoor swimming-pool with panoramic views over the gardens, a Wellness Corner, a Clarins Beauty Corner, a Danilo Hairstyling, a table-tennis room, outdoor hard court tennis fields and a private lake terrace. The Hotel is well connected to Lugano’s railway station and Airport (only 7Km to the Lugano-Agno Airport), and has easy access to the Motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castagnola
Grand Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.