We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old meets new - a grand hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Castagnola 31, Lugano 6906, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Old meets new - a grand hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Lovely place. In the middle of high season and still you feel absolutely unstressed. The hotel is beautiful, great staff, restaurant service is excellent, the park and tennis court are one-of-a-kind and finally, the hotel has a great private lido with direct lake access. This is a signature grand hotel. It has real class.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure to read your comment. For us, it is important that our Guests feel good during their stay. It must be a home away from home and we are glad to hear that our service were up to your expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards,
Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    27
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
25
84
5
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

For our first stay in Lugano, we stayed here with the kids in the San Salvidore suite. A huge room with two separate bedroom and baths. There are 3 balconies to take advantage of the stunning lake view. The service at the hotel was great, they truly took care of us. The hotel breakfast was great. Prices for room service are very expensive as are the restaurant on he hotel. The hotel has a nice garden, ideal for kids to run around and the hotel is away from the main touristy section, which is nice, but was a little walk to get to a nice restaurant. A block away was a great spot for pizza and Italian food called Neapolis. We had take out pizza one night, which the kids loved instead of a 1 1/2 hour sit down dinner. All in all, we will be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you back soon! The San Salvatore two-bedroom suite is indeed a good accommodation for families with a beautiful view as it is located on the 5th floor.

We thank you again for your nice comment and look forward to welcoming soon again.
Best regards,
Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Beautiful old historical hotel but not dark and dreary. Lovely pastel coloured room overlooking a tropical park just across from the lake. Wonderful terrace for breakfast. Staff spoke all languages and couldn't be more helpful. I'd definitely go again. Garden area dotted with fabulous modern sculptures and lovely pool. Worth the money. Check it out online, you'll see.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Lyn,
Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Villa Castagnola. For us it is important to be able to communicate in our Guests’ mother tongue in order to be more helpful and to offer a tailor-made service.
As you mentioned, we are having until end of October 2013 the exhibition of the Swiss artist Nag Arnoldi in our splendid park and other exposures will come soon.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,

Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night in a junior suite. Really nice interior design, true feeling of a "grand hotel". The junior suites come with a small balcony which gives you splendid lake and garden views. I was very happy with the room, service etc the only bad thing were the beds which were not comfortable at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that our decoration attracted you and that you felt well to be in a “Grand Hotel”. However we are sorry to hear that our beds did not meet your expectations. Of course, we will forward the information through the hotel in order to improve our quality.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Grand hotel Villa Castagnola.
Best regards,

Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was in a great location. Right in front of the funicolare, down the street from the walk to Gandria, and a short walk into town for shopping and more restaurants. The grounds of the hotel were gorgeous with their landscaping and sculptures.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear guest,
We appreciate your comment and we are glad to see that you were satisfied from your stay. Our hotel is certainly situated in a good location for many activities, we hope you will come back again and enjoy and discover new “leisure” activities; our concierge is always very happy to give advice and tips to our customers.
Best regards,
Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was our first time in Lugano, but our 3rd visit to a 5 star hotel on the magnificent Swiss lakes. We had booked a junior suite, for my wife, 2 year old Son and myself, and were rather disappointed. The room was nothing special, very basic with a small balcony, and a glimpse of the lake in the distance. 2 small bathrooms, as it became apparent that this suite was once 2 bedrooms knocked into one. Shame they didn't knock the bathrooms into one. Apart from a cot in the room, this hotel does not really cater for children, although they did provide a babysitter for when we visited their restaurant across the road, which is actually lakeside. The service was ok, but only when you asked for help. Dining in the restaurant was a great experience, but the food is very expensive, above Swiss average. The gym is tiny, 3 would be a crowd, and the swimming pool is very cold. Our Son was shivering after 20 mins. Some aspects were good, but at these prices, there is much better value elsewhere in Switzerland, and closer to the lake!

Room Tip: Go for a major suite, on 2nd or 3rd floor, these are in the centre of the hotel with a large balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comment, we appreciate honest feedback.
We will pass the information through our concerned department and we will do our best in order to make the guest feel more special and comfortable.
Best regards,
Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a welcome we received when we arrived at the hotel for a four day stay which also co-incided with my birthday , the Villa Castagnola just oozes old world charm and sophistication that automatically makes you feel warm inside and this also extends to the staff there who take care of all your needs .the moment you check in till the moment you leave you feel wanted and not just because of business but there is a genuine affection from the staff that makes any request has no problem feel , filled with Italian charm and a an aim to please disposition ,forgive me if I am gushing but today you rarely find such a place as this .
We ate at the wonderful Arte restaurant a superb evening with friends in a delightful setting ,the bar in the hotel holds a great deal atmosphere for that aperitif or after dinner drink .The concierge played an important part of our trip and all the reservations and recommendation they made were all done with lots of eagerness and initiative.
When we left they had arranged a house car for us that whisked us off to the station for our train back to Zurich ,as it is only 2hours 30 minutes away it seems we have found a new haunt for a quick getaway. can^t wait.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Robert,
What a pleasure reading your review!
We are very pleased to hear that your stay was wonderful and that our staff was able to fulfill your requests.
We are looking to welcoming you soon,
Best Regards,
Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola

Address: Viale Castagnola 31, Lugano 6906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#3 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, member of the “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”, is the only five star superior Hotel in Lugano and enjoys a privileged position inside a large sub-tropical park and with a beautiful view towards the lake. The elegant villa, built in 1860, combines the charm of a former era with the comfort and the care of a modern luxury hotel. The hotel offers 78 rooms, of exceptional charm, individually styled, provided with every modern comfort and with stunning park and/or lake views, balcony, terrace or loggia. All rooms, of which 28 are Junior Suites and Suites, have individual air-conditioning, and provide the most modern comforts. Restaurant Le Relais – 14 points GaultMillau-: In an elegant setting, our Executive Chef Bertogna, suggests a light and innovative Mediterranean cuisine, a balance between colours and delicate flavours that you won’t forget. In season lunch and dinner are served on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the garden and the lake. Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago -1 Michelin Star, 16 points GaulMillau - :A theme restaurant inside an art gallery. Restaurant renewed and embellished through artworks and sculptures of contemporary artists of international stature who alternate every six months. Right on the shore of the lake, the Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago offers a magnificent and unique view over the gulf of Lugano. Signature dishes are entirely new and original from our Executive Chef Frank Oerthle. Top notch are the facilities offered for meeting and events: any event assumes a special distinction - a grand banquet or less formal luncheon, business meeting or conference, private party, dinner or wedding up to 120 people. A large and impressive venue is the Sala delle Palme, set to recall an oriental atmosphere with its Indian Rajastan panoplies and Afganistan doors dated XIX century. All our venues are appreciated for the day light and the unique ornamentation and for the unclenching rooms, private sitting-rooms, conference halls of different sizes such as Le Pavillon connected to the park trough the outdoor veranda, La Sala Delle Colonne, Sala Letizia, Sala Carlotta and Sala Ottavia, the Biblioteca and Sala Kwium.Villa Castagnola has a spectacular indoor swimming-pool with panoramic views over the gardens, a Wellness Corner, a Clarins Beauty Corner, a Danilo Hairstyling, a table-tennis room, outdoor hard court tennis fields and a private lake terrace. The Hotel is well connected to Lugano’s railway station and Airport (only 7Km to the Lugano-Agno Airport), and has easy access to the Motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castagnola
Grand Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.