We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice & quite, service is excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Castagnola 31, Lugano 6906, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice & quite, service is excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Love the graden, nice & quite hotel, service is excellent, food is great. Massage and the signature restaurant are closed on Sunday & Monday!! The one bedroom suite is fine, although it is 2 connecting room, one is salon and the other is bedroom. The housekeeping is very week and toilet of the suite is not maintained well. All in all we did enjoy the rest of the hotel facility.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our charming hotel and garden. All our 78 rooms are individually styled, therefore next time we can surely find the best suited room for you!

We are sorry to hear that you did not have the chance to taste the gourmet cuisine of our Michelin Star Restaurant Galleria Arté al Lago.
We look forward to welcoming back soon.

Kind regards,

Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    35
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
115
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My experience with the hotel started before we even get there.. I received a punctual response from the Concierge to my enquiries as soon as I sent the email.
Very warm welcome and great hospitality, we appreciate they nice decoration and amenities we found ready in the suite... As well as the upgrade to a very nice suite on the 4th floor
Special thanks to Ms. Barbra in Reception for the warm welcome and smile as well as her concern to any need or request. the whole team is very professional and we have enjoyed a flawless operation.

Special recognition to the team at ARTE , very nice restaurant where we had an enjoyable fine dinning dinner..

We will definitely talk positively about your hotel, and for sure come back again..

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and enjoy the lac view from a higher floor... A second bathroom in a suite is a big p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Nallam,
What a great comment! Thank you!

We are always happy to help our guests to organize their travel and stay in Lugano. It is important for us to give our guests and future guests a good impression of what will be their stay.

We will of course forward your review to Barbara, to the Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago and as well as the entire team.

Do not hesitate to contact us to book your next stay!
Kind regards,

Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed at Villa Castagnola 2 weeks in a row. Gives you the feeling of becoming part of a familie: Staff very friendly and willing to help out. The restaurant was under construction, but they arranged still a good meal. The alternative is restaurant Arte, a haute cuisine restaurant 'next door', part of the Villa. Will come Back for sure in summertime, taking advantage of the location allmost next to the lake.
The rooms are clean and with all basic facilities needed in the modern time: WIFI, in room entertainment and enough power sockets.
Prices are like the other Lugano hotels. Carparking in underground parking is expensieve at CHF 20/night.

Room Tip: Ask room on the lake side for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Arie,

thank you very much for your nice review!
We are more than happy to hear that you had the feeling of being part of the family. Indeed, we did some refreshments in our Restaurant Le Relais during the whole month of February and we are glad to read that you appreciated the cuisine of the Restaurant Galleria Arté al Lago.

We look forward to welcoming you again in summertime when you will also have the chance to enjoy our private terrace on the lake. Lugano is awesome in summer!

Best regards,

Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was an amazing hotel in Lugano. The staff were fantastic and the service outstanding. We had a Junior suite and it was everything that was mentioned on their site and more. We really appreciated all the room that we had as we stayed the last two nights of our Europe tour of over 4 weeks. It was a real delight to stay here and have a little bit of pampering. The concierge organised for a car to take us to Milan airport and checked on everything for us. We had room service which was great and the meal of a very high quality. The bed was really comfortable the best we had stayed in so we had great sleeps.
The rooms were very quiet which was a bonus. The view of the lovely gardens was spectacular with the Christmas lights still up. The breakfast was also outstanding.
Overall I can't speak highly enough of this hotel and given half a chance would be back to stay anytime we got back to this area.

Room Tip: We got a taxi from the station and I wouldn't walk it because of the hills. There is a great bak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Tricia,

we are more than happy to hear that we were able to close your trip in Europe with a memorable stay and thank you very much for your amazing comment!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon at the Villa Castagnola and perhaps next time during the summer season?
With kind regards,

Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
123 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel twice, once 2 years ago, and the last time a week ago, in December 2013. This is fabulous grand hotel, a great example of the Swiss hotel tradition. Everything is impeccable. The service is amazing. We had a suite overlooking the lake -- what an amazing view! The food was also fantastic, with inventive menu. You feel you are being pampered. What a treat!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
what a nice review! it was a pleasure reading your comment, which is exactly what we are looking to offer our guests: the feeling of being special.
Hoping to welcoming you soon again at the Villa Castagnola we remain with
Best regards,

Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel for a week on half board basis in August last year. The property is beautifully located by the lake and is surrounded by gardens with a pool.
Our room was overlooking the lake and it was very comfortable. The food was fantastic and very original. Every night the menu was different and during a whole week we never eat the same dish. Service at the restaurant was very professional and made us feel welcome and special at every meal. After dinner the hotel bar was a great place to relax, listen to piano and chat with a barman who is been there for years!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great comment. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Castagnola combined with half board. For us it is important that you have a selection of meal during your stay which you can enjoy in a comfortable atmosphere and we are more than happy to see that you felt this way .
We look forward to welcoming you for another occasion.
Best regards,

Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Cannot fault this beautiful hotel for anything. Impeccable rooms, bedding, bathrooms. Charming, cordial and attentive staff, always present but never bothersome. The building, grounds, artwork, sculptures all make for a Hollywood set, casting Grant and Hepburn! The two restaurants, Le Relais in the main building and Arte on the lake are quite exceptional, both different but each outstanding. Wines from Ticino are terrific and the cellar here has a fine offering. You'll love the bar, bartenders and the piano player, they all make for a great experience. Dine on the outdoor terrace when available, and look back at this magnificent hotel, every detail. Whoever owns and or manages this fine hotel loves their hard work, it is evident everywhere. If you do not like this hotel.... Don't travel, throw in the towel and stay home.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake and gardens would be the first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
we thank you very much for your great feedback and are pleased to hear that you really appreciated your stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola. The description of your experience is very flattering, THANK YOU!
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at the Villa Castagnola.
Best regards,
Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lugano
1.0 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.7 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#3 of 43 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
1.0 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.1 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 43 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola

Address: Viale Castagnola 31, Lugano 6906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#3 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, member of the “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”, is the only five star superior Hotel in Lugano and enjoys a privileged position inside a large sub-tropical park and with a beautiful view towards the lake. The elegant villa, built in 1860, combines the charm of a former era with the comfort and the care of a modern luxury hotel. The hotel offers 78 rooms, of exceptional charm, individually styled, provided with every modern comfort and with stunning park and/or lake views, balcony, terrace or loggia. All rooms, of which 28 are Junior Suites and Suites, have individual air-conditioning, and provide the most modern comforts. Restaurant Le Relais – 14 points GaultMillau-: In an elegant setting, our Executive Chef Bertogna, suggests a light and innovative Mediterranean cuisine, a balance between colours and delicate flavours that you won’t forget. In season lunch and dinner are served on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the garden and the lake. Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago -1 Michelin Star, 16 points GaulMillau - :A theme restaurant inside an art gallery. Restaurant renewed and embellished through artworks and sculptures of contemporary artists of international stature who alternate every six months. Right on the shore of the lake, the Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago offers a magnificent and unique view over the gulf of Lugano. Signature dishes are entirely new and original from our Executive Chef Frank Oerthle. Top notch are the facilities offered for meeting and events: any event assumes a special distinction - a grand banquet or less formal luncheon, business meeting or conference, private party, dinner or wedding up to 120 people. A large and impressive venue is the Sala delle Palme, set to recall an oriental atmosphere with its Indian Rajastan panoplies and Afganistan doors dated XIX century. All our venues are appreciated for the day light and the unique ornamentation and for the unclenching rooms, private sitting-rooms, conference halls of different sizes such as Le Pavillon connected to the park trough the outdoor veranda, La Sala Delle Colonne, Sala Letizia, Sala Carlotta and Sala Ottavia, the Biblioteca and Sala Kwium.Villa Castagnola has a spectacular indoor swimming-pool with panoramic views over the gardens, a Wellness Corner, a Clarins Beauty Corner, a Danilo Hairstyling, a table-tennis room, outdoor hard court tennis fields and a private lake terrace. The Hotel is well connected to Lugano’s railway station and Airport (only 7Km to the Lugano-Agno Airport), and has easy access to the Motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Venere, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castagnola
Grand Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.