We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury in Lugano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso to your Saves list
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carona 27, Lugano 6902, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“luxury in Lugano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Two nights here over the May 1st holiday. A luxurious spacious hotel with touches of class, especially the Havana Bar but high prices and a slow and pompous restaurant manager took the edge off an otherwise pleasant sojourn. Balcony overlooking the lake and well-equipped large bedroom suite, but the location high above the town enforced eating in the main restaurant, where one was made to feel that while you were a valued client you were not as important as the maître d' himself. Undercover but not secure parking. Efficient front desk run by young women in smart dresses, who took special care to show us around the facilities upon arrival.

Room Tip: Obviously one wants to request a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    86
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
48
82
6
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The location is great incl. nice view. Outstanding Havanna bar and Japanese Restaurant. The suites have a nice view over the city and the personal is helpful and friendly. Also the breakfast was really great. But the rooms are outdated and the over all value does not match the price! Hope this will be done, then I come
Back and will be willing to pay this price!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We booked the penthouse suite for one night to celebrate my birthday and it was gorgeous. The view is incredible overlooking the lake and the city Lugano. The staff is also very friendly. We wish we couldve stayed longer and enjoy their amenities like the squash court, havana bar, swimming pool and the japanese restaurant. We did go up to mt. San Salvatore which was walking distance from the hotel to catch the tram. We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lugano.

Room Tip: High floor to get the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in a suite for 2 nights, which was very spacious and had 2 nice balconies, but I was not happy with the location of the hotel. It is a very long walk to the center of Lugano but there is a train at the bottom of the hill which can take you 1 stop to Lugano. The restaurant in the hotel is outrageously expensive and there are few restaurant options nearby.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed at one of the suites. The room was comfortable and spacey. The main room was nestled at the back with no view and very poor lighting.
The best view was from the terrace. The worst part is the food. The japanese restaurant was very VERY bad. when i ordered a Gohan they brought me a white rice risotto since no Japanese white rice was available!!!! (how do you manage to make sushi then ? Absolutely overpriced. We had a rented car which proved to be a life saviour, without it the shuttle bus is not your best bet.
Breakfast was mediocre, and room service has basically what bas food is offered at the restaurants plus a few more sandwiches. I would not return regardless of the view. Best to stay at a five star Hotel down in the city.

Room Tip: I stayed at one of the suites. In the end you are paying for the view so any should do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

a great hotel in Lugano with lovely views of the Lake from our balcony

Good location but on a steep hill the restaurant and food is excellent

The bar is lovely but we couldn't use it because of the cigarette smoke which was very disappointing

also the restaurant it was not possible to sit outside as people are allowed to smoke

this really is a nice hotel but if you don't like cigarette smoke it might not be for you

the Swiss have a different take on smoking and its strange the hotel only has one bar but it is not suitable for. non smokers

Room Tip: the balcony rooms have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I picked this hotel as it offered a 1 bedroom suite accommodation. It also appeared to offer good quality and good value.Be warned the hotel is up a very steep hill. As we arrived by rail we asked to be picked up from the station , this happened but as with everything in the hotel the was no finesse , the porter was there, but it was made onlyu because it was his job and guests were causing an inconvenience. As we checked in there were sweets but none were offered to our son . The hotel I would have thought to be fairly Italianate but it was more Japanese furniture and a mismatch of oriental and european styles. Do not expect much storage space. We had one small wardrobe for 3 people no draws on bedside cabinets. The biggest waste of space was the hidden kitchen area. This was hidden behind some cane doors and seem to take up nearly a quarter of the room. The room did have 2 balconies one facing the hotel car park which caught the afternoon sun and had no chairs , the other had chairs and good view of the lake but never got the sun. The pool is small 6 people in and it was full and there is no outside area to sit . The only good thing was the restaurant but do not expect a children's menu it does not exist. The food was of a good standard . If you have a lake view room you can expect road and rail noise all day and night as the rooms over look the main Gotthard Railway and the road up from Lugano to servaral villages , as well as one of the park and ride bus routes.. The hotel advertises a turn-down service this happens at about 6-630pm just as most people are getting ready for dinner. If you happen to be in the room nothing is done. The hotel advertises Bulgari toiletries in their suites , they may appear on your arrival but do expect any further toiletries for the rest of your stay. The TV service is a joke , I do not expect a small wall mounted TV in a 4 star hotel these days. The hotel is nearer a 3star+ than a true four star , where the customer satisfaction should come before the staff convenience. The hotel needs to decide if they are going to apply themselves to providing a true 4 star service or just hope nobody ever notices the deficiencies in service levels.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs if you face the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso

Address: Via Carona 27, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, Italian designer hotel with recreational facilities; overlooking lake from a serene hill; walking distance to the center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso Lugano
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.