We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No worries, no hassle!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso

Save Saved
You added Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carona 27, Lugano 6902, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“No worries, no hassle!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel on our way to Tuscany and -due to heavy traffic and bad weather conditions- we have not been able to do anything else in Lugano. The reception staff was very professional and was kind enough to upgrade us to a suite. The room was nice and spacious. We went to the restaurant and again staff was very professional. Food was average and quite expensive. The bar was great... Great view, great atmosphere and again great staff. For us, the one night stay was exactly as it should be: a welcome rest after a long drive, in a very professional and welcoming atmosphere. One point of critique though: the overall look of the hotel is rather dated.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    77
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
45
76
6
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

It was a clean, lovely hotel. With very good breakfast menu. Actually it has one of the best breakfast menus that I had in Europe. The staff was friendly, and the view from the hotel was very good. The only downside is you need to walk down the hill and then up the hill to reach the action. You can also take public transport if you have younger kids.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite with view. The suite was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We enjoyed our three days stay very much. We were surprised to get one of the suites with garden!
The hotel is directly located at public transport. Handicapped persons might call the hotel prior booking first: you need to walk a bit downhill. However they provide a free shuttle service.
Room was excellent and calm. Breakfast was superb (live cooking) and the staff very friendly.
Full score from us!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed for the long weekend & it was a nice stay- but- there was just something........ I cant put my finger on it though so here are my thoughts & observations. Check in was smooth & with out issue- we got the room we had booked & paid for. Lobby was well appointed, lots of seating. decor was lacking and a little 90's looking- but not horrible- just dated. We booked a suite & it was up on the 2nd floor- nice size, a full living room with enough seating for the 2 of us, desk & chair which was nice. The suite does have a 1/2 kitchen that is hidden behind these doors that we could not remove- we asked & were told it would cost us more for the kitchen & that it is there for "the residents" which leads me to believe there is some sort of a time share deal with this place. No biggie- all we wanted to use was the fridge & there was a mini-bar under the TV in the cabinet. Bathroom was on the small size for the size of room- but there were enough towels, water pressure was great- although the water would go from HOT to COLD & then back & forth again in the shower. Toiletries were alright but nothing great. Bedroom was a good size, enough closet space for our needs & a patio off the bedroom that looked out onto the parking lot & also the forrest & up the mountain- not a terrible view- just not great. It would have been nice to have seating out on that patio as it was the only one that caught the sun for this room. THE BED...... Hmmmmm- ok- so the bed was hard- I dont know if this is a Swiss thing- but we have encountered these beds before here in Switzerland & the down pillows needed to be doubled- we asked for 2 more pillows the 2nd night but could have used more. 1 pillow- you might as well not have one. Not great sleep- just ok.... The patio off the living room had a fabulous view of Lugano & part of the lake but mostly the roof of the restaurant. Lounge chairs out front as well as a table & chairs- too bad the sun doesnt hit this patio until about 7:30pm. Ah well- what do you do right? One of the things that wasnt right about this hotel is the planter boxes that are on every floor & off every room of the hotel- the poor dead & dying plants in them that have certainly been forgotten over the years. Overgrown ivy, anemic looking plants that just need to be put out of their misery. So sad- the rest of the property looks so well cared for, nice flowers, hydrangeas, palms & impatiens- but then there are the flower boxes...... C'mon people- dig out all those old dead/dying plants out & put in some new soil & new plants- it could be beautiful. Its like a cake with ugly frosting....... Plant seeds every spring or something- seeds are cheap & you have fabulous weather there- geraniums anything with color.......
We did go to the Havana Deck which was great if you dont mind cigar/cigarette smoke- it was strange being in a bar where you can still do that. Great drinks & a professional staff & a fantastic view of Lugano. As former smokers we didnt really mind the smoke- all the windows were open but there was 1 time that I looked around the room & we were the only ones not smoking..... Needless to say our clothes needed to be put into a plastic bag & packed..... We didnt eat @ the restaurants @ the hotel- looking @ the prices in the Japanese restaurant really turned us off- we live in Geneva & yes Switzerland is expensive- but really 69 francs for sushi & 100+ for a bento box- I hope you get to keep the box!!!! The restaurant areas were a little on the dated side as well- with a nice view though.
We tried using the pool as we were looking for somewhere to relax in the sun since we didnt get any on our patio- its an indoor pool & there were only 4 lounge chairs in there & all were taken so we left- plus its so loud in an indoor pool area when there are screaming kids- I know- they are allowed but it would be nice to offer an area to lay in the sun outside to see the view. Nothing we could find.
All in all- hotel was nice, staff was helpful especially the trainee that helped me many a time asking for suggestions- she will be a great asset to your team.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel is really good! Nice, in a nice area, nice breakfast und very helpful and nice staff .Nice swimming-pool.This stay we are enjoied on Maximum. We will come back again for sure. I recommend it !!!!! From Balkony you can see a very beautiful lake.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Two nights here over the May 1st holiday. A luxurious spacious hotel with touches of class, especially the Havana Bar but high prices and a slow and pompous restaurant manager took the edge off an otherwise pleasant sojourn. Balcony overlooking the lake and well-equipped large bedroom suite, but the location high above the town enforced eating in the main restaurant, where one was made to feel that while you were a valued client you were not as important as the maître d' himself. Undercover but not secure parking. Efficient front desk run by young women in smart dresses, who took special care to show us around the facilities upon arrival.

Room Tip: Obviously one wants to request a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The location is great incl. nice view. Outstanding Havanna bar and Japanese Restaurant. The suites have a nice view over the city and the personal is helpful and friendly. Also the breakfast was really great. But the rooms are outdated and the over all value does not match the price! Hope this will be done, then I come
Back and will be willing to pay this price!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso

Address: Via Carona 27, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, Italian designer hotel with recreational facilities; overlooking lake from a serene hill; walking distance to the center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso Lugano
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;